We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great value!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Such a good location, right next to the entrance to Yellowstone National Park plus across the road from the Grizzly Bear and Wolf discovery center which is definitely worth going to! Good selection of TV channels, clean room and comfortable beds plus free continental breakfast in the morning - a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Stacey,
Thanks for your excellent review, we truly appreciate your recommendation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center as well as Yellowstone National Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites, please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    279
    129
    51
    31
See reviews for
306
278
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Good value and very, very close to the west entrance of Yellowstone. The breakfast was mediocre, but free, and the rooms were clean. We would definitely go back on another trip to Yellowstone. The clerk at the front desk was very helpful and provided great directions to area attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Nick,
Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us recently at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We really appreciate your review, we will make sure to let the front desk know their guidance was helpful. We are thrilled to hear you found the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites to be a good value with clean rooms and a friendly staff! Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is located very near to the west entrance.The rooms are big and very clean.Breakfast spread is modest.The heated swimming pool is small but good enough to relax after a long day at the national park.The room heater was working perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 931sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings 931sunny,
Thank you for staying with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And thank you for the great review, it means a lot to us. We are thrilled to hear you found our location convenient, and our rooms to be large and clean. We will pass your comments along to housekeeping, they love positive feedback. We hope you come back and visit us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Was here for the annual winter festival. Several benefits - covered, underground parking, basic breakfast with adequate seating, reasonable price, walking distance to town and restaurants, frig in the room, friendly and helpful staff.

We saved alot of money by buying groceries and making lunch in the room before returning to the festival in the afternoon after a morning of XC skiiing. There was a wax room and laundry facilities on site (although we didn't use it).

Just expect that prices will be high in the summer - Yellowstone lodging is at a premium both inside and outside the park. But during winter, West Yellowstone is a mecca for outdoor snow sports like XC skiing, snowshoeing and biathlon and a real value for the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Sharon,
Thanks for your positive and detailed review. We truly love hearing what guests enjoyed while staying with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And thank you for the tips for others guests regarding the room amenities We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy a variety of the winter activities West Yellowstone offers! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This property is very convenient to the West entrance to Yellowstone. The town of West yellowstone is our preferred place to stay, because it offers quick access to the park, at the mid-point (north/south), making it easy to drive to many places with minimal traffic. (Early morning access is ideal.) All of the motels here are expensive, in season, and this seemed to be a good option based on a AAA discount. The room we had (301) was spacious, with a min-fridge and wave. The big problem with this property is service. The manager admitted that almost all of the housekeeping staff was new for the season, and because were were there at the beginning of the season, they were still learning! After repeated housekeeping problems, the manager kindly issued a credit equivalent to about 1.5 nights (we stayed 10 nights).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Greetings Steve,
Thank you for your thorough review of the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites and for staying with us for 10 nights. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious and well equipped. But, we are sorry to hear that the issues you had revolved around our level of service. The issues with housekeeping you experienced are inexcusable. We are taking actions to ensure that all guests receive exceptional service from management and housekeeping regardless of the position in the season. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We truly hope to see you again at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Gray Wolf is right in town and near the park entrance. Breakfast is included. Restaurants all nearby. We liked the higher floors for a good look at the beautiful sunsets and sunrise! Try flying into the yellowstone airport when it is open during the summer. It is a 7 minute drive to the hotel! We visited the Visitor Center everyday to plan our adventure. The lower rim trail was a great surprise. It is the other' grand canyon. Wheels and Heels a must for the good coffee. The madison crossing restaurant our favorite for dinner. River rafting with Geyser was awesome!

Room Tip: Higher floors for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the excellent and detailed review, Kateo90. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many of the amazing things in and around Yellowstone National Park while staying with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We will make sure and mention the sunsets and sunrises to future guests staying on the upper floors, great tip! Please come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hines, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived later into West Yellowstone than expected due to stop and go traffic! We had booked a reservation in advance and decided to stay 2 nights since we had our car repaired in town by Don. (We highly recommend this mechanic-went above and beyond to help us get our car running well again!)The desk clerk (Oct. 23)at the Gray Wolf was especially friendly and gave us ideas of where to eat at the late hour (with a map). Next to the motel is a Grizzly Bear/Wolf Visitation Center so one morning we woke up to the wolves...loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Bonnie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are sorry to hear about your car trouble and glad to hear you were able to locate Don and get moving again quickly. We will make sure to pass your words along to him. We will also pass your compliments along to our front desk staff as they strive to offer the best service they possibly can to all guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon in West Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing