We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy! Avoid at All Costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Filthy! Avoid at All Costs!”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

One word for you - BEDBUGS! I was horrified when I pushed back the mattress on our last day to see if that could be the reason for the bites I was waking up with each morning and there they were! I told the front desk and they didn't even offer a price break on the bill.

Housekeeping here is an absolute idiot patrol. It's no wonder the place is so filthy. I saw the same discarded cigarette sit in the hallway water fountain for the duration of our three-day stay and it still hadn't been cleaned out when we left.

As soon as we checked in, we could tell this place was dirty. We normally stay at the Yellowstone Lodge, but it was full since we booked last minute, hence we ended up at the Grey Wolf. Boy, do I wish I had read the reviews first!

As for the free breakfast, unless you enjoy hordes of screaming children pushing and grabbing at the muffins, etc, it's totally not worth it. Based on the lack of cleanliness we witnessed, we had no interest anyway. We opted for a scone at Tubby's Bakery instead.

AVOID THIS MOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Liked — The day we left to go to the Lake Yellowstone Hotel!
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and indifference by housekeeping staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    273
    123
    50
    30
See reviews for
296
269
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is rated as a 3 star motel but I would give it no more than 1 star. The property is not very well kept and housekeeping is marginal. Housekeeping staff wore street clothes and some actually had their children with them while working. Some of the staff appear to be foreign students on an exchange program and have little experience in hotel operation, communication can be an issue.

The continental breakfast has little variety beyond toast, waffles, bagels and muffins. The coffee is terrible and they only offer a powdered whitener. Beware, the breakfast area cannot accommodate the rush of guests in the morning unless you're there before 8 AM. Our room had missing tiles in the bathroom and water damage on the ceiling.

  • Liked — Good location in West Yellowstone.
  • Disliked — The hotel has not been well looked after.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We made a reservation in May for a stay in June. I asked for an email confirmation, which I didn't get. Called back and asked again and was told they don't do email confirmations and would send one by snail mail. Never got that either. Called back again and was told that since I had my confirmation number that was all I needed. With all that hassle, I should have gotten a clue. When we got there, our reservation for a king room was registered with them as a queen room. When I explained all the problems I had getting a confirmation and that they had it wrong, I was basically told they wouldn't give us the king room. They didn't do anything to fix the problem, and their attitude was tough! So we were stuck in a queen room for our 18th anniversary. Well, we snuggled up so it wasn't all bad I guess. We were booked for 3 nights. On the third day we had a family emergency and had to check out early. They charged us half the room fee for 3 hours. Just so happened that we found a young lady's wallet in the elevator and went to turn it in at the front desk. While waiting to talk to the clerk, a lady at the counter in front of me says she had called for a last minute reservation and they had told her she could have a queen room that had opened up! Our room! So, not only had they charged us for half the room charge, they got a full rate from this lady as well! The way the clerks acted it was obvious to all of us I knew what they did. I'd never stay at this hotel ever again. The continental breakfast was awful, the room was not clean enough, and the carpets, drapes, and towels were really worn.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — can't choose just one
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

I booked this after reading some good reviews here, but then after booking the bad reviews started to appear so i was very apprihensive. The checkin was excellent they gave us plenty of information on the area and where to eat. The stairs to the room could do with cleaning but the room itself was clean and warm. Breakfast was nice but some people did like to fight over it. We did not eat at where the hotel recomended but we ate at Bullwinkles and the food was excellent. The location to Yellowstone is great and the staff were helpful. The laundry is ok but it is slow at drying. I would stay here again and if the improvements continue it will continue to be excellent value for money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenage_saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman, mt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

This hotel was nice and our room was clean. We loved the underground parking, since it was snowing. The cont. breakfast was great and so was the staff. They do not have cribs, which was a big problem for our small family. The pool is not small child friendly, but good for older children and adults. Sounds from adjoining rooms was very minimal. We went off season, so the price was very very reasonable for the accomadations.

  • Liked — Convience and location
  • Disliked — the lack of cribs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank momw-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

We were staying two nights at Grey Wolf during our visit at Yellowstone. Rooms were nice and childrens enjoyed pool very much. Lobby was nice for late night work. Even some nature was just beside - when entering we heard wolves yelling just beside (at wolf park). Normal price is quite high (up to 190 usd) but as we were there off season the price (55 usd)- quality level was excellent. Breakfast was also one of best what we had during our trip between Vancouver and Yellowstone.

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of internet connection
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The suite we stayed in turned out to have bed bugs in the sofa pull out. Contact with the hotel staff and management has been an exercize in futility, the lack of concern and refusal to do anything to rectify the situation is inexcusable. If the Gray Wolf Inn is the only accommodations available I would recommend choosing a different time for your trip.

  • Disliked — The bed bugs!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerBoise_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing