We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while on a tour. The rooms were clean and comfy, easily walkable distance to all the shops and restaurants nearby and near the entrance to Yellowstone. Nice indoor swimming pool and all the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Carol, Thanks for your review of your stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very glad you enjoyed the location and walkability of West Yellowstone while you were with us. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    278
    128
    51
    31
See reviews for
305
276
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It was nice and clean. Nothing special. Its at the end of the main strip and you can easily walk everywhere. Service not the best- mostly dealing with the lady working the front desk during the day (possibly her name was Jean but I have forgotten) who was very unhelpful. For example we did not get a wake up call the day of an excursion and without asking our room number said "its not my fault what do you want me to do?". An apology to start would have been nice! no harm we were still on east coast time... but to anything Her response was basically to make the guest feel it was their fault. (We heard her every morning treat guests that way - people with concerns about housekeeping not servicing the room, wifi issues, coffee being out etc). Breakfast area too small for the size especially if a tour bus was scheduled to leave- but we were late risers getting there 8:30 ish in the morning. We booked the king "suite" which was basically an oversized end room. We did have a vanity area outside the regular bathroom which was nice. The curtains were a disgrace- worn thin which in the summer when the sun is up early till almost 10pm is annoying. I wouldn't not stay again but would look elsewhere first. For winter stays there is some covered parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Greetings Shellsmall,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. The less than positive service you received is inexcusable. We will implement changes to improve our level of service for all future guests. Your comments and the details you mentioned are also appreciated, we are currently working to improve breakfast service and room quality. Please come back our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice experience. Clean, comfortable room. Easy check in. Highly recommended. This was our first hotel of our trip, and only stayed one night. Would have stayed longer. This was in walking distance of the Grizzly and Wolf center, and several restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello, Meredith
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Your thoughts and comments help us know what we are doing right and doing wrong. We are thrilled that to hear that you had a very nice experience overall. We truly hope you come back and visit us again in West Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean, bathroom updated and spacious. There were fluffy bathrobes and slippers available. The rates are a little high, but there is not much availability in this area. We would have stayed in one of the new cabins had one been available. Dinner at the nearby Branch restaurant was very good and reasonable

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, Jacana54! We are glad you found your room to be clean, well presented and that you appreciated the updated bathroom. We would love for you to come back and stay with us again or in the neighboring Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone.
PS- We will gladly pass your compliments on your dinner experience along to the Branch Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall, very good hotel. After staying in a tiny room in Jackson Hole, it was nice to have space. Our room was spacious, clean and a very nice staff. Loved convenience to Yellowstone. Made our decision to go to Yellowstone at the last minute so we were not able to get rooms in the park. After seeing the crowds at the lodges in the parks we were really happy to stay in West Yellowstone. Very nice town. Much calmer than Jackson Hole. Now the down side....tour bus crowds in the dining area for breakfast. BTW. Breakfast was good but you couldn't get to it. We stayed at the Wolf 3 nights. You are paying for the breakfast you should be able to access. On the last morning we gave up and went to the Outpost Restuarant on the Main Street. Very good food, friendly service. Other downside, Internet was not accessible for three days. We chose to stay here because my husband needed Internet to conduct business. That didn't happen. So some things to think about if you have some specific needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 823Raerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Greetings 823Raerae, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and that you found our staff to be pleasant. We are currently working to improve guests’ breakfast experience. We will also immediately pass your feedback on the Internet issues along to our tech team for them to make changes. Your thoughts are truly appreciated. We look forward to see you in West Yellowstone again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite between Christmas and New Years. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The underground parking is a huge plus in winter. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate. We shopped and stocked the fridge on arrival. We were able to snow mobile for 2 days prior to heading in to Old Faithful Snow Lodge to celebrate New Years. The Xanterra snow coach pick up is right at the Inn. We were able to leave our rental car in the underground parking facility while we were gone and when we arrived back at the inn we were able to come in and use the laundry area to re-pack our gear. I would recommend this place for families traveling yo YNP

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisag921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, Lisa! Your positive review and pleasant comments are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had a great family vacation during the holidays in Yellowstone National Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We truly hope you all come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location- a step away the park and the extremely busy town, but it is below average as far as quality. It is noisy and parking can be tricky.
The couch, which was I believe a hide a bed, was like sitting on a slab and had seen better days.
We also stayed in the cabins which are "associated" with this hotel. Housekeeping could be better..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKingsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and recent review of your time with us at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We strive to provide quality hospitality and a pleasant experience for all guests; your comments help us take actions to increase quality and service levels. We are addressing all your mentioned concerns for the upcoming season. We hope to see down our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing