We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Motel is nice. Everything is within walking distance. Staff was friendly. Only down side was the breakfast selection progressively got less each morning. Hot tub was nice not too hot. Pool was very cold.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2foxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    258
    116
    45
    30
See reviews for
279
246
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Yellowstone. The accommodations were average. We felt the price was reasonable. The room was clean and spacious. The location was nice, right across from the discovery center. We could technically walk to town, it is only a few blocks away. The main issue we had with the hotel, was that the bathtub had a draining problem. We reported it to the front desk, and it was never taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv2trl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howelldw
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while on our Yellowstone vacation. The hotel location is 14 miles from the west gate. There are a few restruants next door. The IMAX, bear, and wolf center is next door. Rooms are clean and modern. The staff upgraded us due to crowding and we booked early.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank howelldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The people at check inn and out were very friendly and helpful. Very good value in early May. Rooms are very well furnished although I found the remote of the Vizio TV very hard to operate. The hotel has underground parking if you need it, plus a jacuzzi which I didn't use

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank travlinman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

You will be charged first night as deposit. Well I needed four rooms for one evening. So I assume I will be charged one room for one night to reserve the entire order. Wrong. I was charged full price for all rooms, now charged interest and have to collect money from others for 3 rooms. What a pain! I saw a 2bd suite that would be cheaper than 2 rooms. So reserved 2bd and canceled 2 rooms. Cancelation became a disaster! 2 rooms $360.80 vs 2bd Suite $327.91, credit of $32.89. Still waiting on the credit.... Reservations denied any problems, wouldn't allow me to talk with manager. So I called to cancel entire order, they don't care their lose of $721.60. Hope White Buffalo was a good choice....review will be available in July.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Judy, thank you very much for taking my telephone call a few minutes ago. We sincerely apologize for the frustration with our reservation deposit policy. We also should have offered you our two-room suites, as you required four rooms. We wish you and your group the most wonderful vacation to Yellowstone National Park this summer. We would love the opportunity to earn back your business on a future trip. Best, Alicia Thompson (Regional Director of Sales & Marketing)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great hotel for accessing Yellowstone National Park in winter. We were dropped off at the door by Salt Lake Express after trip from Salt Lake City via transfer at Rexburg.
This hotel is where the Xanterra snow coaches depart for Old Faithful Snow Lodge, so no need for a taxi or carting luggage when staying at hotel.
Across the road is the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Centre which is a great way to fill in a couple of hours, and the main shopping and restaurant area is only about 350 metres away (be warned that McDonalds is closed in the winter season, so walk past it).
The Gray Wolf Inn has no restaurant but do an excellent breakfast with cereals, eggs, waffles etc. in the lobby included in the price.
The room was comfortable and well fitted out, and I wish we had stayed longer than we did. Service was good and the indoor pool was inviting and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TontoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

after taking a shuttle down from bozeman to west yellowstone, we stayed one night before going in to park for a week (feb 2013). the gray wolf is where the snow coaches ( bombardiers or vans with mac tracs) that you take in to the park from there gather for launching, so this inn is very convenient.
rooms are nice and the breakfast was ok too. staff was very friendly and helpful. (no problem to check out later)
the place very clean and was a great starting point for our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing