We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation & Cancelation Frustration” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Idaho
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Reservation & Cancelation Frustration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

You will be charged first night as deposit. Well I needed four rooms for one evening. So I assume I will be charged one room for one night to reserve the entire order. Wrong. I was charged full price for all rooms, now charged interest and have to collect money from others for 3 rooms. What a pain! I saw a 2bd suite that would be cheaper than 2 rooms. So reserved 2bd and canceled 2 rooms. Cancelation became a disaster! 2 rooms $360.80 vs 2bd Suite $327.91, credit of $32.89. Still waiting on the credit.... Reservations denied any problems, wouldn't allow me to talk with manager. So I called to cancel entire order, they don't care their lose of $721.60. Hope White Buffalo was a good choice....review will be available in July.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Judy, thank you very much for taking my telephone call a few minutes ago. We sincerely apologize for the frustration with our reservation deposit policy. We also should have offered you our two-room suites, as you required four rooms. We wish you and your group the most wonderful vacation to Yellowstone National Park this summer. We would love the opportunity to earn back your business on a future trip. Best, Alicia Thompson (Regional Director of Sales & Marketing)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    255
    116
    45
    30
See reviews for
277
244
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great hotel for accessing Yellowstone National Park in winter. We were dropped off at the door by Salt Lake Express after trip from Salt Lake City via transfer at Rexburg.
This hotel is where the Xanterra snow coaches depart for Old Faithful Snow Lodge, so no need for a taxi or carting luggage when staying at hotel.
Across the road is the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Centre which is a great way to fill in a couple of hours, and the main shopping and restaurant area is only about 350 metres away (be warned that McDonalds is closed in the winter season, so walk past it).
The Gray Wolf Inn has no restaurant but do an excellent breakfast with cereals, eggs, waffles etc. in the lobby included in the price.
The room was comfortable and well fitted out, and I wish we had stayed longer than we did. Service was good and the indoor pool was inviting and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TontoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

after taking a shuttle down from bozeman to west yellowstone, we stayed one night before going in to park for a week (feb 2013). the gray wolf is where the snow coaches ( bombardiers or vans with mac tracs) that you take in to the park from there gather for launching, so this inn is very convenient.
rooms are nice and the breakfast was ok too. staff was very friendly and helpful. (no problem to check out later)
the place very clean and was a great starting point for our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We go to West Yellowstone twice a year, and have stayed at about 10 different hotels over the years. Our most recent stay was at the Gray Wolf Inn, and was our second time. We will stay here again, as it seems to be reasonable price, and all the amenities we need. The underground parking is a real bonus in the winter! The staff is super friendly, not fake friendly, but genuinely nice local folks, makes us feel at home - while away. They even have all the stuff to wax your skiis in winter! Breakfast was nice, and the staff kept it updated for us even though we got down there a bit late - again, nice folks making us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabric8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANNHEIM
Level Contributor
156 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Since it is difficult to find a good place for a reasonable price in West Yellowstone, even in Winter, I was pleasantly surprised by the rate. The hotel is right at the entrance to Yellowstone N.P., very close to the IMAX-Theatre. It has an indoor-pool, something that is very nice during winter.
The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the breakfast better than average, the room very spacious and well-maintained, the TV gigantic, the bed firm but not hard, a nice bathroom with enough space, Fridge, Microwave, Coffeemaker with coffee for more than one serving - in short: the perfect place to stay. And of course: the underground garage, essential for the local temperatures during winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VolkerS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Gray Wolf is an annual base camp for the Rendezvous Cross-Country Ski Marathon weekend. The hotel staff is always friendly and willing to accomodate skiers, including allowing us to wax skis in the underground garage. The hotel is located 5-10 minute walk from the cross-country trailhead (or you can drive and park). The standard rooms are average in appointments but there is plenty of space to spread out. The bathrooms and separate vanity cover the basic requirements. The breakfast in the lobby is as expected for a West Yellowstone hotel and usually well picked-over by the first arrivers but the staff replenishes the offerings. One tip, as for a third floor room if you wish to avoid the noise transfer between floors. The only downside to the hotel is that the sound mitigation between floors is not sufficient if you have energetic guests staying in the room above. Walking to town takes no more than 10 minutes to be in the "core" of West.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Gray Wolf Inn for one night before embarking on The Trail of the Wolf tour from the Old Faithful Snow Lodge in Yellowstone National Park. The staff was very friendly and helped us find a great place to have dinner. It wasn't fancy, but the rooms were clean and the typical motel free breakfast was good. It’s an easy and beautiful drive from the Bozeman MT airport to West Yellowstone (about 1.5 hours if the weather is OK). They also let you park your rental car in their lot the entire time you are in the National Park. And the Yellowstone snow coach picks you up and drops you off right in their parking lot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing