We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I looked at all the reviews for this hotel and they are very mixed. I wonder if some thought they were staying at the ritz? I'll tell you why I would recommend this hotel.
1. They let us check in early 12:00 (because the room was done).
2. The room was what I expected, clean, roomy, big bathroom, tv, king sized bed.
3. They have underground private parking! I have never heard of this in Montana so I was excited.
4. Continental breakfast was what I expected: cereal, donuts, bagels and one thing I didn't expect: a pancake maker... conveyor belt that makes fresh pancakes. I have never seen or heard of one of these before. Pretty cool.
5. The hotel was close to everything. Cross country skiing, the convention center- (we went for an ice fishing tournament and the convention center was where they held the meetings and dinners), gas stations, Yellowstone Park, Hebgen Lake and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.
6. The people are helpful and friendly.
7. Hot tub and pool were what I expected.

The only thing I can complain about and forgot to tell them was the light in the bathroom was flickering so they could have fixed it while we were there but it wasn't a big deal to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    255
    116
    45
    30
See reviews for
277
244
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Boston Mi.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights 2nd week of Sept. 2012 .Arrived early evening no problem checking in. Drove up from S.L.C. got good restraunt advice, Timbers I think, the Pizza place outside park enterance was good to, reasonably priced. Room was Family suite very nice, like small apt., clean. Three of us on trip, wife, myself, and a friend. Friend sleep on pullout was uncomfortable so got a single fold up bed and was good, beds in bedroom were comfortable. After a long day at Yellowstone your tired and nice to sleep in nice bed.. Room was quite, bathroom nice as was kitchen. Room was very relaxing nice to come back and have a couple drinks before bed. WiFi was good in room. If we ever get the chance to get back out there we will stay here. Breakfast was ok we had some things with us in room so had little of both. Great location by west entrance didnt hear wolves from across the street. town is small. Was here 35 years ago not much changed except post office our hotel, Wyndom Hotel few more buildings this end of town. Tourest town to the highest degree. Glad not to be out there in high season. Yellowstone is spectacular thats it, Went to Grand Teton for 4 nights should have stayed here one more night.. just awsome!!!

Room Tip: If you can get famliy suite go for it, found it very spacious and comfy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulbrz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Gray Wolf during our late autumn visit to Yellowstone. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty - more than we usually see with a free breakfast. The room was clean, comfortable, and just what we needed. I also appreciate some of the energy-saving measures they have in place at this hotel. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Our room was reasonably clean, they had a nice pool and hot tub. Breakfast was just average. The location was very close to the entrance to Yellowstone. Be aware they will charge you credit card $30 for sundries, even though the only thing to buy is ice cream. They will refund the money only it will take several days to appear on your card. West Yellowstone is a tourist town and expensive. For a night or two Gray Wold is okay

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnieTavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon, AZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

For an October, 2012 stay I tried to book this property through the Internet on a discount site (kayak.com), but needed 2 beds and kayak wouldn't guarantee that (with 2 people, they would only guarantee one bed), so opted to call the property directly to secure the 2 bed requirement I needed. With kayak, the rate would have been $72.00 for a standard one bed, and calling the front desk I secured a 2 bed deluxe room for $15.00 more. It was definitely worth the extra cost to get both beds, as it included a refrigerator and microwave, a large desk for computer and writing needs and more than enough square footage for 2 adults. We adored the welcome we received as we pulled into the parking lot, as the wolves nearby were serenading the half moon above and spent several minutes listening to their songs before we became chilled and ventured into the lobby. We did hear some noise from neighboring rooms but it wasn't disruptive or annoying, and that seems to be a fairly standard predicament with most lodging. Breakfast was filling and saved the cost of dining out (the previous day we spent $25.00 + tip on the morning meal), so it was a particularly good benefit for choosing Gray Wolf. They have a computer in the breakfast room which allowed me to print out my boarding pass for my evening flight later that day, and although they have an indoor pool we had no time to enjoy it. I would definitely stay here again as I didn't come across any shortcomings during my brief, one night stay but certainly coming in the off-season made it a reasonably priced choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yearning4fairness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at Gray Wolf a few times while visiting Yellowstone Park. It's resonably clean (excpet for a little mold in the corners of the bathtub) and comfortable. There can be some noise from guests in other rooms. The free breakfast consisted mostly of breads. No eggs or meat. Not good for a gluten-free diet so I had to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had our reservations for 2 months (2 rooms for 3 nights) and when we arrived they did not have the requested rooms. They had no explanation just that they had been already been rented out. Since we paid for 2 nights in advance that didn't cut it for me. Also, the king bed we did get was higher at the foot and lower at the head of the bed so it felt like you were sleeping on a tilt board. The "breakfast" was cold hard boiled eggs, dry cereal and toast. For $190 per night you would think it could have been better. Never again. Save your sanity and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing