We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here after a day of Yellowstone. The location is convenient. The room was clean. The breakfast room was packed and they did a nice job of trying to stay up with the crowd. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Location, Cleanliness, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    157
    110
    68
    70
See reviews for
143
236
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
España
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Hotel is very conveniently located, couple of milles from NP entrance just downtown Yellowstone on walking distance to all town atractions. Nice façade and singular lobby (full of game trophys!)
It is a very simple hotel: clean, rooms of average size, with TV & mini-fridge, with basic amenities (pool was subjetc to licensing and thus not available when we where there last August). Breackfast also simple, but enough.
Staff is very helpfull and cooperative willing to give advice on what to do.
A litle overprized (I assume peak season close to yellowstone) - this is why I can't give a 4 star rating- but a very good option for families travelling to see the NP and sorroundings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Location, Décor, Cleanliness, and Helpfulness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Nicely upgraded, clean, comfortable hotel but continental breakfast and attendant took away from overall experience. Breakfast only goes until 900 am, several young families came in just before 900 and were told breakfast was almost over. Garbages were overflowing and juices all gone. We had a superior breakfast at a hotel in Great Falls, MT 2 days prior that went until 1000 with better food selection, all full, and an attendant that kept tables clean and had real china not paper plates. Great Falls hotel was half the cost of the Stagecoach Inn. For such an expensive hotel they could improve their customer experience with their Continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness and Comfort of the Hotel and apologize that you were disappointed with the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
812 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very charming. It is decorated in a more rustic motif with stuffed animals littering the lobby. There is Bear Naked brand granola in your room when you first arrive but is not replenished everyday. The hotel is quite old and the rooms are a bit musty. It bothered my allergies to sleep there but we left the windows open during the day while we were in Yellowstone and that helped a bit. Breakfast was included which was a nice amenity. The pool and gym were closed while we were there for construction. There were also several rooms that could be accessed because of construction. The prices were pretty expensive for what you got, honestly. Especially with the inability to access some. Of the amenities (I.e., gym, pool). The surrounding town is very cute and it is located a mere 10 minute drive from the west entrance of Yellowstone, which is ideal and the best thing this hotel has going for it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvalliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn. I apologize that the newly constructed Pool and Exercise room was not open while we were waiting for our State Inspections, but we are please to report that this facility is now open daily. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

When arriving at the Stage Coach Inn I noticed immediately that this was a third rate hotel that I booked at. I made plans without too much foresight It this was the only place available at a very high price.

The room we had had a musty smell- almost smoky smell. The room was severely dated with an air conditioner that did not work. The lobby was shabby as well as our room.

The bathroom was also dated and the towels.... paper would have been better.

The toilet was clogged and the pool was closed.

The expanded continental breakfast could only expand your waist while your wallet deflated.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag and camp out before you book your 250.00 room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrellgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this stay by your comments about the Guestroom and the bathroom and that you were disappointed in the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at Stage Coach in mid-spring. The inn is located in the center of West Yellowstone with convenient shopping and dining within walking distance. The staff was helpful in giving directions to the park and gave a cheery greeting whenever I walked into the hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was decent but nothing outstanding. The lobby decor was a taxidermist's delight with a sort of old-fashioned feel to it. The pool was closed for renovations, but to be honest does anyone really go to Yellowstone for the hotel's swimming pool?

As for the room, it had all the amenities you would need for a visit to the national park. I stayed in the standard room, but there were also larger suites available for those who need it. The room was cleaned every day and there was plenty of hot water for the shower.

Nice place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Friendly and Helpful Staff, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We are eagerly awaiting our final inspection from the State of Montana to open our new pool and fitness center. It was also nice to read your comments about the Historic Room and the Shower. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The size of the room is great for a family of four (two adults/two teens). As people have mentioned, the wi-fi in the room is pretty much non-existent. Works good in the lobby. The breakfast is nice with waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit and juices. Food is put away immediately at closing time so don't be late. Some laundry facilities are available but only 2 units for the entire hotel. Parking is good and it's within walking distance to everything. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4BandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Size of the Guestroom, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and the Location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing