We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Stage Coach Inn on a recent trip to Yellowstone. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay there again.

The entryway is amazing, even better than the hotel photos show. We loved the way the stairway and entry have all the taxidermy, it did add to the feel of being in Yellowstone territory! Our room was well lit (very important to me) and the wall paper border and artwork on the walls kept with the local theme. Our room was well kept, very clean and not lacking in anything. We used the provided microwave and fridge while we were there.

A big thumb's up to the gentleman who is the breakfast room attendant. He was so helpful and friendly, and obviously took his job seriously. Everything was well stocked and clean. It was a pleasure to see him each morning. I'm sorry I didn't get his name.

The location can't be beat, only about a mile from Yellowstone, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. We usually stay inside the park, but since we traveled so early in the year there wasn't much available. I'm glad we found the Stage Coach Inn for our stay this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby and the Grand Staircase, the Cleanliness of the Room and the Amenities, as well as your compliments about Mark - our Breakfast Attendant - being helpful and friendly. It was also nice to read your comments about the location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    157
    110
    67
    70
See reviews for
143
233
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We just stayed one night out of season. The rate was attractive and we had read other reviews so were aware that there was refurbishment underway. The room was just as described, with a comfortable bed, breakfast was fine. We asked for advice on where to eat and went with the recommendation, which was a good choice. hope that it will all be ready for the summer guests as the location and layout are good.Pool was out of action.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Room (and that it was "as described"), the Continental Breakfast, and the Staff knowledge of the area when making recommendations on where to eat. We are looking forward to getting our new Pool and Exercise room open soon. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was disappointing. This was the 2nd year we stayed at the Stagecoach and both were bad. Pool and got tub were not operational, rooms were dated, breakfast was weak and staff were rude. We will not be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank insurancedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We apologize that you were disappointed by the lack of hot tubs - while we are constructing a new facility (with an indoor pool and exercise room), and for your disappointment in the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and for your poor experience with the Staff. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations, and we will make every effort to demonstrate improvement in the areas you noted . Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This lodge/inn/hotel was everything we wanted it to be, and more! It was rustically updated to feature a grand entryway/staircase with extraordinary taxidermy to give it a "hunting lodge" feel, which suited the Yellowstone area perfectly! My husband and I were traveling to the Yellowstone from Dallas, and were welcomed on a cold winter's night with a charming and cozy inn. The staff was SO friendly, and the rooms were beautifully decorated with Native American artwork and hunting-lodge esque light fixtures and wallpaper, though it still maintained its modern features, like a comfortable, clean bedroom and a beautiful bathroom and separate vanity area. Our favorite part of the hotel was the fireplace downstairs, that we gathered around each of the 3 nights we stayed there - drinking, eating and playing cards. It was a fun place to be greeted by other hotel guests, including families with young children, elders in church groups, and young outdoor enthusiasts. The price could not be beat, and we plan on returning to this inn on our next trip to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CynthiaJ760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments about the Lobby with the Grand Staircase and Fireplace, the Friendliness of the Staff, the Décor and Cleanliness of the rooms. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

That was my second time there - during the winter, for ski races.
This place is very good, right price, clean and located in the heart of the town. The breakfast is included and it is decent. The staff is very helpful.
The rooms have a good size (not huge, but comfortable); good bed, clean washroom/tube.
If you are a skier, they also have a very convenient waxing room, free for guests.
Many people who I talked to, said this place is better than the Holliday Inn (and cheaper!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, Cleanliness, Helpfulness of the Staff, and the Wax Room. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband (64) and I (59) spent Christmas night at this property. Living in fairly close proximity to Yellowstone, we've visited this area many, many times and I've always been curious about the Stage Coach Inn. So, when the opportunity arose, I booked this older property for the night.

Lobby is full of animal mounts and the staircase to the second floor is gorgeous. Wood burning fireplace and ample seating in the lobby to enjoy some time there if you wish. Our room, being in the "historic" part of the hotel was a little on the small side to accommodate a king-sized bed, but it was comfortable and clean. The property is an easy walk to restaurants and business area.

The "expanded" continental breakfast was about what you'd expect from any hotel property, but since it is served in the attached former restaurant the area is quite large and comfortable.

Our only disappointment with this property was that after a day of outdoor, winter activities, I was really looking forward to the hot tub. Unfortunately,that area of the property was undergoing renovation and closed which was not indicated on the website I used to book the stay. I do not know if they are upgrading the hot tub/pool/spa area or eliminating it.

Overall, very glad we chose to investigate this property with our short stay!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the "historic" section (ie, older) part of the hotel. Depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyboardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Décor, the Location, the Cleanliness, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We are in the construction process of adding an indoor Pool and Exercise room to the property - that we expect to open this spring - and with space at a premium, we were forced to build over the space with the Hot Tubs. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Could not have asked for a better place! The staff was not only helpful, but were genuinely friendly & welcoming! Every staff member took the time to meet & ensure guest satisfaction, & even provided fun facts about the establishment history as well! Decor wonderfully reflects the surrounding community & wilderness; & I would have to say it has a "visitor center" feel to it! It is also worth mentioning notable cleanliness throughout the establishment, & there is coffee & a computer station in the lobby as well! Although most things in town are within walking distance, Stagecoach Inn is more centrally located making it a little closer to shops, restaurants, etc.; there is even a small grocery store right across the street! Overall atmosphere is cozy & "feels like home," & I highly recommend Stagecoach Inn to any visitor to West Yellowstone country!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Staff, their Knowledge of the Area, their Friendliness, and the Hotel Décor. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing