We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to Stay”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place to Stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights while visiting Yellowstone. Convenient to the West Entrance of Yellowstone. Probably less than a mile to the Park Entrance. Looks like this was the place to stay 30 years ago. Didn't look like they have done much to update it since except keep it clean. The rooms were small along with the bathroom. But the place was clean. The Lobby was probably the nicest place in the hotel. We stayed in a regular king room. It definitely satisfied our requirements. Nothing special, just a place to stay near the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments abou the Location, the Cleanliness, and the Decor. Thank you for choosing teh Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    162
    119
    69
    75
See reviews for
148
250
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Checked in evening, hotel staff was AMAZING could answer any question/concern you had. Lots of options within walking distance of grocery store, restaurants, shops. Rooms were clean and nice new amenities. Breakfast was included. Hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Staff, the Location, the Cleanliness, and the Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an interesting hotel during our vacation out west; pricey, probably the oldest, yes, out of date, but the front desk were friendly,and were very helpful which is more than I can say for a Thermopilis hotel. The desk clerks were right there for every question. The continental breakfast wasn't much, but got us thru with our snacks til lunch. We stayed here for 3 nites and was over 600.00 w/taxes. But you are also a few blocks away from the West entrance of Yellowstone Park, which you should get to by 9am to avoid traffic jams. It is also only a few blocks from the Grizzly and Wolf Dixcovery Center which was awesome to visit. I grew up not too far from Wi Dells, WI & this reminded me of a minature Dells. One of the restaurants 2 blocks away had the most delicious huckleberry IC ever! The housekeeping of the hotel should have a wall and corner vaccum; all the animals in the lobby were OK. I think they have been there a long time. All in all, friendly, convenient but very pricy, taking advantage of the tourists. However, while we were there, we did discover the other hotels were worse in cleanliness so maybe all of them should step it up a bit.Someitmes if you know the tourists have no other place to go, you can charge anything but in the end that may backfire.The beds, well, none of us really slept great, and I am a light sleeper anyway and we were facing the street. We paid so we could drive Yesslowstone and we saw alot of the beautiful park so it is a horse a piece.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaden6WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location and the Friendly and Knowledgeable Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 2nights in hotel room not to bad bit of road noise as we overlooked the road.room could do with an upgrade as paint was peeling off doors found not connect to wifi in room and was told to go down to lobby and connect there.breakfast no hot food and little choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and your scores for the Location and the Cleanliness. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice lace to stay. The room was very nice, clean, nicely decorated. Good location for travelling to Yellowstone, and also easy walking distance to sights of town. An outstanding asset is Mark, who runs each mornings complimentary breakfast. A very friendly, entertaining gentleman. Always ready to engage in a conversation. Fantastic with tips on where to visit, eat, etc. My wife & I are Pittsburgh Steelers fans, and Mark directed us to a Pittsburgh Steelers pizza joint, which was really neat. A GREAT stay !!!!!!!!! Mark's only flaw is that he is a Green Bay Packers fan. Oh well, no body is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness and Comfort of the Room and especially your positive mention of Mark - the Breakfast Attendant. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was by far the most over priced ($210 per night), out dated, no service hotel that I have ever stayed. The room was so small that when you opend the door to enter it hit the television (that was perched on a bar table at the end of the bed. When opening the bathroom door it hit the toilet, the air conditioner sounded like a tin hammering convention and was a welcomed sound compared to the noise from the party in the parking lot. Never stay there again, still disgusted, do not recommend anybody stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Dirty, overpriced, disgusting place!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgarytraveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations for this stay. Our Historic Rooms are the original rooms from when we were built in 1946, so they are smaller because Hotel rooms simply were not that big in that era. I was also surprised at your comment that the Hotel was dirty since cleanliness is on of our strongest attributes in guest reviews. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Fullerton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I felt right at home at this hotel. It is unpretentious, good quality, great location, comfortable. Yes, the bathroom was small, but no need for larger. Staff were very helpful. West Yellowstone is a town with interesting history of which this hotel is a part. Also worthwhile to see the IMAX films about the area, and if you have time, drive the Hebgen Lake/Quake Lake area to learn about a serious earthquake in 1959.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyThacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay, We appreciate your comments about the Quality, Location, Comfort, and the History of the Hotel. We agree with you about the IMAX Theater and the Quake Lake loop as a great drive. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing