We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for a historic room”
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced for a historic room”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed during one of the busier holiday weekends and expected to pay a premium, but $190 for a double was outrageous given the size and state of the room. Historic meant historic...
Even though the included breakfast was quite extensive, I decided to check out early and found other accommodation in town that was more reasonable in price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiking_girl_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations for Value on this stay during Peak Season, but we do appreciate your evaluations for the Location, Sleep Quality, Cleanliness, and Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    162
    119
    70
    75
See reviews for
149
250
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a warm welcome from the receptionist on arrival. Our room was on the second floor so we appreciated the lift when bringing our luggage to the room. My first thought was WOW as I opened the door. The room was clean and spacious, with a fridge and microwave. The bed and pillows were comfortable so we slept well. The foyer is large and has a number of 'trophies' from hunting. In the foyer is a comfortable sitting area with complimentary coffee. The hotel's breakfast room is very cramped particularly if a coach party is meeting at a set time. We used the overflow room each morning and found this excellent. It would be much easier if trays were available for use in these circumstances. Mark who works there does an amazing job and stays calm even when under pressure. He is a huge asset to the hotel. There is a great amount of choice for breakfast and it is all good. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful although the young man who checked us in did not code our door cards for the correct length of time and gave us incorrect info re the Wi. Fi. We worked out the wi-fi and our cards were re-coded by another front desk staff. We were told the young man had only just started working and was being trained. I do not understand any of the negative comments as we stayed in the deluxe rooms and it was perfect. We would definitely stay here again and would certainly highly recommend this great hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Lobby, Elevator, Cleanliness of the Room, and the Breakfast Attendant, and especially your comment that you would return and recommend the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Easily found and ample parking if you circle the block. The south side, the entry side, gets filled early. Try the west side if the front (south) is full.
Room was clean, well-organized and modern. However, the shower/tub stall didn't have so much as a wall-mounted soap dish. Very little room in corners to store soap, razor, pocket mirror, shampoo, etc.
The stall could use shelves of some type.
The bathroom needs a small table to place fresh clothing and other essentials. A table with multiple shelves would be handy.
Continental breakfast was excellent. Includes you-make waffles. I'm not fond of this feature, because kids love it and want to make endless waffles they won't eat, just for fun. Parents need to keep a tighter leash on their kids.
But it's not the Stage Coach Inn's fault.
Everything in the room worked, and our stay was nearly perfect except for lack of room to store toilet articles. A minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmerlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness of the Room, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and the Location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel rooms were very comfortable. Enjoyed the hot jacuzzi tubs in the hotel after a long day at Yellowstone. The staff extremely helpful and friendly and knowledgable giving recommendations when needed. Complimentary continental breakfast in the Breakfast room but its more than continental, they have some amazing waffles, hard boiled eggs too, amongst other things. Mark, who looks after the breakfast is so entertaining and has a great sense if humour and makes everyone's morning who walks in for breakfast. He let us try his famous high mountain huckleberry jam with our waffles :-) That's a personal touch from an employee that makes one remember the hotel & recommend it. I would definitely recommend the Stagecoach Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Lopez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Guestroom, Hot-Tubs, Staff,and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We were especially pleased at your mention of the Breakfast Attendant - Mark - and we are proud to have him on our staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a extremely over priced motel .Yes this should be called a motel, because you don't get feeling of living in hotel here. Rooms are dirty. It shows that it is a very old hotel.staffs are rude and unprofessional.It doesn't have a parking lot and just beside the road you can hear all hassle and bassle of the town.I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.Because I think no one should waste their money booking this motel and then regret like me. It is close to west entrance of yellowstone national park. But Other hotels in the area are also close. Live in other newer or brand name hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60750Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your "recent" stay. I apologize that you were so unhappy with your stay and I can not imagine your motivation for such an emotional posting of unsupported claims and inaccuracies. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Galveston Island, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I hate being tough on Hotels as I live a very large part of my life in them. We booked 8 nights for a trip to Yellowstone and the hotel put us in next to the laundromat. I said something the first night and I was told that the day guy did that. I firmly believe it is because we booked it through an online company vs direct. Otherwise the hotel was OK. I would opt for a different hotel the next time here as there are many newer ones for a much better price. Everything in town is close so all hotels are walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the location of your room - during the peak season we only have the rooms that depart that day to work with when we assign the rooms for our arrivals - and I assure you that the source of your reservation had nothing to do with your room assignment. I do thank you for your comments and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel staff were professional and friendly from our first encounter with them.

Our room (two Queen deluxe) was spacious and comfortable and included fridge, microwave, TV, coffee machine, hairdryer and ironing board. The beds were comfortable and everything worked as expected. The room and bathroom were very clean. A nice touch were the samples left in the room.

The only downside is that the WiFi did not work in the room, however it was accessible in the comfortable public areas. On cold evenings and mornings (in June) the fire was lit, which made it nice and cosy. Coffee and hot water were available in the public areas throughout the day end evening.

Breakfast in the morning was a good selection: cereals, breads, waffles, eggs. The room however does get very busy at times, so it's wise to use the extra seating. Mark who runs breakfast is probably one of the nicest, most humble and genuine people you could wish to meet. He works so hard by himself to keep the place clean and supplies topped up. I hope he gets paid his full worth!

The hotel is a historic building right in the centre of town. It is very much 'of the region' and a real individual place that was interesting to stay in, especially for young children. It is architecturally pleasant too with a grand staircase and balcony. There is a lift to access rooms on the upper floor and underground free car parking, although we just parked on the street. There is also a guest laundry in the hotel, a sauna and hot tub, we didn't have an opportunity to use these extra facilities.

The hotel is convenient for groceries (over the road) and restaurants, all within walking distance. West Yellowstone and the hotel are situated at the entrance to the NP, so it makes a very convenient base.

Overall, we throughly enjoyed our stay.and would stay again if we are ever fortunate enough to re-visit Yellowstone NP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We were very pleased to read your comments about the Friendlieness and Professionalism of the Staff, as well as your comments about the Cleanliness, Condition, and Comfort of the Guestroom. We are working on a better solution for our Wireless Internet - but please remember that there is no Fiber Optic service in our area due to the remote location (even cell-phone service is spotty), so we are challenged to provide bandwidth/connectivity when we are full. We were most pleased with your comments about the Uniqueness of the Hotel, with our Grand Staircase and architecture. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing