We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Washington State
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel has an old section and a newer section. We stayed in the older "historic" section. The lobby is great - lot of stuffed animals local to the area. Check in was a little wierd. I asked for a room over looking my car. The gal checking me in assured me the room did - it did not. It was on the other side of the building. Our room was small but nicely decorated - sort of .... They had painted the ceiling at some point and the ceiling paint had slopped down on to all the walls about a foot or so. I asked staff about this at check out and they said that they needed the room anyways. This hotel has two huge fiberglass hot tubs which would hold about 10 each - very nice. The breakfast was the regular continental with waffles - you make. The hotel is in a good location to things in town.

Room Tip: keep in mind - newer rooms or older "historic" rooms. Maybe the new rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therealsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was pleased with your comments about the Lobby, Facilities, Location, and Breakfast. I admit that I was a bit concerned about your comments on the condition of the room and our inability to select a room that would allow you to see your vehicle - something we can do much better. I was embarrassed by your comment on the response of one of my Desk Agents citing "we needed the room anyways" and I have made sure that every Desk Agent understands this is not an acceptable response under any circumstance. I sincerely apologize to you, as this is not the way I expect - or have trained - the Staff to handle this situation. I feel confident that we will be more appropriately responsive in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    143
    93
    61
    63
See reviews for
129
205
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I needed to change arrival date to Stage Coach Inn.
I sent e-mails but they never replied.
I tried to sent fax but never went through, so I finally had to make an international phone call to change the date.
I also found some careless works of house keepers.

Guy at the breakfast was great. He doesn't talk a lot, but very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy at night. Parking lot view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madison_junction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was happy to read your comments about Breakfast and the Attendant, but I was a bit embarrassed to read about your difficulties in making changes to your reservation. We can surely do a better job at following-up on changes than your experience indicates. I have spoken to all Front Desk Staff about the importance of communication and follow-through to the overall guest experience. I also passed this review on to our Housekeeping Staff to reiterate the importance of being thorough and consistent in our cleanliness and condition of guestrooms. Thank you again for your review and for staying at the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

had a great stay here wtih our daughter and her family right across the hall. Really no complaints about this place and the price was right. Neat little town, very resort oriented, lots of stores. Breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was pleased to read your comments about the Hotel, the perceived Value, and the Breakfast. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you again for the review and for staying at the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very comfortable bright room, spacious and clean. Beds very comfortable. Large reception area with fire. Breakfast usual American quality, bagels, dry bread, etc. but good cereals. Receptionist helpful regarding areas to visit.

Room Tip: Quiet location for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I appreciate your comments about the Room, Beds, Lobby w/fireplace, Breakfast, and the knowledgeable and helpful Desk Staff. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you again for the review and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORGAN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Older hotel with some upgrades.
Bed very comfortable with high quality linens, pillow could use some improvement.
Room very clean. Midline price for West Yellowstone Hotels.
Staff was very nice, knowledgeable and front desk was effecient, with no waiting to check in and check out. Knew our first name when we registered.
Mexican Restaurant, on site, food was excellent, all homemade: priced on the high side.
ONLY issue was the lounge was closed due to liquor license issue.

Room Tip: If you would like a larger room, book in the newer (deluxe) section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mt_in_Ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was pleased with your comments about the Beds, Linens, Cleanliness, Price/Value, Restaurant, and especially the knowledge and responsiveness of the Desk Staff. It is true that we cannot serve in our Lounge due to no license being available - with 32 Hotels and 39 Restaurants, there are only 9 full-beverage licenses in West Yellowstone and all are in use - but we hope to find a way to eventually acquire a full-beverage license. Thank you again for your review and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowley, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We go to West Yellowstone quite often and this year decided to try a new place to stay overnight. Things we liked...good location just outside the park, great price, clean rooms, friendly staff, fun decor, wifi. Things we didn't like....The bed was sooo HARD! The breakfast room was a rat race cluster, just grabbed a cup of coffe as everyone was reaching over and across me didn't try any food because it was just too packed to be peaceful. Bummer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa82420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was pleased to read your comments about Location, Price/Value, Cleanliness, friendly Staff, Decor, and Wi-Fi. I was dismayed by your comment about the quality of the Bed - especially since we usually hear very positive comments about them - so I need to look into this more closely. I was also perplexed by your comment about the Breakfast since we removed nearly half of the tables and chairs as part of our Americans with Disabilities Accessibility standards compliance and created an overflow seating area next to the Front Desk. I am truly sorry for your experience and while I really can't control when guests come down for the breakfast, I think I need to spend more time looking at the set-up and spacing of our displays for improvements. Thank you again for your review and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nothing fancy about the room, but it was clean and comfortable. I had one of the newer rooms which was larger. The hot water was very hot and the cold water was quite cold. It was a little noisy in the morning as my room was just around the corner from housekeeping. There was a decent sized fridge in the room. While there was a grocery store across the street I would recommend going to the grocery store 3 blocks away. They had a much better selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I was pleased to read your comments about Cleanliness, Comfort, and the temperature of the water. We value your opinion and appreciate your point of view - it keeps us honest. Thank you again for your review and for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#18 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#10 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#14 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Property: Stage Coach Inn
Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing