We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Check in was ok but I was a bit alarmed to see a man with a gun walk out of hotel as I walked in so this unnerved me a bit. Hotel was expensive for the standard we received. Breakfast was ok. Location was fine. I wouldn't stay here again simply because of price but I had left booking a little late so I had little to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you were felt alarmed upon your arrival. Some individuals (visitors) choose to carry firearms when hunting in fishing in the wilderness area as the Montana laws allow. However, we never wish for any of our guests to feel uncomfortable.

I also am sorry that you did not feel as though you received a good value at our property. I hope that you will give the property another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    82
    73
    30
    16
See reviews for
91
69
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This lodge a fine place to stay but lacks something to make it special. It has all of the basics but isn't anything to write home about for the price. It is in a great location to access the town, the park, IMax and shopping. Make sure you visit the Play Mill theater!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naginalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

room was clean and adequate. Expensive for the amenities offerred, but West Yellowstone is a vacation destination hotel. Breakfast could have been better. Toasters were inadequate and staff had hard time keeping up with tour groups.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that the problematic toasters have been replaced. We hope that you choose our property for your next trip to Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fine hotel in a good location for the National Park and other attractions. Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Friendly staff and the breakfast was as good as any we have had on our US trip. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoftyUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for the positive feedback! We appreciate you choosing our property and hope you will stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel fits into the Super 8/Motel 6 type category and I have never spent over two hundred a night for those types of places. This hotel looks much nicer on the outside than it is inside. Poor breakfast and very loud a/c units. Female staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel as though you did not receive a good value at our property.

Our breakfast is indeed a basic continental style, as we do not have the facilities in house to prepare hot foods. I am sorry that your air conditioning unit was noisy as well. I am certain that if the front desk had been contacted we would have had the ability to move you to a more comfortable room.

I hope that you were still able to enjoy your Yellowstone Vacation, and will return to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This property has potential but was not quite living up to it when I visited.

It starts out well. It is in a quiet location with plenty of parking. The breakfast room is spacious and has lots of windows, and best of all there are no corners in the service counter. Everyone could get what they wanted easily. But....

The whole place smelled of glue. They did have fans going in the hallways, but with the building's doors closed nothing was being evacuated. The smell permeated the rooms to the point I had to keep my windows open at all times.

Cleanliness: There were few black spots at the top of the bathroom wall and my "brand new" pillows smelled of cigarette smoke. To their credit, though, the staff did replace my pillows and offer me another room.

Hopefully they will be able to improve the next time I'm there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Exit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ylodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I do apologize that there were some things you did not enjoy during your stay. We were at the tail end of a construction project during your visit, so there was indeed a lingering smell of glue in the common areas. Again, I do apologize.

I am glad our staff was able to accommodate you with new pillows. All of our pillows are indeed new and it is a shame if someone in the room before you violated our no-smoking policy.

We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Room was large and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. I have health problems and swim early. When i made reservation i was told pool opens at 8am. When i got there they said 9am and would not let me swim earlier. Breakfast was terrible. Yucky breads made with white flour, bagels made with whiteflourThey did have one loaf of whole wheat bread. I do not eat sugar. Yogurt had 22 grams of sugar, no fresh fruit, canned fruit cocktail with 16 grams of sugar per serving. Cereal stale. When i booked it said deluxe breakfast when i got there it said continetal breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Lodge
Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing