We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree with previous reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellowstone Lodge
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I agree with previous reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Yellowstone Lodge every year for the last 7 years and at one time, it was the best bang for the buck in W. Yellowstone. The location is great, and the staff, which has for the most part, been there all 7 years, it fabulous. But they have neglected the upkeep and the carpets, linens and lobby is starting to show the aging. The most dissapointing is the breakfast, that has really deteriorated and it is no longer the "best breakfast in town" as their sign says. My stay this week has not been terrible, I just wish it was better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    73
    30
    16
See reviews for
91
70
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill
Level Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Lodge with our group organized by the local Y. The rooms were large and clean. The free breakfast was somewhat short on variety, no fresh fruit, the waffles were out of a package - not fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rooms very shabby and dated.
Continental breakfast very poor--no fresh fruit or yogurt.
Coffee was weak and undrinkable.
Went out for breakfasts-
Wouldl not recommend, as there are better hotels in W. Yellwowstone for the same
charges.

Room Tip: Better hotels in W. Yellowstone-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gini576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms large and spacious.

But, if you have a thing about pillows, bring your own as the ones that were on the bed were terrible. Even my husband who can sleep on anything thought they were uncomfortable. I'm not sure why hotels don't spend a bit more money on good pillows as they can make all the difference.

And talking of beds, the sheets on our king sized bed (which was very comfortable), didn't fit the mattress. We were told when we checked out that they have new mattresses, but they hadn't got the sheets to fit them yet, so the whole night, my husband and I fought with the sheets and ended up sleeping partially on the mattress protector and partially on the crumpled sheets.

Then, breakfast.... I am forever baffled why hotels and motels offer breakfast only then to offer plastic cutlery and paper plates and cups. I think America must be largely responsible for global warming with all the paper and plastic that it uses. What is wrong with using proper crockery and cutlery? Try spreading hard butter with a plastic knife? And while I'm at it, perhaps hotels and motels could offer breakfast options that are not laden with sugar.

Also, in closing, we were recommended Bullwinkle Restaurant as a nice place to have dinner. Won't be going there again and that's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetenilorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a late fall trip to Yellowstone with my wife and mother-in-law who'd never been there.( They are from Maui and hadn't toured the mainland). Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was great. The price was much more reasonable than I'm sure it is during the summer. Overall it was a nice experience. Thank you.

Room Tip: call ahead, that's how we got the room we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were lucky to find a room at this hotel when the city was almost booked on September 23rd. Front desk personnel were very friendly and efficient . The continental breakfast was also good with plenty of food. Lodge is located with in walking distance from the center of town.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVS213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Situated on the Yellowstone Lake this hotel has aged, but not so gracefully. On the day we arrived the elevator was not working so our baggage was manhandled to the second floor by very busy and tired looking hotel staff. Our room was supposed to have lake view, however the window was rather small and the view was somewhat obstructed by large columns). We discovered that our best view was from the bathroom which had very large window (with no shade or drapes) and the lake view was magnificent.
Queen size bed was fine, it was relatively quiet, and having coffee in the bathroom with the view was fun.
Electricity was off and on quite a few times. There was no refrigerator (and who needs TV) and there was a fan (and who needs AC). The hotel restaurant was quite busy and although we had reservations we had to wait in line for about 20 minutes before we were seated for dinner. The wait staff was very knowledgeable but seemed in a hurry. Breakfast was more relaxed and the buffet was very nice and offered quite interesting selections.
We got up very early in order to take a drive up the lake, and encountered numerous wide life including a trotting bison on the side of the road carefully adhering to the walk in the direction of cars rule.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serbchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Lodge
Address: 251 S Electric St, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9532
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park! We offer three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms that have been recently updated to include new plush bedding and flat screen televisions. All rooms also include microwave and refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. On site amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry facilities, and a newly renovated indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Room rates also include a complimentary continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone West
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing