We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin had everything we needed and more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic Wagon RV Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay in West Yellowstone at the Wagon Wheel Cabins. We stayed in cabin #7 which the reviewer before me described wonderfully. There were 5 of us and plenty of space for all. Having 2 bathrooms was nice as was the laundry facilities. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything we have at home and more. Ken and Dorit were helpful and a great resource for planning a day in the park and surrounding areas. We walked to town several times and it took around 10 minutes. Ernie's Deli is right across the street with great sandwiches and coffee and free internet. The cabin was spotless. The daily maid service was outstanding! This is a great place to stay while visiting the park if you want a little more frills than an in park cabin like coffee pot, full fridge, tv, dvd player, washer/dryer, stove etc. Behind a private fence, the cabin was secluded and wooded with a picnic table and porch. We built a couple fires in the stove and made somemores.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Rustic Wagon RV Campground & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

Wagon Wheel cabins are considered a separate property from Rustic Wagon, but they are right next to each other and owned by the same people. There is a small trailor park on the same block as well that does make you a little nervous as far as atmosphere goes. But the cabin has a privacy fence and and many trees to add to the privacy. It does feel like you are in a secluded area much more then I thought it would. Every one is very friendly and helpful, as other posters have stated. Very clean accomodations. Cabin #7 is a 2 bedroom (2 queen beds) and a sofa sleeper in the living area. There is a tv with dvd/vcr player for down time if needed. There is a large bathroom with toilet, 2 sinks, a bathtub/shower and an extra shower. There is a second bathroom with 2 sinks and a toilet. The kitchen is very nice and well equipped. Many tools needed for cooking including food processor and blender. Also has basic essentials such as coffee, tea, salt, sugar,spices, etc. There is also a washer and dryer in house which is very nice. Great property! The only thing I can say it might need are laundry baskets for dirty clothes and maybe one more comfortable seat for the living room (seating for 4) although we weren't there a lot. You are also given access to the game room at the Rustic Wagon Facilities. It is nice and we utilized it several times during the week.

You should know, no pets are allowed. No phone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parentsof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

As noted by another, the Wagon Wheel and the Rustic Wagon are 2 separate locations, although owned by the same people.
We stayed at the Wagon Wheel in Cabin 6. We had our own gated front yard with a nice porch, chairs, and Gas Grill provided. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes all over the area were so bad we were not able to enjoy this area.
The cabin has 2 bedrooms - one with a double bed and one with a queen and 2 bunkbeds - our daughter enjoyed having her own room - there is a small seating area and fully equipped kitchen. Last there is a small bathroom.
The cabin was immaculate! Housekeeping (including new towels) is provided every day. We were told that the only thing the housekeeper would not clean was dishes, however, the first day we left a small tip and came home to find our dishes had in fact been done for us :-)
Ken, who works the front desk is a wealth of information. Super friendly and knows the town inside and out.
The property has a nice sized laundry room and game room.
it is towards the end of town, so a bit of a walk to everything else, but really the town is so small that this was not an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nijmeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed 5 nights at the Rustic Wagon RV park. The owners were very nice and accommodating going out of their way to be available for us and helpful from pointing out places to check for animals in the park to suggestions for the best homemade pie in town. Although there was still plenty of snow the camp was clean and neat. The sites are narrow but the trees make a nice buffer. It was quiet, and no annoying lights at night. The park and 'downtown' are just blocks away so it was very convenient. Great hook ups (we were thankful for the warnings about our hoses freezing at night) and everything seemed well maintained. Thanks for the great time.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank TwoMensMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Extremely clean - we rented Cabin #8 (a one bedroom), having a full kitchen, bar b q grill with a small picnic table & outdoor chairs. A large walk in closet with a chest of drawers & good place to hide the suitcases. We used the laundry facilties adjacent to the RV park & found it to be very clean. We used the game room one afternoon to play pool (which is also located to the RV Park) & relax after spending our days in Yellowstone Park walking & driving so much. The owners are very good people, a wealth of information. I have to agree with the other reviews in regards to the bathroom & sitting area - the shower was small and there wasn't anywhere to sit other than a kitchen chair or the bed. We had one recliner in our room but there was 2 of us. The rates were very good for an area that does seem to charge premium rates and this place is well groomed & kept up. I thought they were more than fair in their pricing.

There are only 2 grocery stores in town, and trust me the stores charge premium prices for the groceries. The owners provide you with coffee, tea, salt & pepper, foil etc. Again I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Great set up.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legacy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the "Rustic Cabin" last week. It was a pleasure and we highly recommend it. The price was $127 plus tax per night. Check-in was a breeze and the two bedroom cabin, although small, was the cleanest place I've ever stayed. I tried to find dust (above the door frame, on the picture frames, on top the fridge, etc.) and there was none - wish my house was this clean! The cabin was fine for my husband and me but it might be a bit too small for two couples. My only recommendation for change would be to replace the bed in the TV/kitchen room with a queen size futon. There's no place to sit except the beds or a kitchen chair so a futon would solve the problem. The owners are among the nicest folks you'd want to meet and the attention to detail to the grounds and our cabin demonstrated the pride they take in their property. Yes, our cabin was in a campground but the landscaping made it amazingly private. We enjoyed the kitchen and grilling on the great covered porch. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Grandma_Bette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

First of all, you should understand these are two different properties, the Wagon Wheel and the Rustic Wagon. They are three blocks apart and owned by the same family, but they are not identical. Due to a cancellatoin, we were able to get "Cabin R" at the last minute in August at the Rustic Wagon and counted ourselves lucky to get it. We paid $135 a night for a two-room cabin that was tiny but very comfortable. Everything in West Yellowstone is very expensive and not that great so we were happy to have our own little kitchenette to cook. We also had a screened porch with a gas grill, and pretty much cooked every meal on the grill. Our unit also had a full size refrigerator which was welcome. This property is mostly an RV campground with a few spaces for tents and a few cabins. It is owned by a very kind and accomodating couple. Our cabin had a front room with a double bed and storage, and a main room with another double bed and kitchenette. A small bath wtih shower. It looked like maybe it was built in the 40s. Everything was immaculate in fact the owner Dorit told me she has all the dishes re-washed after the guests leave to make sure they're really clean. They also supply all the cooking items you need, can openers et al. There was even daily maid service which for a cabin was pleasant and surprisning. The campground was pretty basic, there was a swingset and small kids playground, but no pool. There were pine trees.It was a long walk to town from there. At the other location, the Wagon Wheel, they have a pool table and game room, but the manager there wouldn't let my kids use the pool table, even though they had been told they could use it by the owners. That was the only sour note though in an otherwise pleasant stay. I would recommend these cabins wholeheartedly. You have to do a lot of driving in Yellowstone, all the main attractions are far apart. Staying in the park could be more convenient, definitely, but our little cabin was very snug and pleasant to come home to after a day of sightseeing and there was a TV to lull the kids to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marlajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
68.9 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
790 reviews
68.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
68.2 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
68.6 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
68.8 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Wagon RV Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Wagon RV Campground & Cabins

Address: 637 Highway 20 & 408 Gibbon Ave, P.O. Box 608, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $67 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rustic Wagon Rv Campground And Cabins
Rustic Wagon Rv Campground & Cabins Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing