We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Brief Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Brief Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here the nights of 8/25 and 8/26/2013. Since we made our reservations not too far in advance, choices were limited at this time of year. Apparently, judging from the comments of others, we did all right! It was quiet, no problem parking and everyone was civil and helpful.

Scenic or lavish? No. But for the benefit of "nos amis de France et Paris", I found it refreshing not to have to call for explanation of the plumbing system! ( By the way, the hotel is in Montana, not Wyoming.)

The complimentary breakfast is to be found at :The Branch", adjoining the hotel itself. It was very good in terms of choices. As for fresh-squeezed OJ, can't say I've ever found that on the buffet in this sort of place. Try Florida---not many orange trees in Montana, pardners!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor. There are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossbackCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    346
    194
    51
    18
See reviews for
349
304
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What choice is there in WY, any way ? Chain hotels or low end motels ar average hotels ? We decided to play it safe, and booked a 2-room family suite (2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) for our party of 3. We were not thrilled by the perspective, but the target was not splurging on lavish accomodation, yet to be found ion the area, but a decent, clean, soundproof room for the duration of our Yellowtone visit.

This is just what this delivers, for $352 tax inclusive, breakfast extra.

Place looks good from outside. Parking not a problem. Check-in understaffed.
The room was on the second floor, wrapping around the elevator well. Surprise is we were never disturbed by the elevators, and we thought we might be.
Large rooms. Good beds. Good housekeeping, a lttle light one the vaccuming. Aircon very noisy, but we could wleep with windows opened anyway, which we prefer. Although the place was booked to capacity, we never felt annoyed by the crowd ; lots of visitors from China, mostly travelling by bus (as anywhere else in the US these days, or so it seems), who must have different hours.

Adjoining restaurant serves decent breakfast, with gracious attendants. No freshly squeezed OJ to be found here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear frenchandparisian,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This motel was an excellent location while visiting Yellowstone Nat. Park. We made the mistake 4 years ago (because we didn't know better) and booked a very nice place in Jackson, Wyoming. It was our first trip to YNP. The drive every evening getting back to Jackson was 100 miles I believe from Grant Village. The fact that you are having to watch for all wildlife on the road day and night made it a very long drive back and forth. Having been thru that 4 years ago made this location and the hotel a very good choice for us. The hotel was clean & staff very friendly. The price was high however all hotels in and around Yellowstone are expensive. We will stay there again the next trip to YNP. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocacolanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After staying at the Old Faithful Lodge and the Frontier Cabins at Canyon Lodge in expensive rooms without TV or internet, the Holiday Inn in West Yellowstone was a nice, welcome change the room was clean, within easy walking distance of the local sites and had all of the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTXJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel itself is very clean and has nice facilities. The location is great; within walking distance to shops and restaurants, and minutes from the park entrance. Our room was clean and spacious; no complaints. The front desk people were ok but could be more friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guaping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We liked the location because it was not in the middle of town, but we could walk to everything easily. Hotel was clean. Entry area was nice; staff did not acknowledge us waiting to check in and did not seem too friendly, but we enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: Nice area at end of street within walking distance to everything. No continental breakfast provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After an hour after arriving in the Lake Hotel on Yellowstone Lake and being allotted an expensive ($264) decrepit room shorn of all facilities we beat it to West Yellowstone, a 45 minute drive, to find alternative accommodation for the balance of our 5 night stay in the area and happened on this Holiday Inn. Prospects of a room were not too promising at first as the receptionist told us that they hadn't any rooms for the next four nights. Whilst in their lobby we set about seeking accommodation elsewhere in the town using our iPad and the first place that popped up on Expedia was the Holiday Inn!! Armed with this knowledge we returned to the reception desk and lo and behold they discovered the King Sized bedroom with spa bath that Expedia had identified. That'll be $299 per night, room only, said reception. Expedia says it's $268 per night. Well we can't let at that rate say reception. OK we say, we'll book through Expedia and there and then we did and the reservation came up on the receptionist's screen at Expedia's price. It would have been much easier if Holiday Inn had honoured the principle of their boast to match any price for a room but under their arcane rules we'd have had to first book at reception at their price and then claim the difference back from them with the evidence from Expedia. Ye gods and little fishes, save us from US bureaucracy.
But with all that done it was a fine room; clean, large, fridge, Wi-Fi, good bathroom (save for hand basin situated in bedroom), good linen, comfortable sofa, air-con, decent décor ...... none of which were to be had at the Lake Hotel. No problems with housekeeping and the external laundry service worked a treat.
What was poor was the in house Branch Restaurant. A Maitre'D who showed no interest, just looked totally bored. A waitress who'd never been taught how to open a wine bottle so just laid the bottle and the corkscrew down in front of us and said we'd have to open it as she didn't know how. So we showed her! And the food, well nothing to right home about. There are some good eats places in W Yellowstone, Serenity and Café Madriz to name but two so give the Branch a miss.
All in all the Holiday Inn worked well for us and being based there was no disadvantage to being in the centre of the park

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing