We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second stay here”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My grown daughter and I made our second trip to Yellowstone at the end of May 2013 and we decided to stay again at the West Yellowstone Holiday Inn. We chose Memorial Day week for our trip because hotel prices double after June 1 and I can't afford what they charge. However, off season prices are in line with what I pay at other comparable hotels. We like West Yellowstone because it's a stone's throw from the West Entrance and you get all the hotel amenities like cable TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, etc. that you don't get inside the Park. Our room was pretty far from the lobby, but not a real problem since we were out seeing the Park most of the two days we stayed there. Our room was clean and comfortable, good beds and quiet. One thing I particularly liked was an ethernet hookup for my laptop computer at the work desk, which got us right into the hotel network. We'd had trouble the entire trip with various hotel Wi-Fi set ups, but this was so much better!! Our first night, we ate at the hotel restaurant but it was only so-so. I noted that it had a different name from the first time we stayed in 2010 and the food and service weren't as good. If we come back up to Yellowstone a third time (which is likely), then I'll certainly consider yet another stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    336
    192
    51
    18
See reviews for
337
293
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Kmart quality, Marriott prices. Would not stay there again. Mattress was very lumpy and the pillows were, well, interesting. Staff was nice. Breakfast not included. I stayed in another HIX in Logan, Ohio, which was just ok, and expected the same here. Sadly, my hopes were dashed...

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the parking lot and seem to be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Mary Ann K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will certainly be looked into. I appreciate you letting us know about your concerns. This helps us understand areas we can improve upon.

Again, thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn. I thought the room cost was really high for what you got, but to be fair I did not compare rates at other locations so the price could very well be competitive. The staff was friendly and helpfully.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

From start to fnish, our one-night stay in this aging hotel was made memorable in all the good ways by the amazing staff and the way they enjoy interacting with guests. At the front desk, Dillon helped us by phone before our arrival, Deb and Beth went out of their way to accommodate our room preferences and Jair in the restaurant for breakfast the next morning was one of the best waiters we've EVER had. (And the food was fabulous.) We were dreading this limited-choice stopover but were most pleasantly surprised and if they can maintain this kind of staff buy-in we'll certainly enjoy the next visit as well.

Room Tip: It helps to be a Priority Club member. Free to join.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryVacationer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

After a spectacular day in Yellowstone, we arrived in the sleepy West Yellowstone community. The Holiday Inn is just outside the park, so very convenient.

Our room (123) was on the first floor looking out into a parking lot. The wallpaper was peeling, the ventilation/air-conditioner was falling apart, the bathroom was tiny and in serious need of updating and the color scheme left you feeling if the place had been cleaned recently. The bed swung down from the wall, was low to the ground when lowered and the mattress was poor. We have stayed at several Hampton Inns on this trip and all of them, even the older ones are better equipped and maintained than this place. The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone was also very expensive given the quality of the place.

The people there were welcoming and friendly, but this is a poor advertisement for the Holiday Inn brand.

We learnt the following day that 1.4 million people a year enter Yellowstone through the west entrance; I hope that here are better alternatives than this hotel if you want to stay outside the Park.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear hct1948,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you have mentioned our friendly staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the wallpaper, Air Conditioner and the bathroom have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property, which does include the rooms on property.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a suite with a hot tub in the room. It was great - after a long day driving to get there it really helped out. I couldn't figure out how to get the jets on, but it didn't matter - I just needed the huge tub and hot water. It could've probably fit two large adults and then some in there - huge.
We got a crib for our baby and it was a good crib - not a packnplay like other places. It had the sheet cover for the mattress and they gave us a little blanket which was really nice.
The hotel didn't have free breakfast which was a disappointment. We had the buffet which was ok, but the service was really really slow for things like... a water. or coffee. How can it be so slow with most people serving themselves the food on the buffet?
West Yellowstone is a perfect location for entering Yellowstone and if the park is sold out of hotels you could probably even use this as your home base for exploring the park - although that would be a lot of extra driving each day.
We used points for the hotel so I don't really know how expensive it is normally, but there are several hotels in West Yellowstone that all seem to be about equal.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdictsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear trvladdictsd,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our location and we are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your room.

However, I am truly sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our breakfast. We are a full-service hotel and as such, we don't offer complimentary breakfast but we do have breakfast packages at an affordable rate. I apologize if this didn't meet your expectations.

I hope you had a wonderful vacation, and should you have any future accommodation needs, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great, convenient place to stay if you are touring Yellowstone! The hotel has everything you need and is walking distance from the shops and restaurants of West Yellowstone. I got a great rate by naming my price on Priceline and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Avenue, PO Box 470, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing