We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tired and worn out”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

After a spectacular day in Yellowstone, we arrived in the sleepy West Yellowstone community. The Holiday Inn is just outside the park, so very convenient.

Our room (123) was on the first floor looking out into a parking lot. The wallpaper was peeling, the ventilation/air-conditioner was falling apart, the bathroom was tiny and in serious need of updating and the color scheme left you feeling if the place had been cleaned recently. The bed swung down from the wall, was low to the ground when lowered and the mattress was poor. We have stayed at several Hampton Inns on this trip and all of them, even the older ones are better equipped and maintained than this place. The Holiday Inn West Yellowstone was also very expensive given the quality of the place.

The people there were welcoming and friendly, but this is a poor advertisement for the Holiday Inn brand.

We learnt the following day that 1.4 million people a year enter Yellowstone through the west entrance; I hope that here are better alternatives than this hotel if you want to stay outside the Park.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear hct1948,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you have mentioned our friendly staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the wallpaper, Air Conditioner and the bathroom have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property, which does include the rooms on property.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    352
    196
    54
    18
See reviews for
356
310
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a suite with a hot tub in the room. It was great - after a long day driving to get there it really helped out. I couldn't figure out how to get the jets on, but it didn't matter - I just needed the huge tub and hot water. It could've probably fit two large adults and then some in there - huge.
We got a crib for our baby and it was a good crib - not a packnplay like other places. It had the sheet cover for the mattress and they gave us a little blanket which was really nice.
The hotel didn't have free breakfast which was a disappointment. We had the buffet which was ok, but the service was really really slow for things like... a water. or coffee. How can it be so slow with most people serving themselves the food on the buffet?
West Yellowstone is a perfect location for entering Yellowstone and if the park is sold out of hotels you could probably even use this as your home base for exploring the park - although that would be a lot of extra driving each day.
We used points for the hotel so I don't really know how expensive it is normally, but there are several hotels in West Yellowstone that all seem to be about equal.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdictsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear trvladdictsd,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our location and we are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your room.

However, I am truly sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our breakfast. We are a full-service hotel and as such, we don't offer complimentary breakfast but we do have breakfast packages at an affordable rate. I apologize if this didn't meet your expectations.

I hope you had a wonderful vacation, and should you have any future accommodation needs, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great, convenient place to stay if you are touring Yellowstone! The hotel has everything you need and is walking distance from the shops and restaurants of West Yellowstone. I got a great rate by naming my price on Priceline and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked this hotel because this is the only Intercontinental chain hotel near Yellowstone park. The room price is quite high and I could not use my IHG member points to redeem my nights. Hotel room is fairly big and very comfortable. Very nice bed and all facilities in the room are just enough. No breakfast included in the room price. The Branch restaurant in the 1st floor is kind of expensive ($11+ for the breakfast buffet). Fortunately, there are many small restaurants nearby. Hotel is about 1 min. drive from the entrance. Very convenient.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in this hotel for a few days to enjoy Yellowstone, suggest you to buy en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn in West Yellowstone was a pleasant experience. I will certainly not call it a luxury hotel - this is West Yellowstone you know, but the property was clean and well maintained. I found the staff accommodating and courteous and I really had a pleasant stay. The rooms are basic, but considering other experiences in this town, I must say the Holiday Inn was an excellent resting spot for a trip into Yellowstone. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinFool13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel was clean, and rooms are quite large. The also have some deluxe rooms with a Jacuzzi tub in the room, which was nice after a day of hiking. The hotel is ~ 5 minute drive from the entrance to Yellowstone Park, and very close to the restaurants etc. in West Yellowstone. It is a good option if you are looking for a "standard" hotel near the Park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siemensstadtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had some problems with our reservation - Expedia's fault, not the hotels' s but the nice person at the front desk took care of us. Wish I would have
caught her name. The hotel is a little older but our room was clean. Service was also good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing