We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not the greatest of choices. If you don't have very high expectations, then it is fine.

Room was large and clean. Hotel was worn from, I suppose, heavy use during the tourist season. The staff needs training in professional interactions and customer service.

The restaurant was mediocre and its staff really needs training as well. They had the dining room closed in the evening and made everybody sit in the bar. It was noisy with sports blaring on the TVs. If I wanted a sports bar atmosphere, I'd gone to one. The food was pricey and not very good. We had to return one dish because of hair in the food and two of us became sick after eating there.

Choices are limited in the off season but you'd be better off making a different choice unless you need a reasonably clean place just to sleep.

Room Tip: There are elevators so room choices on the 1st floor aren't always necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dumbodriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    305
    184
    50
    16
See reviews for
303
265
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. The weather was good while we were there, sunny and mid 60s to low70s. There is plenty of space in the rooms, but the rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. There was plenty of hot water for showering, and the sink area was outside the bathroom, which is great for families, enabling teeth washing etc whilst the bathroom was in use. We were disappointed with the restaurant in the evening, which is simply a bar and which was full of locals watching American football on the large TVs, so it was very noisy. Two meals on the menu were unavailable and as the menu was limited, I struggled to find something I wanted to eat. Food was average but acceptable as it was not expensive. Breakfast was slow to arrive and was cold. The real bonus for this hotel is that it is very close to the entrance to Yellowstone National park and all the amazing geo-thermal attractions.[The road into the park has many opportunities for wildlife spotting and photography, with Elk, Bison etc.] The room was reasonably priced for its location, and was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would have rated it V. good had the restaurant been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_flying_goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Terri at the front is amazing! We had a big group and she treated us so good! We loved this place and will definately stay there again, thanks Terri, you made our stay the best! The rooms are big, very clean. The kids loved the pool. Great location to walk everywhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Not a luxury hotel, but even for the generally good and reliable Holiday Inns, this is an exceptional property in a town not known for great hotels or restaurants. Staff were professional, warm and helpful. The room was clean and the beds surprisingly comfortable. And the restaurant food was the best we found in West Yellowstone; excellent for breakfast and dinner (try the bison stew!). I agree with others who have commented on "opportunities for improvement" in the restaurant; they were not particularly well prepared for the large tour group that arrived on our last night. And for some reason they close the more appealing dining room at dinner, using only the bar area. (We were "between seasons", so it may be that in summer the dining room is open.) The location can't be beat for ready access to Yellowstone. This was my third stay in West Yellowstone (first at the Holiday Inn), and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHE713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely big rooms. If you are a Brit you will be delighted at the space. Restaurant was poorly managed, long wait for a table both at breakfast and dinner. Don't think they had enough staff on duty. Didn't get what we wanted from the menu even as early as 8 pm. Huge foreign tour groups seemed to dominate. Lovely position in town, easy walk to shops, bars and other restaurants. Good value overall. But probably better to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very large and quiet room (we chose one with jacuzzi) except noisy air conditionner. Too many people in the breakfast (we had to leave because of the too long estimated waiting time, maybe something to manage more efficiently). Calm hotel without any charm but fonctionnal and very close to the park's gate : it's certainly what can only justify the very high price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapinous F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
233 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is a standard Holiday Inn in an area where everything is a bit overpriced. The staff was friendly and the place was clean. You are right on Main Street so it is convenient to the park and the I-Max and Grizzly Discover Center. But.... the restaurant really needs help. The food was good but like others have said the idea that you must wait 20 to 30 minutes for breakfast and there aren't that many tables in use is really unacceptable. One morning after we were seated and my husband ordered a short stack/no meat and I ordered a bowl of cereal and toast we were told that it would take 25 minutes to get the order out to us. REALLY!!! I felt sorry for the wait staff since I know they take alot of guff from unhappy patrons and that is very unfair to them. So lets get management to work on the problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbaldwin374, Manager at Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest-

First we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. Our goal is to provide a memorable and satisfactory experience to all of our guests. Unfortunately we have failed to do so during your stay.

We appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and assure you that we are looking for solutions to solve our errors and to ensure that they do not occur again in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay in West Yellowstone and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Josh Baldwin

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#10 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#18 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone

Property: Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Address: 315 Yellowstone Avenue, PO Box 470, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing