We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our room was really nice and big, it had a hot tub, a small kitchen area and a nice big bed. The ice wasn't working on our floor and the power went out from 1am-5:30am, when we arrived they gave us a note stating the town was turning off the power due to work. It didn't really bother us we just set our phones to get up the next day and were very thankful that we were able to shower. The hot tub was very nice and relaxing, it was smack dab in your room, not the bathroom, we didn't have a problem with that.
It was just a quick drive to the entrance of Yellowstone, so if your unable to stay inside the park this hotel was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 899 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is only two blocks from the West entrance of Yellowstone so is very convenient. The rooms are large and clean & have everything you need. The staff are friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in how your days at Yellowstone have been. The price is reasonable for what you get charged in this area, so give this hotel a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor, they are the nicest.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macedon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIyellowstone, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Macedon2,

Thank you for such a complimentary review. We are so glad we could assist you with your lodging & restaurant needs and by the sounds of it, exceed your expectations. I will certainly pass your kind words to the Holiday Inn team so they see all their hard work is paying off.

We at Delaware North Companies do strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time.

We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Michael K Laundry
General Manager
Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone exceeded our expectations. My wife and I were looking for a "hub" for our weekend Yellowstone adventure, but we were not interested in spending hundreds per night on this trip. The HI-WY provided a very clean, friendly, and central location for all of our travels. The Branch Restaurant, located in the hotel, was a great place for an early morning "pick me up" or an evening meal and night cap. We were able to walk anywhere in town within a few minutes, and found ourselves within the park boundaries within 5. I must mention, try the deluxe suite for a bit more leg room and an environment more suited for longer stays, as it provides a dining room table, refrigerator, and many other amenities you may not find elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIyellowstone, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Jason M.,

Thank you for such a complimentary review. I am so glad we could assist you and your wife during your vacation to Yellowstone. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time.

We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Michael K. Laundry
General Manager
Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

On a trip to Yellowstone, our party of 10 spent 2 nights at the Holliday Inn - W Yellowstone. We were going into the Park for 3 days. come out and spend our second night here. On the 1st night one of our members needed to go to an ER located in Idaho for non critical reasons. EMS transported him but we had no way to get him back. The night clerk came to the rescue. He contacted a friend who agreed to go to the hos[pital, pick him up and return him back to W Yellowstone. Our guide company, Yellowstone Alpen Guides, met him at the Holiday Inn and transported him to where the rest of the party was in the park. Thanks to the Holliday Inn employee, what could have turned our trip into a disaster for all, made it a non-event.

The remainder of our stay at the Holiday Inn was just as great. Would definitely stay there again! Right price, nice rooms, good food and a staff that is willing to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIyellowstone, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Bob W

Thank you for such a complimentary review. I am so glad we could assist you and your group when you needed help. I will make sure that Jon, our night auditor, gets this review. He is a great Front Desk Associate. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time.

We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Michael K. Laundry
General Manager
Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone in Feb 2012. Used the snowmobile facilities located in the hotel. We had never been to West Yellowstone or "snowmobiled" before, so it was extremely important for us to have a "one stop shopping" experience. The hotel was very convenient, clean, and entirely adequate for us. Good value. No qualms about this place. My wife and I as well as some family members spent several days (4) just snowmobiling. One of the best mini vacations we've taken in some time. Recommend a guided snowmobile tour for your first day out. Even my parents, who are in their mid 70's, spent 2 days on the trails.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbaldwin374, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear SMorte,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and your first snowmobiling adventure with us. We look forward to being able to provide you with any lodging and snowmobile accomodations you may have in the future.

Sincerely,

Jillian Cree
Snow Desk Manager
West Yellowstone, Mt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hotel is located 2 blocks from the main highway, so traffic noise is minimal. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The lay-out of the room was excellent. The room was large, with twin basins and vanity in the room, with the toilet and tub/shower in the bathroom. Furnishings included a sofa, two chairs, plus desk and flat screen t.v. There was a refrigerator and microwave, and iron. Windows open. Climate control unit draws air from outside, and was very quiet. The bed had a choice of firm or soft pillows (2 or each). Lighting was good. The room was in excellent condition, tastefully decorated, and spotless. A meticulously restored 1903 Oregon Short Line railroad business car is located next to the restaurant, and is worth a visit (no charge). Hotel is operated by Delaware North, a company better known for its hotels in National Parks. They have done a great job at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIyellowstone, Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Mountainoutin,

Thank you for such a complimentary review. We are so glad we could assist you with your lodging & restaurant needs and by the sound of it, exceed your expectations. I will certainly pass your kind words to the Front Desk team so they see that all their hard work is paying off.

We at Delaware North Companies do strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time.

We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Respectfully,

Michael K Laundry
General Manager
Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn-West Yellowstone as part of a week long winter photography workshop in the national park. From the time we arrived to when we departed, we found this to be a great hotel whose staff is truly concerned about customer comfort.
The hotel has all the usual amenities; large comfortable rooms, good restaurant and bar, inviting common areas. What sets this one apart is their capability to equip you with everything you need to have fun in the winter snow. The "snow desk" can outfit you for snowmobiling, cross country skiing or snowshoeing, or taking a trip on a snow coach through the park. You can even arrange a dogsled tour!
The best attribute we found though, was the hotel's prompt attention to our comfort. We called the front desk one night due to noise coming from the bar. Apparently, to celebrate Mardi Gras, they had brought in a live band. As soon as we contacted them, they offered us a different room for the rest of the night. The next morning we received a heartfelt apology letter from Kim Mathews, director of guest services, and a fresh fruit platter, along with an adjustment to our bill. Ms. Mathews, along with her staff, quickly turned what could have been a frustrating event into another reason why we like the Holiday Inn brand.
This is a great place to stay in West Yellowstone, from it's close proximity to the NP to the quality of its rooms. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_M_New_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIyellowstone, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear D_M_Athens,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guest's comfort is our top priority. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time. I hope we have you as our guest again soon.

Respectfully,

Kay Mathews
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $103 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing