We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn, West Yellowstone, Mt last night and this morning went to use the hair dryer and it did not work....called front desk...well maintenance was not in yet.....that was all the response I got. Left with wet hair! This is the last time I am staying at a Holiday Inn. Last summer with our 2 grandchildren stayed at Holiday Inn, Harrisburg, Pa. Took the kids to the indoor pool which had rooms all around it in a garden setting. Kids were swimming and there was a man outside his room SMOKING .....told the guy bring the towels about the smoke and he told me to go to the front desk. How was I going to take 2 wet kids to the front desk...dripping wet. Never again, will I stay at a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Do not stay at Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 912 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Oct, we would not stay here again for what it's costs. The front desk staff were not friendly at all and would not say anything to us as we came in and out several times a day. Our room was a suite and is in need of repair, especially the bathroom, torn wall paper and broken tiles plus moldy corners and yellowing caulking where previous repairs were made. The shower water would not stay a consistant temperature and kept getting scalding hot. The tub was so high, you almost needed a step stool to get in. The carpets were coming up at the seams in the bathroom. The king bed in the bedroom was comfy,but the hide away bed was extremely uncomfortable. All in all this motel needs a major overall and friendlier front desk staff. They made us feel like we were intruding.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Last weekend, we checked into this hotel, located right across the street from the old West Yellowstone depot and a stone's throw from the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center. Our room key didn't work! The green light went on, but we could not enter. We went back to the front desk and our lovely concierge said, yes, that happens sometimes -- a ghost in this old hotel prevents entry. She gave us a new room, amazing upgrade with a Jacuzzi. Anyway, the people here were absolutely lovely, the room great, the Jacuzzi a delight. I think I will never stay anywhere else in West Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Call ahead, and ask for a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wundersmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I didn't make it past the registration desk when I asked about prices for an overnight stay for two people. If you are traveling on a budget (who isn't these days?) then I would recommend that you not waste time inquiring here. There are less expensive and just as nice hotels/motels in the West Yellowstone area. Nothing wrong with the property or location. I just had issues with the price and chose to stay at another facility "just around the corner."

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FKAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

a very nice clean, comfortable place to stay outside the Park - so close to the West Gate - with very modern amenities, nice restaurant and bar, gift shop and a very interesting exhibition of a Pullman Palace Car - real restored car built in the beginning of the 20th century.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globe-trotter-040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Check in...
I have over 200 nights this year in Priority Club hotels this year and I do covet my Platinum status and it isn't that I demand any kind of extras but I do like being treated as a VERY good customer. I am not saying that all customers shouldn't be treated well, but when we checked in there was a tray of cookies and juice sitting out in the lobby, my Dad who was traveling with me picked up a cookie and poured himself a glass of the juice while I was doing the check in... he was promptly informed by one of the staff that the cookies were for a tour group and not the general public. She was RUDE about it and immediately rolled the tray away. If you set out stuff to eat in the LOBBY of a hotel, expect people checking in to snag one. If they didn't want them going to the general public they shouldn't have had them where they did.

The room...
Not bad, two queen beds and a decent room, it was dated but still serviceable. Housekeeping was good.

The Restaurant...
Food was decent, but PRICEY

The Internet...
The hotel claims that they have all the bandwidth they can get... I call horse puckey on that. The connection is miserably slow at best and non existent at worse. The problem is simply not enough bandwidth for the amount of guests... easy problem to solve... just buy more bandwidth.

Bottom Line...
I wouldn't stay here again, not even on points... this hotel is 25000 Priority Club points a night. Crappy Internet speeds and the rude staff at check in really chapped my rear.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FEMAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We have stayed here a few times in recent years and have stayed at several other motels/hotels in West Yell ever since 1969. During this stay, we received an indifferent welcome, and encountered a room with several issues. The water temp in the shower would not stay set, it was either too hot or too cold, it wouldn't hold a setting between the two extremes. The bathroom had a noisy exhaust fan, the a/c unit could not be set for 'fan only'. the work desk drawer was broken and had splinters on the bottom edge right where your legs go under the desk. The internet connection was slow, especially in the evenings, one of the front desk staff told us that this slow-down it is a "town-wide problem". All things considered, the price we paid for this room was too much for the value we received.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 315 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $102 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Yellowstone 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the premier destination for Yellowstone family vacations, memorable meetings, conventions, weddings, and corporate retreats. Amenities include renovated guest rooms and suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges and free WiFi. Our full service restaurant offers Montana cuisine and a full bar. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing