We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we expected !”
Review of Lazy G Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy G Motel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've just returned from 2 weeks in Yellowstone and Tetons, and having been here before realized we needed to stay at three sites to minimize driving and maximize time for hikes and wildlife watching. We chose Jackson Lake Lodge for the Tetons, and the Alpine Motel in Cooke City particularly for the Lamar Valley, both of which met our expectations. I was less keen to stay in West Yellowstone as a base to visit that side of YSNP, as we prefer more remote locations to a busy tourist town, but booked the Lazy G based on a recommendation from Dutch friends with similar interests. This motel was even better than we expected, being located on the quiet edge of town, with a warm welcome and extremely comfortable spacious very well maintained accommodation. In fact we thought it was the best motel we'd stayed in ! We made the most of the facilities in West Yellowstone - including the laundry and pancake house around the corner ! But as there was so much wildlife to photograph in the Lamar Valley, including a grizzly mum with 3 cubs feeding on a bison carcass all day, we did end up driving back there twice - 3-4 hr round trip - but it was worth it - so much for planning !

Room Tip: We were on the second floor - which was v quiet and also gave the opportunity to sit out in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights while we were visiting Yellowstone National Park. It is an old style motel that is clean, in a good location and suited our needs well. Our tour bus picked us up at the door, two good restaurants were in walking distance (although we didn't walk), and Janice, the owner was very pleasant and accommodating. No air conditioner but the temps were quite comfy without it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margy8100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here in August. The staff are the owners and go that extra for you. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a picnic area with a grill. It's like the old motels with up to date services. It's far enough from the noise of the town but within walking distance to anything. I definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the office has less car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlh2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give this hotel a try and we were not disappointed. It is in the town but located away from the main streets. We booked a two bedroom unit (although we only needed one bed) because that is all they had available when I called.) This unit had a queen bedroom and a two-double bedroom as well as a spacious sitting room with a couch and table. A kitchenette was available for extra $$$ but we did not need that. The rooms were very clean and neat. For the price, this is a good deal in West Yellowstone. I booked about two months in advance, so if you are interested, you need to call early, We stayed three nights and every night the motel was full. We would return to this motel, if we went back to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAF4616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family friends and I came here this summer and we were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the staff here
I forgot to ask for their names, but thanks so much for sending my post cards!
I think its a family run business and they were just lovely, answering all our questions and lending us some stuff, overall making us feel very welcome
The rooms varied in size, we got a larger one where our family friends got a smaller one, but we were out hiking the whole day anyway and didn't need the space
There's also a lovely BBQ and picnic area in the middle and we had delicious, money saving steak on a few nights !
The place is a bit of a walk from the main part of town but you go to Yellowstone to be active anyways, so its not much of a problem

Thanks again to you guys for helping us have a wonderful, wonderful trip !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I visited Lazy G and Yellowstone Park for 5 days in late July. For $85 a day we had a wonderful, clean, relaxing experience with hosts and staff that truly go the extra mile to make one's stay as enjoyable as possible. The accomodations were as clean, comfortable and modern as pictured, with little pleasant surprises thrown in by the hosts. Any needed info about the town of West Yellowstone, the National Park or the surrounding area is supplied and more. We noticed the same consideration and care applied to every guest, whether single, a couple or a family. My wife and I truly hated to leave the motel. On our 16 day trip we booked seven other motels, all national chains and more expensive. In too many cases something was not working, too much "wear & tear" or serious communication problems. None of these applied to the Lazy G or its staff. We're already telling others who plan to see Yellowsone.

Room Tip: "On our trip we stayed in seven other motels with cable or satellite dish, all national chains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simple & clean, and that's just what we needed. We got their last queen bed room and they added a roll-away bed for our grandson. DISH TV which we barely turned on.
No A/C was no problem, it was 40 degrees outside in the morning.
We stayed two nights and found the location and price to be great.
We walked two blocks to the Geyser restaurant for a nice dinner and a beer,
and walked a block the other direction for a nice breakfast
at the Running Bear Pancake House.
I was happy to be a few blocks away from the downtown traffic and noise.
Free coffee in the morning and a frozen jug of water to put in your cooler,
seemed like a clean, not fancy, place to stay.
A good value.

Room Tip: No pool or special amenities, but we were there to see Yellowstone Park, and did the best we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy G Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy G Motel

Address: 123 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $76 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lazy g Hotel West Yellowstone
Lazy g West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing