We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like Being at Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy G Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy G Motel
Save
You added Lazy G Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
West Coxsackie, Ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like Being at Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took our younger son on a trip to Yellowstone as a sort of treat for him before impending surgery. We couldn't find two rooms for the length of time we wanted, so when the Lazy G offered us a 2B/2BA house at a great price, we decided to try something new. It was wonderful! The house had two good-sized bedrooms, two baths, a big kitchen and large LR area with fireplace and two couches. So cozy, so comfortable, and so homey coming back from each day in the park. The owner was extremely accommodating and helpful, especially pointing us in the direction of the Outlet, where we all got jackets because we hadn't brought any - foolish us - and were freezing - and we got them for $10 each because the Smalls weren the ones left over and not selling. Lucky us to be three small people! When we were leaving, the owners were putting in a new stove and refrigerator, and are planning more upgrades, although it was perfect the way it was for us. We would not hesitate to return there in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom2cjnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    94
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
139
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I must say I could not disagree more with the review below by 1happyrover. This hotel is near perfect for what it is. To disparage it by claiming it is not a "high end quality hotel experience" is like saying you didn't get a Rolls-Royce when you rented a Toyota. We were probably there during the same time because we saw the guys outside their room but they were friendly and very considerate, they did play some music but it was unobtrusive and stopped at an early hour.

We truly enjoyed our 6 nights at the Lazy G. Janice, the owner, has her guests' comfort and convenience as a priority. We stayed in Room #1, next to the road, and were very happy with it and the kitchenette. Even being next to the road, it was extremely quiet. Yes, it is a bit retro (but not nearly as much as some places I've seen) but clean, well-thought out, and comfortably furnished. Although we turned it on exactly once, our room had a new flat-screen TV and excellent wi-fi access. We thought it was lovely.

We cooked some very good meals in our immaculate and well-equipped kitchenette and enjoyed the convenience of eating on our own schedule. We were offered advice on where to go/eat, loaned hiking books, and in general made to felt that the family running the motel were there to give us any help we needed.

Additionally, even though temperatures were down to the 20's and 30's at night, the room was incredibly well insulated and we didn't have to even use the heater. The bed was very comfortable for us, and we ARE middle-aged!

I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a family-run, quality, reasonably priced motel away from the relative bustle of the main area of W. Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corisline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Yellowstone Park. Given the number of times we've visited West Yellowstone, I am aware that it's generally not possible to find a high end quality hotel or motel experience. I assume, given the lack of competition in the area, there is simply no incentive for hoteliers to go overboard on room quality.

Understanding the basic hotel standards in the area, we decided to try accomodations that were not part of a major chain in the hopes that perhaps it may be a unique personalized experience. With that in mind, we checked the West Yellowstone hotel reviews and decided on the Lazy G.

I'll start with the positives. The room was clean and the owners and their hard working and genuinely friendly manner saved this review from a "poor" rating because the room we were in was like stepping into a time machine and not in a good way.

The few photos that are on-line give the impression that the rooms have a rustic lodge appeal which is rather fitting in Yellowstone but in person, what we discovered was more reminiscent of 1970s basement panelling; the room felt dark and oppressive.

The decor wasn't grubby but it was so dated (an old tv, vintage push button phone, keys for the door instead of a card readers, old tables and chairs, a 70s lamp, granny curtains and bedding) that the level of cleanliness came secondary to the overall impression. The beds we were in were old and my husband and I barely slept. I am neither middle aged or elderly and I woke up with aches. The room could truly benefit from a complete refurbishment but minimally a comfortable bed is essential.

I assume the hotel is frequented by locals in the area because when we would return to our room there were hotel guests parked outside our hotel door, playing music and having a bbq with the owners. At times, it felt like we were infringing on their space and we certainly couldn't open our front window without having the activity outside sound like it was occuring in our room.

I cannot reconcile the overly enthusiastic reviews against the experience we had because it just did not measure up to the qualitive comments, however, I do give credit again for the fact that it is a family business run by people who took care to be welcoming and ensure the room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1happyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa,AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We decided at the last minute to stay in West Yellowstone. They had a vacancy and we were pleasantly surprised by how clean the motel was. Friendly manager gave us advice on where to find the essentials around town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice, old school type motel. Clean and well maintained. Pleasant staff. Away from the busy West Yellowstone commercial area, which is a plus for me. The neighborhood is a mix of residential and commercial. Commercial area is only a few blocks away. Good all around value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcrochny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here in Sept 2012. Perfect little spot at the west end of town - away from all the hustle and bustle of the main area of town. Room was very quaint and clean. The family run business is who we personally like to support and this is definitely one! The staff were all friendly and helpful. This motel has the basic needs. If you are wanting something fancy then look elsewhere. If you want somewhere, where you feel welcome and a clean room to sleep at night......look no further! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishfamilyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I totally agree with the previous post, anybody that comes to a rustic place like Yellowstone and focuses more on their room amenities than sightseeing doesn't have their priorities straight, specially for the price. When I first visited Yellowstone well over 25 years ago we stayed at Lazy G. and have for the 3 or 4 times we've returned to Yellowstone since then. Back then everybody wanted to stay in the fancier downtown/tourist hotels and nobody knew about this off-the-main drag, low-budget Mom & Pop place. I can't believe its now rated the #2 motel in West Yellowstone on TA. Obviously word has gotten out. Of course there's been room upgrades and personnel changes over the years/decades, but the helpful staff and relaxed, cozy atmosphere has remained consistant thruout the years/decades. Our knotty-pine wood paneled room this time was as clean as ever and I see they still hand out the sacks of toiletries and free coffee & tea in the lobby. Hope this place is around for decades to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#8 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#18 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#4 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy G Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy G Motel

Property: Lazy G Motel
Address: 123 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lazy g Hotel West Yellowstone
Lazy g West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing