We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great two days”
Review of Lazy G Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy G Motel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great two days”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We love going to West Yellowstone every year in September.. However this year I talked my husband into going the first of June for a couple of days. The place we generally stay was booked, however they did have one room left and wanted $189.00 per night. My husband and I were just going for a couple of days and was limited to funds on this trip..So I decided to give Lazy G Motel a call and I was so excited that it was going to cost us for two nights what one night at the other place was going to cost us.. My husband wasn't impressed he thought I had booked a dump and was not happy, on our way there we were running late due to our granddaughter wanted to go and we had to keep stopping for her. I called the hotel around 7:30 PM and the owner was really nice about us showing up late. She had our room ready as she promised and my husband's mouth fell to the floor he loved the motel it had plenty of room and our granddaughter even had a bed on the couch..My husband loved how clean it was and how friendly everyone was with out spending a lot of money...We probably will be staying there again as long as there is a room.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppetersen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    100
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
145
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Its a motel, so don't expect fancy sheets and hardwood floors, but it was great. We spent all day in the Park and were thrilled to have a comfortable, clean room at a great rate. The lady who checked us in was so friendly. She even printed out a bunch of emails for my boyfriend, free of charge! West Yellowstone is a cute town and the Lazy G was perfect. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our Yellowstone trip was quite last minute so we missed out on getting any lodges inside the park. Based on TripAdvisor reviews we found Lazy G and booked it over the phone. Janice our host was very gracious and the booking was hassle-free. The location of Lazy G is very convenient; about 8 blocks away from the West Yellowstone park entrance. Upon arriving we were given a room on the second floor along with a small kit containing toothpaste, men's gel, deodorant and body wash. Me and my husband just flipped over the rustic decor and how clean and spacious the room was! Janice and Yuni (I may have her name wrong,sorry!) are very nice and helpful. They gave us tips on what were the best places to eat in West Yellowstone which were spot on! We stayed at Lazy G for 4 days with our used linens replaced and room cleaned everyday. Although there wasn't a coffeemaker in the room; there was hot coffee and tea served in the office everyday between 7 AM - 10 PM. At such reasonable rates we couldn't have asked for more! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lazy G :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shivani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed by this motel. It isn't fancy, but you can tell by cleanliness of the rooms that the owner takes great pride in their establishment. In addition, the owners are friendly and helpful. We had to leave earlier then planned and the owner was kind enough to let us out of our reservation early with no penalty. Definitely the nicest motel I've ever stayed at!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ringhal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this Motel last week. The location of this Motel is pretty good, as it is just 10 mins from the West YellowStone Gate. Since we were planning to spend 95% of our time in the park, all we needed was a clean and comfortable place to stay, at a low cost.

Lazy G Motel was perfect in that sense. Our room was clean, well kept everyday and with everything in it, EXCEPT for a microwave. It was an extremely very cold weekend and it would have been nice to have something to warm our morning tea and food at night.

We had no problems whatsoever at this place. The neighbourhood is good (lotsa restaurants around) and peaceful.

For the price, this place was worth it...

Room Tip: If you are planning to travel in Summer (July - August ), call them atleast 3 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville,va
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had no reservations for Memorial Day weekend since we didn't know if Yellowstone would be open . 2 sisters and a brother, traveling together. I had no idea how many motels were in W. Yellowstone and had already tried 3 motels when I found a listing for the Lazy G on the internet. I called and spoke to Janice, the owner. She was very nice and helped me book 2 rooms but the room with 2 beds was upstairs, a hardship for my sister, and my brother was going to have to switch rooms for a second night's stay. However, the Trip advisor rating was excellent so I booked the two rooms. When we got there Janice told us she had a 2 bedroom unit with a small sitting room and shared bath on the first floor so we took that and saved quite a bit of money.
The unit was immaculately clean, the beds super comfortable, and the area very quiet. Janice also gave us nice little "goodie bags" with toiletries, a nice touch.
We were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling through Yellowstone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerDanville_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at the Lazy G based on reviews from TripAdvisor. The reviews were on target!!! I was able to get a room without a reservation during an off-season visit to Yellowstone. From the 2 wonderful ladies in the front desk to the very clean motel room, I enjoyed my short 1 night visit there. There was coffee offered in the lobby in the morning, but I passed on that for a sit down restaurant for breakfast. Again the ladies working the office recommended a local place just 2 blocks down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UncleDavid_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy G Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy G Motel

Property: Lazy G Motel
Address: 123 Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lazy g Hotel West Yellowstone
Lazy g West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing