We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait & Switch Hotel - be wary of purchasing online reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Nevada
1 review
“Bait & Switch Hotel - be wary of purchasing online reservation”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Anyone who purchases "online" is not put in the newer section of hotel. Online reservations are put in the "economy" section which is the older portion of the property. If you want the more modern section of the motel, they will charge you more. I paid for $10 more per child to be part of my reservation, but when you get here the "free" breakfast is only for adults in the adjacent restaurant. Beware of the "free" breakfast since it doesn't cover kids, drinks, tax or gratuity...each morning our "free" breakfast has been around $25.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaXtripx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    145
    164
    95
    62
See reviews for
290
148
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We had fantastic stay at the Days Inn at West Yellowstone. The room was nice with free WiFi in the room. The hotel was convenient (walking distance) to the local grocery stores and restaurants plus only a little over a mile to the Yellowstone entrance.

We got 2 free vouchers daily for a big breakfast at the Trappers Restaurant. We had 2 adults, a 13 year old, and a 10 year old. We ended up getting the 2 free meals then ordering 2 extra sides of a single egg. We shared the has sides and this breakfast definitely filled us up. Trappers is only open for breakfast but it is definitely good.

The pool with the waterslide slide was a great way to relax after a day in the park. The kids had a ball on the indoor water slide.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have to ask too much of them but they always had a smile.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartrobing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Iam not sure why this hotel is rated pretty lowly in West Yellowstone. We booked a couple of rooms during the Memorial Day Holiday period -- one a 2 bedroomed suite and another with 2 Queen beds.

Check-in was very smooth and the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The rooms were large, clean and well maintained. However the room with 2 X Queen did not have a fridge+micro - which was a bit of a let down.

The hotel provided complimentary breakfast coupons for 2 persons per room, in the adjacent restaurant -- which was a bit funny because we had to purchase breakfast for our kids.

The swimming pool and the water slide and hot spa were a big hit for us and the kids after a strenuous day in the Park. We only hoped that it was open atleast till 11pm !!!

Overall a very satisfying experience..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debadatt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I made a last minute one night reservation for the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, and Day's Inn, at $62, was by far the least expensive hotel available.

The hotel was clean enough. The staff seemed overworked/ frazzled (busy weekend). The hallways felt dark and claustrophobic, and animal heads were all over the place (elk and deer?). The room felt like a Motel 6 -- cheap furnishings, plain white walls, and only a very small window. The bathroom tub had one of those cheap, plastic shower enclosures, and the toilet had the thinnest, flimsiest seat I've ever seen. There really wasn't anything particularly wrong with the place, it just felt very cheap. Mostly, I'd say it was just depressing.

The hotel had wireless internet, but I was never able to get it working properly, so I gave up.

The rate included a free breakfast at the adjacent restaurant -- 2 eggs, hash browns, toast and bacon. Like the hallways, the restaurant had several animal heads mounted around the place, along with pelts from various animals. Some might find that setting unappetizing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

I am sitting in room 329 in this motel right now as I write this. I'm in W. Yellowstone again this year snowmobiling and I chose the Days Inn this year after staying at the Three Bear Lodge last year. The TBL was mediocre at best, but while here last year I checked out the Days Inn and it looked clean, the staff were friendly and the location is ideal for access to the park & snowmobile trails.

This room is clean, the front desk and housekeeping staff are friendly, the decor is modern, street noise is minimal and the beds are comfortable. While here, I spend very little time in my room since I'm here to enjoy the outdoors. As long as the beds are comfortable, the room is clean and staff helpful, then I'm happy.

We also rented snowmobiles from the Polaris dealership across the street, which I think is affiliated with the Days Inn. The staff there were EXTREMELY helpful. Our mechanic, Jeremy, was an excellent source of information about the local trails and was always quick to get us fueled, oiled and back out on the trails.

I will definitely stay here again next year.

I'll also shoot some video of our room and post it later.

P.S. If you go into the park, I highly recommend Scott Barlow as a tour guide. Not only is he friendly, but his knowledge of the park and nature is astounding.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews, but this hotel was a good value. We stayed in the older portion that most people complained about. We got a great rate compared to what is typical for the area. (over $35 less per night than we usually pay at a nearby hotel in West Yellowstone). As for the staff, most were nice, one desk clerk was a bit crabby. The pool with waterslide was a big hit with the kids. The hot tubs were pretty standard hotel hot tubs with the usual foam, but not dirty. The breakfast policy is 2 free breakfast coupons per room per day, no matter how many people are staying in the room. The selection available for the coupon is limited, but made to order, and beats the standard continental type choices. You do have to pay for beverages. If you want "free" breakfast, you'll pay more for the room at other locations. The hallway was concrete, it is obvious that it had once been the type of motel where you park in front of your door, then at some point it was remodeled and an exterior wall was added creating a hallway. No one in our party minded it at all, because it had easy access to the outside where we had our snowmobiles, but provided a nice windbreak as opposed to having the door open directly outside. The room was not brand new looking, but was clean, not shabby, and sufficient to meet our needs. If you are looking for a hotel room that you are planning to spend a lot of time in, then you might want more. But if you are in West Yellowstone, why would you want to hang out in a motel room when there is so much fun stuff to do all around you? This stay lived up to the bargain rate plus some. Overall, the stay was good, and we will stay again.

  • Liked — Waterslide & price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank L00king4sn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We were wary of staying here because of all of the bad reviews. My brother had stayed here and his kids loved the pool so much that they insisted that we all stay here for our vacation. We stayed in the "off season" and it wasn't as expensive as summer fares. They were very accommodating for our large group. They even let us take pizzas into a conference room to eat all together. While the rooms weren't immaculate, they were quite clean.

The pool is a HIT! We played for 2 hours and the kids could have played longer. The slide was even fun for the adults.

Breakfast was good with great service. We didn't get enough coupons for our whole group but the adults could eat.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of Days Inn.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The wad of hair on the floor in our room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelsavy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Days Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 301 Madison Avenue, PO Box 1110, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn West Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Yellowstone, the Days Inn West Yellowstone offers you the best in resort accommodations. Our spacious and well-appointed rooms include many amenities to make every guest feel at home. All rooms have microwave and mini fridge. Our on-site Trapper's Restaurant is open daily from 6:30 am - 11:30 am, and offers one of the best breakfasts in town. No matter what season you choose to visit, one call does it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing