We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to stay somewhere else”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Plan to stay somewhere else”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

For the price this hotel is not worth it. I stayed only one night here thankfully as I had reservations for the next two nights at The One Horse Hotel next door to this property. I was unable to get all 3 nights together even though I booked 3 months in advance. This Best Western is run down and overpriced. They can do this because of the crowds of people visiting Yellowstone. The room Smelled bad and bed was very uncomfortable. The breakfast area is very small and hotel is full so you can picture what trying to get breakfast is like. Considering that I paid half as much per night for the hotel next door and their rooms were nicer I suggest book early and avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CWG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We just completed a complete renovation of all our rooms this summer with new carpet, new granite vanities, new wall vinyl, new window valances and new lighting package. We want all our guests to find our rooms comfortable, clean and updated. Since we just completed this renovation this summer I am curious what you found run down about your room. If you would like to discuss this please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We throughly enjoyed our fourth year of staying at Cross-Winds. We stay there each time we go to Yellowstone National Park. The staff is consistently friendly, helpful, and caring. The guest rooms are clean, well maintained, and comfortable. We love how the management consistently spends money on refurbishment and upgrades. We absolutely plan to stay at Cross-Winds next time we go back to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! We love to have repeat guests.

Please watch for a little something in the mail as a token of our appreciation for your repeat business.

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

very close to west entrance of Yellowstone Park. Close walk to restaurants and shops. Clean enough; shower curtain moldy but sure staff took care of it after we told front office Slow internet and breakfast room felt crowded in the tiny space.. Staff helpful in finding good restaurant. We like chinese and the red Lotus had great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RangerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree, our breakfast area can get crowded. We do hope to expand that area soon so that we can provide much needed space for our guests and also to expand our breakfast bar.

I hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 days in may enjoyed our stay and loved walking throughout town.enjoyed the breakfast and the staff runing the hotel.If you needed anything they were more than happy to help you.we love how close to the park it was...we enjoyed the Chinese restaurant on the right of main st ( the outher on the left was no no no good) the was 6 of us all couples and we all really enjoyed the hotel and down town.went and seen the bears and the Wolfe's. That money is for a good cause. Do not speed in the park.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be our guest again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher,Il
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we checked into this hotel I thought maybe I made a mistake but it turned out to be a great experience. Parking was good and the location is great.You can walk anywhere you need to go around town. The room was a nice size, quiet, clean and comfy. We had good wifi but poor phone service if any.The bathroom was clean but small with great water pressure. The breakfast was plenty and they had tables outside for the over flow. ( with heat). The Pool was large and clean but the jets on the hot tub were weak. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaBeecher_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am thrilled that you would stay here again if you are in the area.

We love to have repeat guests! I wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Rooms were clean but small. The staff were helpful and friendly.Very small eating area for breakfast.I had to eat one day standing and the second day in my room. The Location to the park was very good. When I paid for the room at the end of our stay i was surprised to see a large Attraction Fee added to my bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We agree, our breakfast area can get crowded. We do hope to remodel that area soon and expand it so that we can provide some much needed space for a larger buffet and more room for our valued guests.

I am unsure what the "attraction fee" is that you are referring to? We do have tax in West Yellowstone but that is the only additional charge that would have been added to your bill. There is a resort tax, an accommodation tax and a tourism tax. All of these are mandated by law and we have no choice but to charge them and then we have to pay those taxes to the appropriate authority. If you have any questions about these charges please contact the hotel and as for Anna and I will explain those to you.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very pricy ,poor staff attitude, breakfast nothing to brag about . Will not return to this location. nor would i recomand it to friends ,and relatives.stayed at best western plus in Misula ,where our experience was great,good food for breakfast ,out standing staff ,rooms very nicely decorated,and all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to provide as much variety in breakfast as we can fit within the limited space that we have. It is a free continental breakfast and we have expanded that to include several hot items. We do hope to remodel our breakfast area which will provide more room for a larger buffet and more room for guests to move around.

We have just completed an entire remodel of our rooms, new carpet, new wall vinyl, new granite vanities, new lighting package so we are hopeful you found that pleasing. Our price is competitive, if not lower than most comparable properties in town during this time of year.

Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing