We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good place to stop and rest. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Handicap room was good, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with hot and cold items. We were going to stay two nights but the weather was raining and cold and was going to be the same for on our second night. The staff was understanding about the raining weather and lets cancel the second night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will choose us to meet your lodging needs.

I am sorry it was rainy when you were here, it actually hasn't stopped raining and continues to downpour so it's just a wet September I guess. We certainly understand when people need to check out early and we always accommodate those requests without penalizing the guest.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked this motel because of its strategic location and because we know what to expect from a Best Western. From this motel you can easily enter Yellowstone National Park and spend a day driving around the upper loop and then return the next day to travel the lower loop. The Cross WInds costs more than our $100 a day lodging budget, but we were able to use loyalty points for one night. In addition to the convenient location, it met my criteria for a comfy stay: cleanliness (even a wipeable TV remote); good bedding; free internet access and a flat screened TV. In addition, I liked the room decor -- a pine-cone patterned bed scarf placed on the diagonal and Yellowstone posters on the walls. The breakfast was what I would normally have at home. The exterior is ho hum, but that certainly didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to see you again! It's nice to hear that people like our choice in bed skirts and artwork, we tried to tailor our room décor to the Yellowstone Park experience the best that we could.

We are hopeful that we will be able to complete some upgrades over the next couple of years and we would love to have our previous guests stay with us again and let us know how we did.

Until next time we wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Best Western Crosswinds Motor Inn was a great stay for three nights while we toured our Yellowstone National Park. We had spent the day before check-in touring our Grand Teton National park. Both of these parks are absolutely wondrous and amazing. We enjoyed everything and hiked until we could hike no more, even in the rain all one day. Check-in was fast and efficient; we were assigned a room, second floor farthest from a main street which did have quite a bit of truck traffic. Room was perfect for us and very quiet. All the needed amenities were there along with a spacious room with very comfortable queen size beds, several pillows, very clean bathroom with soaps and shampoos provided. Our favorite type of A/C was there, one in which no cycling is heard but the quiet fan runs constantly. The only drawback to this nice motel was the very small breakfast room which could not even approach accommodating the full house crowd. People bumping into each other, waiting to sit at a very limited number of tables.. Second morning breakfast was a repeat with now stale biscuits. Sausage gravy was good. Third morning we had to skip because the small room was overflowing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESD1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We agree, our breakfast area can get crowded. We are planning some upgrades in the near future and our goal is to expand and remodel the breakfast area and lobby. If the plans come to fruition it will be an amazing transformation and I certainly hope that you will come visit us again and let us know how we did with our remodel.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had an issue with an employee of the hotel one evening. Within minutes, the general manager arrived from his home offsite. He not only listened to our concerns, but he resolved the problem in a way that was totally over and above our expectations. In addition, the motel is conveniently located to Yellowstone, and is extremely well taken care of. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Yellowstone. I would also like to say we stayed five nights there, and the whole experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! John was very happy to help you and he was very glad to read this review and to know that you were satisfied with his response to your issues.

We want to let you know that we have some upgrades planned for the motel and we certainly hope that if you are ever in the area again you will allow us the pleasure of serving your lodging needs.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Terrible beds. Noise level was unbelievable. Most of the reception staff could not speak nor understand English. Air conditioner/room had an odor that we could not eliminate. Breakfast was acceptable but could have been much better. Ran out of 2% milk and only had skim milk (blue water). Will plan farther ahead and stay someplace (anyplace) else next trip. Receptionist Jacqie Smith was the only highlight of the stay. She did everything she could to make guest comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We apologize you were not happy with your stay. Bed and pillow preference are something that vary from person to person. We have many people who actually ask to purchase our pillows and love our beds. Best Western mandates which beds and pillows we are allowed to use so we follow their standards and do our best to ensure that all guests are comfortable.

We do have some upgrades planned for the near future so I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Didn't care for this hotel in West Yellowstone. It wasn't very clean, it was like staying at grandmas, funny smell in room, old looking not up to date. The check in was fine, they were friendly and helpful. Husband ate breakfast, he said it was ok. The shower curtain need to be replaced. The shower head was too high to reach to adjust. carpets needed cleaning and the drapes were old, again needed updating. No forget me supplies in the room, like shampoo. when I tried to get a tissue the whole box came out, like they were re stuffed in there. tub and toilet were combined and very tiny. It was also very over priced compared to the Best Western we stayed in the night before at Twin Falls Idaho. This Best Western really needs to be a do over. We wouldn't stay here again. But it wasn't as bad as the hotel we got stuck with going home. Never stay at a Quality Inn, It was horrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry you weren't satisfied with your stay, we do understand that the prices in West Yellowstone are high during our peak season. When guests try to compare motels to other cities it can seem like all properties here in town are overpriced but it's important to remember that we are a resort area. Resort area's during peak season are always priced high due to the fact that we only have 4 months to make an entire years worth of income. This is the case with all properties here, not just ours.

We do have some upgrades planned for the near future so I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will give us another try.

Thank you again for your business, we do appreciate hearing from all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely staff when checking in - even advised that we got a discount seeing as we had a Harley Davidson motorbike - no one else has told us. Best pool & hot tub so far - very warm. Lovely breakfast too. Room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and stay with us again!

Until next time we wish you safe travels on all your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing