We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Yellowstone”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Didn't care for this hotel in West Yellowstone. It wasn't very clean, it was like staying at grandmas, funny smell in room, old looking not up to date. The check in was fine, they were friendly and helpful. Husband ate breakfast, he said it was ok. The shower curtain need to be replaced. The shower head was too high to reach to adjust. carpets needed cleaning and the drapes were old, again needed updating. No forget me supplies in the room, like shampoo. when I tried to get a tissue the whole box came out, like they were re stuffed in there. tub and toilet were combined and very tiny. It was also very over priced compared to the Best Western we stayed in the night before at Twin Falls Idaho. This Best Western really needs to be a do over. We wouldn't stay here again. But it wasn't as bad as the hotel we got stuck with going home. Never stay at a Quality Inn, It was horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry you weren't satisfied with your stay, we do understand that the prices in West Yellowstone are high during our peak season. When guests try to compare motels to other cities it can seem like all properties here in town are overpriced but it's important to remember that we are a resort area. Resort area's during peak season are always priced high due to the fact that we only have 4 months to make an entire years worth of income. This is the case with all properties here, not just ours.

We do have some upgrades planned for the near future so I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will give us another try.

Thank you again for your business, we do appreciate hearing from all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Crosswinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely staff when checking in - even advised that we got a discount seeing as we had a Harley Davidson motorbike - no one else has told us. Best pool & hot tub so far - very warm. Lovely breakfast too. Room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and stay with us again!

Until next time we wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although the room was pricey, it wasn't any more expensive than others in the area for what we got, which included a room with a microwave and fridge, and a free full breakfast. And the staff was friendly, helpful, and ready to answer any questions about the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorsadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.

This is an expensive time of year in West Yellowstone as it is our peak tourist season however, we would love to invite you back in the off season or in Winter. If you want to experience a completely different Yellowstone Park, please come back and take a snowcoach or snowmobile trip in to the park in winter. It is an amazing experience and you will find room rates much more reasonable.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This provided everything we were looking for, as motorcycle tourers of Yellowstone National Park. We wanted close access to the park, secure parking, easy walk to restaurants/stores, facilities for doing our laundry, and a clean/comfortable place to stay. This place provided all of that. Also, a gas station is directly across the street, and management provided windshield cleaner and rags for cleaning our windshield. We liked this location better than the other 2 Best Westerns in town, as we could easily park right outside our room to keep an eye on the bike, and although only 1 block off the main street, it was quieter than being in the thick of tourist traffic. We'd definitely stay here again. There were several restaurants within a couple blocks. And this one was less expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing. You can't pay for a room that you didn't book. You can't cancel a reservation and put the room into your name. When it's discovered that you CAN pay for it, you can't claim the points to your own account--they go to the account of the person making the reservation.

Yep--it was a frusterating check-in experience and I felt for the people piling up behind us. In the end, the gentleman figured it all out and the rest of the stay was fine.

This is a chain room in a tourist destination at high season. In other words, it was pretty much what you expect from Best Western, but nothing exceptional. The room was fine, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast wasn't bad--even my gluten-intolerant spouse was satisified, though she had the wisdom to bring her own bread.

Nothing to fear, but nothing to cheer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay! I do apologize that you had some frustration at check in, we do have some new staff that are still learning.

I trust everything with your Best Western Rewards points was taken care, if it wasn't please feel free to contact the motel at 406-646-9557 and ask for me, Anna Stallings, and I will make sure that you get the points for your stay. Thank you for being a valued Best Western Rewards member!

I hope that if you are in the area again you will stay with us, we certainly value your business and appreciate the time you took to review us.

We wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was visiting Yellowstone and didn't make reservations ahead of time. Did not have many choices, the whole town had no vacancy. Was greeted at front desk with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Yum! The rooms were nice, had a good variety at breakfast and is dog friendly. Had a nice pool and jacuzzi. Room was over priced I think bcuz it was so close to yellowstone ended up being 200+ and our most expensive room on our road trip. Was a great find but not worth the price.

Room Tip: Maybe book ahead to try and get a cheaper price.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemini00215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area.

You visited us during peak season in Yellowstone, it is the most expensive time of year to visit but our prices are equal to or lower than most of our competition and we always try to provide competitive pricing. We love to encourage visitors to come back during off season to experience lower prices and fewer crowds, May and October are great times to visit if you don't mind the temperatures being a bit cooler and you will find much lower prices. Of course winter is a remarkable time to visit as well, keeping in mind that the only way to enter Yellowstone Park is via Snowcoach or Snowmobile, but it is an amazing experience and you will find the lowest motel prices of the year during winter season.

Again, thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business and would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

wow 3 best western within 1 block. we were lucky to get a room at the last minute. pricey, average rooms, clean. the pillows were the small big and overstuffed. the swimming pool and hot tub enclosed was very relaxing. I would definately make reservation before. breakfast was typical, again I find a tip jar at a complimatary breakfast, it seems everyone needs tips for doing there job. fresh fruit and yogurt was plentful. friendly staff they had cookies and granola bars which held us over till dinner.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor it can get noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we agree, our breakfast area can get crowded. As I've mentioned in previous responses we hope to have the opportunity to expand our breakfast area within the next year. We would love to be able to provide a large, more relaxed and spacious area for our guests to enjoy their breakfast.

A tip jar was not something we ever thought of having for our breakfast attendant however, at the request of many guests we were asked to place one there so that they could leave our attendant a tip. As with any customer service job, tips are appreciated but always voluntary so it never occurred to us that it may bother anyone, especially since it was at the request of guests that we placed it there. I apologize if you felt it inappropriate.

We do hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area. We wish you safe travels on all your journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $136 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing