We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're kidding me.”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Apple Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You're kidding me.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is not even in the same category as Motel 6. The room is dingy, stale, linen is dingy looking, furnishings are dated, carpets dirty, AC works some of the time, and if you call to report the problem staff will make you feel guilty for doing so. Breakfast is Luke warm at best, spend an extra $8 and stay at the desert inn across the street.

Room Tip: Do not BBQ place that has seating outside and looks to be authentic, it's a joke, overprice, und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_HarleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I apologize that you were not happy with your stay. It is not uncommon for many of the hotels in West Yellowstone to get negative comments in summer about pricing. West Yellowstone is a resort area and summer is our peak season. Our rates, like those of every other motel/hotel in West Yellowstone, are not reflective of the age, size or amenities, they are based simply on extremely limited supply and extraordinary demand due to the limited availability.

Our goal is to ensure all our guests are happy and satisfied during their stay with us, however, we realize that is unlikely. In those cases when we have a guest who is not satisfied with our property we are happy to share information about prices and availability of other lodging options in town and we always allow them to check out early without penalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
86
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
txwanab
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was better in person than online. Absolute perfect location to Yellowstone. It is actually better to stay at the West entrance. It's closer to everything u want to see. The room was very clean! The Mattresses looked newer. We had a larger dorm fridge & micro. A table & desk plus 2 sitting chairs. The continental breakfast was superior!! You will not be disappointed! The staff was extra super friendly. I wish we would have thought to leave a tip for them! There is always coffee in the lobby. We went to the indoor pool each night. The hot tub was a great way to relax after driving & walking in the park all day. There is a small park across the street. People would take their dogs for walks. There is 1 washer/dryer. You can walk across the street to a convenience store. And one block more there's a pizza shop that's really good(geyser I think). Plus one of the two grocery stores n town. It is about 2 miles to the Yellowstone West entrance. About 3 miles into the park is a big area for bison! We will definitely return if we visit again! There's not much view anywhere in the hotel, but it was only a place to sleep & eat.

Room Tip: If ur a southerner stay on the first floor. Climbing is not ur friend in altitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txwanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back again!

We are hopeful that within the next year we will have an expanded breakfast area and we really want our past guests to stop by after it's done and let us know what they think.

We hope to see you again and in the meantime we wish you safe travels on all your journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The staff gave us early check-in and late check-out due to the timing of our shuttle bus from/to Bozeman! That was very helpful! The room was clean and breakfast was good! The location is near Arby's, Geyser's restaurant, and a grocery store! The price was great! The even gave us a ride to the snowmobile rental company. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank blacosiberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you made it back home safely.

I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will stay with us!

We wish you safe travels always!

Anna Stallings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the most accommodating hotel I have ever enjoyed. They allowed us to check in early and check out late because of shuttle service timing, and drove us to snowmobile rental place, etc. The breakfast bar was very good, and one afternoon we enjoyed hot soup and fresh-baked cookies after a hard day of fun! The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a handicapped accessible room, and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I enjoyed talking with both of you! I'm glad you made it back to Mississippi safely. I hope if you are ever back in the Yellowstone area again that you will stay with us again.

I wish you safe travels on all your journeys!

Anna Stallings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed in other places over the years while snowmobiling in Yellowstone, but this place is the best. I love getting into a hot tub after a day of sledding! And the breakfast was great. Because I'm diabetic, I'm very aware of having protein at breakfast and that's not easy to find, but they have it. And everyone in our party enjoyed the cookies they bake daily. The price was a steal as far as I was concerned! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us such a great TripAdvisor review! We are very appreciative of all the feedback we get and it is wonderful to know that we are doing a good job. It's always important to keep assessing our guests needs so that we can meet and hopefully exceed them.

We are planning some renovations over the next year or so and are very excited for our repeat guests to see them and let us know how we did. We hope that you will be one of them! One of the things we hope to expand is our breakfast area. If we are able to do that we will be able to offer even more selection and allow for more space.

We wish you safe travels wherever your adventures take you.

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana, Usa
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The best was the continental breakfast. Good food with protein (hard to find). Enjoyed the hot tub. Friendly service. Good location. It was a great value. Rooms had easy access. Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be one of our many return guests.

We are planning some renovations over the next year or so and are very excited for our repeat guests to see them and let us know how we did. We hope that you will be one of them!

We wish you safe travels wherever your adventures take you.

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My brother and I stayed here early February to go snowmobiling in Yellowstone. It wasn't the fanciest hotel, but the rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly for pointing out what there is to do in town.(not much) Another nice touch was the hot chicken noodle soup available throughout the day to help ward off the chill of being at this elevation during winter. I would definitely stay again. A small warning to anyone who's never been to west yellowstone in the winter. They maintain a snow pack on most of the roads/parking lots to allow snowmobiles to get around town. We ended up just walking everywhere. It's not a large town so not a huge deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Crosswinds! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back and be our guest again.

We are planning some renovations over the next year or so and are very excited for our repeat guests to see them and let us know how we did. We hope that you will be one of them!

We wish you safe travels wherever your adventures take you.

Anna Stallings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing