We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

About what you would expect from an older, motor lodge type motel. Small room, small bathroom. One good feature was the sink/vanity outside of the bathroom. Makes getting ready in the morning easier for two people. I found the bed to be uncomfortable, too firm. This is a great location, though. A nice short walk into town. I found the staff to be very unfriendly. The only nice employee was Daniel who cleaned the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are planning some great renovations in the future and we would love for you to stay with us again and let us know how we did. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
77
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family had two rooms on the second floor. Rooms were very clean and nice. We ate breakfast at the breakfast room every morning. It was a little crowded, but if you go before 6:30, there seems to be plenty of tables. I used the internet computer at the front desk and had no problems. The internet is a little slower than I am used to, but I was able to do all the work I needed to do. We received fresh-baked cookies when we arrived. There is a park across the street and fast food restaurants too. Our entire family enjoyed the stay at Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Inn. We will stay there any time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor and away from the highway so that there will be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you SO much for reviewing our motel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!! We are planning some great improvements to the property so we hope that you will stay with us again and let us know what you think of them. We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited W. Yellowstone for a little over a week and enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, and the WiFi was good. The fresh-baked cookies were delicious, and we enjoyed the free breakfast and fruit/granola bars available all day. Jackie at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful-- and our housekeeper, Daniel, was great.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms facing the park are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashurbanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds. We are glad that you had a great stay! I will pass on your compliments to Jacquie and Daniel, they will be happy to hear that you were pleased with their service.

We are planning some wonderful improvements to the property and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will stay with us and let us know how we did! We bid you safe travels everywhere you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not sure if I have the right Best Western, but it was not the Weston. Don't remember any other name. Not much to really comment on. It was as billed. Room was the normal double size; room was clean; wifi worked well and was included in price as was breakfast with some extras...boiled eggs, belgian waffles and some fruit in addition to the normal fare. Stayed 2 nights -- it was ok for short term place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds. We are glad you had a good stay and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider staying with us. We have some wonderful improvements planned for the property and we are excited for repeat guests to see them when they are completed. We wish you safe travels everywhere you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The room was typical Best Western layout of the motor lodge category. There were no surprises; a nice clean room was offered. We stayed for four nights. The beds we had were on the firm side and there were four pillows for each bed. Our room had a microwave, a flat screen, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker and a refrigerator. The property is not new but is well maintained. Inside our room was an eclectic mix of furnishings. My only complaint here was the non adjustable desk chair (office depot special executive chair) that required my computer on my lap to type out other reviews. The facility does have an indoor pool area but we were simply too beat exploring the park to use it.

The staff were courteous and professional. Room staff were thorough in their cleaning each morning. The continental breakfast area was small and BW provided trays to take your food to your room just for this reason. Items were typical fare: hard boiled eggs, canned sausage gravy, heat-n-serve biscuits, two cereal selections, breads, french toast, and danish. This was complimented with apple juice, orange juice, milk, and two fruit selections. The coffee was not brewed but from the machine, however I could get my brewed cup within my room. There are also plenty of espresso shops in the area if the need for a really good cup of java were necessary.

Overall, our experience here was positive although I did not sleep well on our firm mattress. It was however, exactly as we expected. This was the most expensive Best Western I can recall staying in thanks to the area and the three separate taxing entities that added to the cost of the room. Our nightly rate of $168 came with an $18.20 discount but add the taxes in and our nightly total was $181.17.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kycoffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! We are planning some great improvements to the property and hope that you will stop by and see them if you are ever in our area again. We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier National Park, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

the rooms are very noise you can hear everything. the staff was very rude and when i called about our microwave being broke she was even ruder. the breakfast area is very small and the food was cold and not much varity. the house keepers leave evolpes asking for tips!!!!!!!!!!! the beds were not very comfy and its not what i expected for $150 a night! i honestly probaly wouldnt stay here again....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay here. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guests and it is disappointing to us that we failed to provide that to you.

As I have mentioned in many of my responses, we do have plans to expand our breakfast area and hope that project is completed by the end of this year. We have also purchased all new WiFi equipment and we are having that installed this week.

I will speak to the staff person on duty when you called regarding the microwave, we never want anyone to feel that our staff is not helpful.

Thank you for reviewing our motel. I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will give us another chance to improve your perception of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Thin walls is what I remember. And lots of noisy children running outside on the corridor.

Sleep was fine, though. And they had a hairdryer, refridgerator and coffee maker. It was fine. I didn't have the breakfast as I tried a local place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We appreciate your business!

I apologize for the noise that you were able to hear from children in the hallway. Many times children who are staying with us have been riding in cars for hours and hours, when they finally get out of the car and in to the motel they get excited about our pool and can be a little over exuberant. We do want to make sure everyone enjoys the experience here so if at any time there is an excessive amount of noise we welcome guests to contact our front desk and they will politely and professionally take care of the situation.

Again, thank you for staying with us! I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider choosing us. Even if you should choose one of our competitors please stop by and see the improvements we continue to make each year.

I wish you safe travels wherever life may lead you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#18 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#27 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#11 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crosswinds Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing