We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a motel, which somehow I missed when reserving”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It's a motel, which somehow I missed when reserving”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Thin walls is what I remember. And lots of noisy children running outside on the corridor.

Sleep was fine, though. And they had a hairdryer, refridgerator and coffee maker. It was fine. I didn't have the breakfast as I tried a local place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We appreciate your business!

I apologize for the noise that you were able to hear from children in the hallway. Many times children who are staying with us have been riding in cars for hours and hours, when they finally get out of the car and in to the motel they get excited about our pool and can be a little over exuberant. We do want to make sure everyone enjoys the experience here so if at any time there is an excessive amount of noise we welcome guests to contact our front desk and they will politely and professionally take care of the situation.

Again, thank you for staying with us! I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider choosing us. Even if you should choose one of our competitors please stop by and see the improvements we continue to make each year.

I wish you safe travels wherever life may lead you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    82
    66
    23
    13
See reviews for
84
94
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oskaloosa, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel goes above and beyond most with 6 plump pillows per bed, and hot chocolate chip cookies when you arrive! Very clean and comfortable accommodations. This was also a great motel for anyone traveling with pets. We had a door opening outside directly next to a park to walk your dog, and benches and tables to sit at. Very close to all the tourist shopping and food places with a 1-3 block easy to walk to area. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay!

We know that many people (including ourselves) love to travel with their 4 legged family members and we want to make that possible by providing a welcoming and convenient way to do that.

We are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience and we appreciate all opportunities to hear from those who stay with us on what we can do to make the stay more pleasant. I hope that if you are ever in our area again you will choose to stay with us. We make improvements each year and we are looking forward to hearing from our return guests as to how well we did with those improvements.

I wish you and yours safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, IA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good place to stay. Parking was pretty scarce, but we always managed. Breakfast choices were good, but the area provided was REALLY tiny and over-crowded. Wife & son went to the pool, it was OK, nothing major pro or con, but crowded! All in all, for a resort destination, this isn't a bad choice. Reasonable prices, decent room. Above average

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds. We are glad you had a great stay!

We understand the need for a larger breakfast space and we have submitted plans for expanding the area. We hope that they will be approved and that by the end of the year we will have that project completed.

I hope that you will be a returning guest if you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us again.

I wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our room was decent, fairly roomy with two queens, a microwave and refrigerator. As others have said, Internet is slow but they are awaiting some new piece of hardware that will fix that problem. Breakfast area very crowded but lots of selections from 4 types of juices, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, pastries and other bread and toppings. Hard to find a seat but there is seating outside, though it was very dusty and we didn't realize until our pants were covered with dust. Should be an easy remedy as there were two employees sitting at the front desk doing not much of anything most of the morning. They should be doing more to help out at breakfast areas and elsewhere, like cleaning off tables outside and inside as guests leave. They also lacked in customer service as it is so simple to just smile and be pleasant but they didn't seem interested in guest communication.

Parking is very tight and the lot fills up. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Like I said, I am sure you could do worse. We weren't really in the room much and it is a Best Western so our expectations weren't that high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. As I have mentioned in other reviews (and as you noted in your review) I have posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We love repeat guests and we certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Every summer in West Yellowstone we experience an extreme amount of pollen from the lodgepole pines that encompass our vast forests. The male cones produce huge quantities of yellow pollen in June and July. This yellow pollen is often seen in pools of rainwater around the park or at the edges of lakes and ponds and on our outdoor breakfast tables and guests vehicles :) I will mention to my staff that they should be extra diligent about cleaning those outdoor tables during this time.

Again, thank you for staying with us! We hope you return again to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Room was clean and standard Best western style. Internet never worked. Breakfast room was very crowded and limited number of items that kept running out. Very noisy. We could hear evry footstep on the floor above us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techmgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

As I have mentioned in other review responses and also posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Guests staying with us during peak season may experience the typical motel noise experienced when staying somewhere that is at full capacity. We do our best to minimize this whenever possible. As always, we love to have repeat guests and hope that at some point in the future you will stop by and see the improvements that I discussed above, even if you choose to stay elsewhere. We always welcome anyone who wishes to look at our rooms and see our new improvments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Edison, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, would never go again. Free parking and internet promised but internet never worked in room. They have 5 mbps internet for the premises hence nothing works, if you ask them they say come to front desk and use. However the front desk internet also does not work. Parking is really small for the premises and very narrow. If you come back to room late then it might happen that you would need to park on street. If incase you get parking you will be always scared to see a scratch next morning as the parking spots are very narrow.
Over crowded breakfast area. You wont get a place to stand also , forget about sitting and eating.
I would never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. As I have mentioned in other reviews and also posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The WiFi was so slow and crowded with people. It was bad. The breakfast room gets so crowded I think its against fire code. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieltrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. We have ordered new wi-fi equipment and access points and hope to have those received and installed soon. We are confident that this will ensure our guests have extremely fast internet service.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing