We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest Best Western in West Yellowstone”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cheapest Best Western in West Yellowstone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Room was clean and standard Best western style. Internet never worked. Breakfast room was very crowded and limited number of items that kept running out. Very noisy. We could hear evry footstep on the floor above us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techmgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

As I have mentioned in other review responses and also posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Guests staying with us during peak season may experience the typical motel noise experienced when staying somewhere that is at full capacity. We do our best to minimize this whenever possible. As always, we love to have repeat guests and hope that at some point in the future you will stop by and see the improvements that I discussed above, even if you choose to stay elsewhere. We always welcome anyone who wishes to look at our rooms and see our new improvments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    80
    66
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, would never go again. Free parking and internet promised but internet never worked in room. They have 5 mbps internet for the premises hence nothing works, if you ask them they say come to front desk and use. However the front desk internet also does not work. Parking is really small for the premises and very narrow. If you come back to room late then it might happen that you would need to park on street. If incase you get parking you will be always scared to see a scratch next morning as the parking spots are very narrow.
Over crowded breakfast area. You wont get a place to stand also , forget about sitting and eating.
I would never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. As I have mentioned in other reviews and also posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The WiFi was so slow and crowded with people. It was bad. The breakfast room gets so crowded I think its against fire code. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieltrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. We have ordered new wi-fi equipment and access points and hope to have those received and installed soon. We are confident that this will ensure our guests have extremely fast internet service.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed with our 2 kids for 3 nights. The room was very clean and roomy. Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Bathroom was small but clean. Had a fridge and microwave which is always a big plus when traveling with children. The pool area was nice. Fresh cookies upon check in was a nice bonus. The breakfast area does get crowded but they provide trays so you can take it back to your room which was what we did, so no problem there. Breakfast fare was pretty good. Pre-made cheese omelettes, toast, pre-made waffles, bagels, yogurt, muffins, danish, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs. It was nice to have some protein choices at a continental breakfast. It is located on the main road through town and our room faced the road so there was some noise at night from the trucks passing through town. The fan on the wall unit was helpful for some white noise. I would recommend a pair of ear plugs anyway because you can hear showers, etc. from other rooms. Nothing terribly obnoxious, just typical motel noise. Also, the wi-fi was either not working or extremely slow the whole time. Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. We have ordered a new piece of wi-fi equipment and have been assured that it will arrive to us within the next week and that it will fix the problems you experienced with the internet service.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

We love to have return guests so if you stay with us again please let us know you are a returning customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

When we checked in the staff was friendly, but once the money was 'in', it was not good.
In the morning there was no hot water, overcrowded breakfast and when we complained we were scuffed away with ' we had no other people complain'. Will NEVER go there again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel. I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay, we strive to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable experience with us.

We have submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel was close to the West Entrance, clean, inexpensive (considering it is West Yellowstone, $119/night), comes with a complimentary breakfast and has an indoor pool and hot tub.

The bedding was nice, beds were comfortable, TV was a small flat screen, rooms have microwave and fridge so you can save money on eating out in the city.

Hotel staff wasn't overly friendly. Breakfast was waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, juice, coffee...etc.

The Wi-Fi wasn't working when we were there which was a HUGE negative. Hot tub was 110 degrees...TOO HOT and the pool was a little chilly. And every time a neighbor turned on the sink you could hear the pipes in the walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimswithturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. We have ordered a new piece of wi-fi equipment and have been assured that it will arrive to us within the next week and that it will fix the problems you experienced with the internet service.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

No restroom in the lobby? Really? At check-in I was told just that, and that the employees had to leave the premises to answer the call of nature!!! Isn't there a law? I was then handed my room key and directed to my room at the end of the parking lot. The key didn't work, so I returned to the lobby, and a desk clerk accompanied me to my room with a functional key. At last.

I guess the renovations hadn't reached our end of the motel. The room smelled like a lot of rug deodorizer had been used, although the smell dissipated when we turned on the heat. The beds were clean and comfy with lots of new pillows, but the lamps and furniture were outdated. The bathroom was miniscule although there was plenty of hot water.

There was another couple in our party staying in the room next to ours who had an old, uncomfortable mattress with a depression in the middle. Didn't know about that until we were on the way home.

And I won't even get into the breakfast situation with cramped quarters and pseudo-healthy food options.

I've stayed at Best Westerns (among other chains) around the country, and this, by far, was the worst motel that I've stayed in. A tent pitched in the woods in the rain would be preferable. And to top it off, I had out-of-state guests that I was taking to Yellowstone - what an embarrassment.

Room Tip: Stay in Yellowstone - their cabins are quaint and cozy, and the price is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayTripper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older motel however there has been significant investment made each year to refurbish the property and we plan on continuing that commitment to make improvements in order to meet guest satisfaction. In fact, we have submitted plans to Best Western and the Town of West Yellowstone for expansion of our breakfast area and to remodel the lobby to include a public restroom. We are hopeful those plans will be approved and we can begin construction this November.

We always encourage guests to research the options available to them in order to meet their specific needs and desires. We understand not every motel is a good fit for every guest but our goal is to ensure that we always do the very best we can to meet and exceed guest expectations. I apologize that in your case we failed to do this. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements, even if you should choose to try out one of our competitors on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Property: Crosswinds Inn
Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing