We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, indoor pool”
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosswinds Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel was close to the West Entrance, clean, inexpensive (considering it is West Yellowstone, $119/night), comes with a complimentary breakfast and has an indoor pool and hot tub.

The bedding was nice, beds were comfortable, TV was a small flat screen, rooms have microwave and fridge so you can save money on eating out in the city.

Hotel staff wasn't overly friendly. Breakfast was waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, juice, coffee...etc.

The Wi-Fi wasn't working when we were there which was a HUGE negative. Hot tub was 110 degrees...TOO HOT and the pool was a little chilly. And every time a neighbor turned on the sink you could hear the pipes in the walls.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimswithturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. We have ordered a new piece of wi-fi equipment and have been assured that it will arrive to us within the next week and that it will fix the problems you experienced with the internet service.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Crosswinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

No restroom in the lobby? Really? At check-in I was told just that, and that the employees had to leave the premises to answer the call of nature!!! Isn't there a law? I was then handed my room key and directed to my room at the end of the parking lot. The key didn't work, so I returned to the lobby, and a desk clerk accompanied me to my room with a functional key. At last.

I guess the renovations hadn't reached our end of the motel. The room smelled like a lot of rug deodorizer had been used, although the smell dissipated when we turned on the heat. The beds were clean and comfy with lots of new pillows, but the lamps and furniture were outdated. The bathroom was miniscule although there was plenty of hot water.

There was another couple in our party staying in the room next to ours who had an old, uncomfortable mattress with a depression in the middle. Didn't know about that until we were on the way home.

And I won't even get into the breakfast situation with cramped quarters and pseudo-healthy food options.

I've stayed at Best Westerns (among other chains) around the country, and this, by far, was the worst motel that I've stayed in. A tent pitched in the woods in the rain would be preferable. And to top it off, I had out-of-state guests that I was taking to Yellowstone - what an embarrassment.

Room Tip: Stay in Yellowstone - their cabins are quaint and cozy, and the price is better.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTripper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older motel however there has been significant investment made each year to refurbish the property and we plan on continuing that commitment to make improvements in order to meet guest satisfaction. In fact, we have submitted plans to Best Western and the Town of West Yellowstone for expansion of our breakfast area and to remodel the lobby to include a public restroom. We are hopeful those plans will be approved and we can begin construction this November.

We always encourage guests to research the options available to them in order to meet their specific needs and desires. We understand not every motel is a good fit for every guest but our goal is to ensure that we always do the very best we can to meet and exceed guest expectations. I apologize that in your case we failed to do this. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements, even if you should choose to try out one of our competitors on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

enjoyed our stay. Room was roomy, people were nice, beautiful location, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing our motel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you safe and happy travel in all your life journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Not much I can say here. It did not smell good. Old and musty. After a day in the park they probably felt the same about me. There are a lot of Inns in West Yellowstone. Look around and if all are on fire, stay here. Service was not much to speak of. They were supposed to sign me up for BW rewards and give me the card the following morning. I agreed to this because they were busy at the desk. (Two People) didn't happen. I may consider the fortuitous. They also advised we go to a restaurant that would not seat us after 9:00PM, heck those folks at the restaurant would not even serve us a beer. No one knows anything. Let it slide. Dump.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

We are disappointed you were not happy with your stay. The restaurants we refer people to are based on the feedback we get from other guests and also on our own personal experiences however, none of them are affiliated with our motel and we have no say in their hours or inability to serve alcohol.

We are an older motel however there has been significant investment made each year to refurbish the property and we plan on continuing that commitment to make improvements in order to meet guest satisfaction. We always encourage guests to research the options available to them in order to meet their specific needs and desires. We understand not every motel is a good fit for every guest but our goal is to ensure that we always do the very best we can to meet and exceed guest expectations. I apologize that in your case we failed to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

There are three Best Western Hotels in West Yellowstone (a town that you should avoid unless you can't get a room in the national park). The hotel reflects the town, a soul-less tourist trap.

The room was not very clean. The hotel picks up all the noise from the street that fronts it. The breakfast room is too small for the number of rooms and they were lacking the items that other Best Westerns feature.

I would not recommend this hotel. I would not recommend West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

We're disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with our community and motel.
West Yellowstone is a small Montana town located in a high mountain valley, surrounded by National Forests and Yellowstone National Park. It is also the best gateway to Yellowstone Park and its features.

Yellowstone's west entrance is located right in West Yellowstone, 4 blocks from our motel and is the closest and easiest route to Old Faithful and Yellowstone's geyser areas. The national forests outside Yellowstone and surrounding West Yellowstone are also teeming with wildlife and birding sightings each spring.

This is a small, safe, outdoor oriented community and being next to a national park makes it difficult to compare hotels in this wilderness area to modern hotels in major cities.

Though we are certainly not new, we do invest every year to upgrade and improve our amenities to keep our guests coming back. As we continue to strive to improve the comfort and convenience of our guests, we value and appreciate review comments such as yours that help guide us towards new projects to hopefully be considered better than average.

We encourage all new visitors to Yellowstone to visit the web sites of all the available hotels in West Yellowstone or to call around and ask questions before making their lodging choices so that they can compare and make the most informed decision possible. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements, even if you should choose to try out one of our competitors on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel experience was very pleasant. Everything was as it should be - comfortable beds, decent lighting (there's a novel concept), quiet rooms, desirable amenities (like coffee in the room, iron, blow dryer). And a nice, roomy shower.
Oh, and I didn't use them, but hot tubs and pools were available.
Even the continental breakfast was a little better than average - not a doughnut in sight, but plenty of variety of comparatively healthy breakfast foods.
I know it was a little off-season, but the price was quite reasonable for all this. I felt like I had definitely made a good choice for the night.
I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoCshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice rooms with fridges and microwaves, decent continental breakfast, hot portion was scrambled eggs with cheese ready to go at 6am. Good showers, with good shower head height. Right next door to our snowmobile rental. Close to Yellowstone entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenDJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the West Yellowstone area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole Ave, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9517 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $135 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crosswinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing