We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The hotel is located on one of the main avenues of small West Yellowstone, so you can walk easily towards the shops and restaurants of the city (we had dinner in the Three Bears.
Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed, but somewhat outdated in decoration and colours.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank harmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Desert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 753 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

This has to be the worst 'Best' Western we've ever stayed at. The room was dirty (I can't describe the stains on the side of the mattress...). The carpet is overstretched so there are bumps on floor and on top of that dirt/dust harbour where the vacuum cleaner cannot reach (or I should say where furniture is not moved in order to vacuum). These rooms are dark and drab and need a total overhaul sooner rather than later. Luckily we only spent 2 nights (sleepless ones for me - couldn't relax in the bed). 2/3 staff we encountered were chilly. On the plus side they do have dog-biscuits at the check-in counter (not that we had a dog with us) and the place is centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed in a non smoking room, but it smelled like an ash tray. There was something sticky on the toilet set? One bed had not been changed and the sheets smelled like Bengay. We told the front desk clerk and he said we have fresh sheets at the front desk if you want to come and get then. We had to change the sheets ourselves though. In the morning I talked to the manager about this and asked for some type of discount. He refused to help me and I was charged $177 for a room with dirty sheets. The continental breakfast was mediocre. I filled a complaint with Best Western. I don't normally write reviews, but I feel compelled to share my story.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrkdrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My brother and I stayed for the nights of June 5 and 6 and used West Yellowstone as a base for 2 days of fishing in area. Motel was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful. The rooms were very large and well decorated. The location was convenient to fishing outfitters and restaurants. I would stay there again and reccomend it to anyone.
HolesinoneJake

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_Louis_MOJakesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed here for four nights while touring Yellowstone. This is a good place for people who want to see the whole park while staying in one place. It's in a good location, only a minute drive to the entrance, and right along the main street of shops and restaurants.

The rooms were spacious, and the beds were okay. There is a small pool and hot tub which is open until 10pm and often crowded with families. The breakfast had the standard items, and the counter area is small which creates crowding.

One piece of advice is that if you need help, ask the day staff, who were very helpful. At night they have teenage boys running the desk, and they did not seem to know what they were doing.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TouristMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights on a well-anticipated trip to Yellowstone. Have to say that it was great for the price and location. Less than 1 mile from the West entrance of the park and located within walking distance of all of downtown West Yellowstone!!! Breakfast was a little bit limited and chaotic at times, but there was plenty of food for everyone - mostly bagels, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, danishes, etc. I would definitely consider staying here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CandaceMH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in May 2008.

We had reservations for the BW Cross-Winds Motor Inn, however, it was closed for a reception upgrade and we were redirected to this Motel.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us ideas on where to have dinner.

The rooms were clean and generously sized. A basic breakfast was included in the rate, however, at a rate of just over $50 a night we had cash spare to go out for breakfast each morning!

The Motel is located within a short stroll of a good choice of restaurants and shops. We would recommend the Three Bears Restaurant and highly recommend Bullwinkles for dinner. The Outpost Restaurant should be avoided! The Running Bear Pancake House does excellent breakfasts and packed lunches to take into the Park with you.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
983 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Address: 133 N Canyon St, Us 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $102 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing