We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    296
    109
    28
    14
See reviews for
255
254
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was cheaper than the others in West Yellowstone by far so I was worried about what our room was going to be. You get what you pay for right?! Well this hotel was very suprising. I think it must have been recently remodeled. It was very clean and new on the inside. The room was great!! The pool was fun. Like every hotel. The contenential breakfast was good but crowded. You gotta get there early to get any food and a place to sit. But then everyone else is squishing around you. Better off eating in your room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefish
Level Contributor
167 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in perfectly located in the middle of town so you can stroll to restaurants, etc. The staff are great. The room was large and properly cleaned. Breakfast is served in a tiny area that is is crowded under good circumstances. Breakfast fare is dreary with too many items that seem synthetic in nature if you are brave enough to sample.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location! Room was fairly large & clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens were lovely. Very nice & quiet, breakfast included. Good indoor pool, and lots of parking. All shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to others. Not a prolific review but to the point.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently returned from a visit to Yellowstone. Decided to enter the park from the West Gate. West Yellowstone is quaint but definitely makes their money off of tourists while it can. This BW was just down the street from the gate, perfect location for visiting the park. The room was good size, clean, and other than a light bulb going out, in working order. (My hubby thought the pillows were too puffy, but that is a preference thing.)The breakfast provided was typical, nothing spectacular but good enough to start your day. We found the restaurants in the area are on the high side so having the free breakfast helps compensate for dinner later. I would definitely stay there again in the future. HOWEVER - BE PREPARED, this hotel as well as most of them in the area, host BUS LOADS of tourists, so try to hit breakfast before or after buses are loading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Us2Berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We decided to enter the park through West Yellowstone as it suited best our road trip plan. The little town is a nice tourist place but it has not much to offer. We booked the Best Western Desert Inn as it was the only one available for our dates and, even if we were not overall disappointed, the price we paid (almost 200 dollars for one night) is definitevely too steep for what the place really offers. it is definitively overpriced. I would also like to point out that even if they say they offer free wifi, that's not the case as it is basically impossible to connect at all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We made our reservation from the car, and were pleasantly surprised at what we got. Our room was clean, and adequately appointed. Even the bed was comfortable! Location was convenient to great local resteraunts, almost directly across the street. Breakfast was better than we expected, and enjoyable. We returned 5 days later, and were happy with our choice.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
Address: 133 North Canyon Street, US 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Best Western and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing