We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do, should do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Desert Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Could do, should do better.”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We too are intrepid visitors from the UK and have also stayed at many BW hotels throughout the USA & Europe. This is not the worst by far, and unlike the previous reviewer we did not think the breakfast was inedible, in fact it was quite reasonable, However, the problem here is a general lack of care and attention, this is an expensive hotel, even for West Yellowstone and yet it is more like a cheap motel. I'm guessing that there has been a change in management and staff since the good reviews, because the few staff there are seem harrassed and rushed off their feet. Believe me there are better yet cheaper hotels in West Yelowstone we found several, so look elsewhere. Suffice it to say that we were booked in here for five nights but checked out after 2.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    305
    110
    28
    14
See reviews for
266
262
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed in many Best Western hotels in US. This one would be bottom of the list. The hotel itself is just OK, but the breakfast lets it down badly. Inedible, no other word for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ab_roody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

It was our first trip to Yellowstone National Park and so we didn't know too much about the surrounding area or where to stay. The park wasn't fully open yet so lodging in the park was very limited (and what was available was grossly over-priced). We ended up at the Desert Inn by chance...a lucky internet search turned it up. It's probably one of the best deals in West Yellowstone at this time of year. The rooms were clean, comfortable, pet friendly and the breakfast buffet was quite the spread! Breakfast included eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy as well as the usual bagels, toast, danishes, yogurt etc. The coffee, tea and juices were also pretty good; even the in-room coffee was decent. The hotel also had a pool, spa/jacuzzi, and laundry facilities. On top of all this, the hotel was about a block away from the west gate to Yellowstone. Our only set back was that my son 'lost' his favorite, hand-knit beanie to the BW gremlins...we're not sure exactly what happened to it but my son swears he left it in the room (on one of the chairs no less) when we went out for the day. When we returned, there was no hat...poof, it disappeared into thin air. When we reported it to the lady at front desk, she didn't seem the least bit concerned that it may have been picked up and thrown in with the dirty towels/bedding by accident (or worse...taken on purpose). She did tell us we could check back to see if it turned up in the lost and found bin later in the day. Hmmm...since we were leaving the area, that wasn't even remotely helpful. An apology would have been nice but I guess that was too much to ask. Guess we'll never know what happened to the disappearing beanie...don't leave anything in the room that you can't replace easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level...quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent another week at this hotel, under new management, and enjoyed every minute. Clean and comfortable. We had a suite room and it was large and very nice. This is the only place we will stay while in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

great place to stay but bad parking. Our sleds got hit there because they didnt not know how to plow the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtsldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stopped in West Yellowstone to snowmobile into Yellowstone National Park. For the price, this hotel was very nice. We stayed during President's weekend so it was busy. Very good continental breakfast. Has a decent pool and hot tub. Rooms were a little noisy, but in comparison to other hotels in Yellowstone, we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBeaches1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This was a great place to unwind after a long day in the park. The staff were efficient and speedy. The rooms were generic and stale but large and comfy. The breakfast was nasty. Spare yourself and go out for breakfast instead. The only thing I saw that wasn't cool was all the smokers hung out in front of the main entrance so they ruined the air upon entry or exit.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrodieJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Inn

Property: Best Western Desert Inn
Address: 133 N Canyon St, US 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing