We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowstone Park KOA
Lompoc, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment we got there. The park is large and well layed out with bathroom facilites throughout the park. I'll try to break this down into subsections.

Campsite
We stayed in a deluxe pull through site in a 35' motorhome. We had grassy area and a cement patio with a bbq/fire pit combo, a nice cement round table with benches and a 2 person swing. We moved th swing onto the grass to accomodate our chairs on the patio. We had our awning out and the campsite was cozy. Neighbors were friendly and we did not feel cramped at all.

Bathrooms
The bathrooms were 2 rows over from us but easy to get to. The bathroom has 3 toilet stalls and 3 shower stalls and a large sink vanity that runs the entire length of the bathroom. There is no cost for the showers and it was nice to have a hot shower and to not be crammed into the RV shower. Plus with 4 girls, we could all be done alot quicker using the 3 showers.

Campground Store
Cute variety of knick knacks and souveniers. Small basic grocery and supply section. A lovely Homemade Fudge counter which offers free samples.

Camground Ammenities
So much to do at the campground. Mini golf, playground for kids, bike rentals including 4 & 6 seater bikes, indoor swimming pool & hot tub, volleyball and other activities such as Karaoke, T-Shirt TyeDying. We did the Tye Dying and had a blast. You buy a shirt from them for $5 or bring your own. The staff helps you get the design you want. There is a Coffee Kabin that has coffee & latte drinks every morning and they also hold an Ice Cream Social one night a week. There is an outdoor cooking area where they make breakfast each day and dinner each night. Prices were a little high in my opinion.

Overall
The Campground was a short drive (about 7 min) to the town of West Yellowstone. The town has 2 small grocery stores, several gas stations and lots of food places and tourist shops. Great places to get souveniers. We spent a day walking around the town. From the town, the West entrance to Yellowstone National Park is literally just down the road. There is a Visitor Center in West Yellowstone and if you are visiting the park, I highly suggest going there first to get a map and suggested things to see. Also if you have children, get them signed up for the Jr. Ranger program and read through the paperwork before you get going into the park, so you know what to look for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna-Lompoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    75
    51
    13
    36
See reviews for
160
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Va
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are headed to Yellowstone, I would suggest that you take a pass on the Yellowstone campgrounds and stay at the KOA in West Yellowstone instead.

This place is incredible...and shouldn't be missed. If you have your camping supplies (tent, sleeping bags, etc.) or a trailer/camper, then I would strongly recommend it.

The staff is really wonderful and were a joy to work with. We made several changes throughout the days leading up to the stay and each time we spoke, our concerns or questions were answered with complete professionalism and always with a sense of accommodating our needs.

The amenitites at this place are wonderful. There are central bathrooms with warm water and private showers. No concerns whatsoever with privacy. Everything is well lighted. But, more importantly, it's CLEAN!!

It has a nice indoor pool facility for the kids as well as a playground.

For meals, there is a nice restaurant/cafe where they serve breakfast and dinners each day and West Yellowstone has a good number of local restaurants and fast food chains (Arby's and McDonalds) as well, so there is ample ways to decide how to do your food. If you want to bring some food to prepare there, the campground has a central camp kitchen with several stovetop ranges & sinks. It was very clever and I think it was well used by different people throoughout our stay...however, it was absolutely emmaculate without grease or food residue. Again, incredibly clean place!

I spoke to several people that had stayed at other locations or campgrounds, and each said that this was the best place they've ever stayed at.

I hope to go back and do some more camping there.

Room Tip: No rooms to choose from, but you may want to request a trailer site or tent site close to the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A36127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

From all the reviews I have been reading, I am assuming the manager is a problem and if you don't encounter him everything is just fine. Well, he must have been on vacation during our trip because we had a wonderful time and never saw or encountered him.
We stayed in a deluxe cabin with it's own bathroom and kitchen. That was totally worth high price we paid for it for the privacy and warm shower. I don't really enjoy taking a shower in a public shower house. Not having to walk to a bathroom in the middle of the night was the best as well. My kids usually wake up in the night to "go" and they could just use the private bathroom. AWESOME!
There was so much for the kids to do, we could have stayed several more nights(we stayed 4) and not run out of activities. The kids loved riding their bikes and swimming in the pool. We went to the coffee Kabin every morning and it was good. We didn't have breakfast, because we aren't big breakfast eaters, but it was always crowded and smelled wonderful. We were woken up every morning by the cows mooing behind our cabin and it was fun to watch them. We took advantage of the rodeo and had a great time, but bring a blanket, it gets really cold.
4th of July fireworks and parade were right down the street and we all sat in a big field with a full moon. Perfect!
The beds were typical cabin beds, but we brought matress toppers and it was much more comfy. I also loved the choice of being able to cook on a real stove(bring your own pots and pans) instead of on a campfire. I reserved that for marshmellows(they had all the supplies in the camp store) The refrigerator is a great touch too.
I am sorry that some people had a bad experience, but I can only speak for myself and say that it was really fun and close to the park. Our kids will never forget this trip. In a good way.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe Kabins with bathrooms if you are not staying in an RV or tent. It's worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We camped here in a travel trailer in a Deluxe pull thru site. The sites were close together bit rooomy enough in my opinion... We werent even there during the day anyway. Some of the other campgrounds in the area had sites so close together you could not extend your awning!!!

Check in was quick and unlike some previous reviewers I found the staff pleasant and welcoming. Thank goodness our site had cable, couldn't get any channels via regular antenna and only two radio stations. It is about a 10 minute drive to the west entrance of Yellowstone. Once through the West entrance it is about 15 miles to interesting sites and about 30 miles to Old Faithful. Lots to do in the evenings.

The pool is open until 10pm which was nice after spending the day walking 15 miles. They rent pedal bikes but we were unable to secure one for each night of our four night stay. I would recommend reserving at the crack of dawn for later that evening.

As with most KOAs they had kids activities every night so we did tye dye a couple of shirts and the price was reasonable.

No one told us to get in our trailer at 10pm but honestly, we were so tired we were not up much later than that. We actually found it to be nice and quiet after about 1030pm or so. If you are the type who wants to sit outside, have a few drinks and talk loud until midnight then by all means go somewhere else, it is annoying and disrespectful to families with young children trying to rest.

All in all we loved our stay, and would stay here again despite the higher price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peasedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

we stayed 4 nights and we were by the highway and I thought it would be a problem. But there was not a problem and at night you couldn't hear any vehicle go by. It was that serene. The cook and the staff was excellent. They helped us whenever we needed it. The pool was olympic size and the spa was just fantastic. They had a playground,video arcade,mini golf, and fudge galore. But one thing was that I couldn't get a strong signal for my computer unless I had to go in front of the store. But I didn't mind. I just enjoyed the walks we had around the area. Only 5 miles away from Yellowstone and 90 miles to Bear Country to feed the bears. I would venture this way again. I would encourage everyone to test it out...The children who were there loved it and the animals loved it too. So awesome!!!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are clean and very nicely kept. We didn't stay in one..but we peeked and they are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although expensive, it worth every penny! inside heated pool, plenty of services! Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The park was well maintained. The toilet and shower facilities were in separate blocks for men & women. We stayed in RV site 103, which had a great patio area and a ‘swing’ bench. The wireless signal wasn't very strong and was intermittent. Staff were friendly on arrival, however the second night we returned from sightseeing to find a car parked in our site. We enquired at the office to eventually find that the car belonged to a member of staff. After waiting for approx. 15 mins the car was finally moved. Unfortunately, we didn't receive an apology from the staff on reception, or from the guy whose car was parked in our spot, in fact, he didn’t even acknowledge us. The park had a great outdoor grill, from which we had excellent burgers and chips one night. Park was in an excellent location to visit Yellowstone, the West entrance being only 6 miles away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaNickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
6.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park KOA

Property: Yellowstone Park KOA
Address: 3305 Targhee Pass Hwy, PO Box 348, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9521
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Park Koa Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing