We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, busy, quick service and tasty food”

Ernie's Bakery and Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Ernie's Bakery and Deli -- More than a Great Sandwich Shop!Now serving full breakfast and lunch in addition to our famous deli sandwiches. Stop by and see why Ernie's is West's favorite place to eat. Grab a box lunch on your way to your Yellowstone Park adventure or dine in for breakfast and lunch.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
730 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Clean, busy, quick service and tasty food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just a random stop on our drive from MT to CA.
Not much to choose from on a Sunday in that little area. Ernie's was just right.
Simple, good, well prepared breakfast food. They served lunch, soup, salads and a variety of other dishes. Everything seems to be made fresh to order.
Many people came in and took orders to go. We sat at one of the picnic tables inside and watched many people come and go.
Definatly a good place to grab a quick bite and get back on the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    118
    37
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to start the day”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Each day Ernie's started our day off right. Armed with a god cup of coffee and a breakfast sandwich, we would head off to watch an elk herd just inside Yellowstone. The staff at Ernie's was friendly and helpful. The food was tastey, fresh and kept us full for the morning's adventures. When we are back in West Yellowstone, we will go back to Ernie's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We Were Glad to Find this Place”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited Yellowstone in the off-season. The good thing about the off-season is that the crowds are far smaller. The challenging thing is that many, or most of the concessions in the park are closed, including the food concessions.
We decided that it would be smart to buy our lunch ahead of time and take it with us. We tried Subway first. It was closed for the season. Then we remembered seeing the sign for Ernie's on the way in to town. On the sign were the words "box lunches."
We went in and ordered two box lunches. You get a sandwich with choice of bread, meat, and cheese. They have a wonderful selection to choose from. They also provided sandwich fixings like pickles, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, mayo, and mustard, all in a separate plastic bag for you to put on your sandwich just before you were ready to eat. You also got a bag of chips, a cookie, a canned soft drink (big selection), an apple, and a small candy bar.
This was all packed nicely in a lunch sack.
It was a very tasty lunch and we were happy to have it knowing that there was only one food concession open in the park on the day we visited.
They also had a great menu with breakfast and lunch items to eat in the cafe.
We definitely plan to come by next time we visit Yellowstone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank really_been_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Certainly worth the visit!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Everything in West Yellowstone is on the pricey side... That's what makes breakfast at Ernie's worth it. My wife and I were able to get two plates of eggs over english muffins smothered in hollandaise sauce for like $12, which was enough to keep us full. We went back the next morning and got breakfast again.

Didn't try lunch, but breakfast was good, and I would easily go back there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyBearVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome box lunches”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had boxes lunches for a two day tour and they were delicious. We had the roast beef sandwiches. The bread was dense and chewy(yum). The havarti cheese was awesome. Our box lunch included sandwich, chips, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, cookie, drink, candy and all the amenities. Quite a deal for $9.71. We took a lunch with us on the way out of town and had a wonderful picnic on the way to the Tetons. Great food, Ernies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Bakery and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's Bakery and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing