We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay - but, it IS a budget motel”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you have to stay in West Yellowstone, stay here! The town has mediocre/poor food, and the town is a true tourst trap. But, it is the gateway to one of the world's Great parks.
Rooms are quite small, and the bathrooms are the smallest we've ever seen in a hotel/motel...even smaller than on an airplane. The AC cools well, but the fan is noisy, even at slow speed. My earplugs didn't filter out all the noise. Incrediby clean inside, but not a luxury facility in any sense of the word.
Host Brian is a a terrific guy, full of information, and always there to help out.
If you're a plus size person, you might have issues with the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 691 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was so pleased we managed to get a room for two nights at the Alpine Motel in West Yellowstone. Brian and Patty were very welcoming hosts, and made us feel more like extended family than simply paying customers. We arrived while Brian was cleaning the rooms, and as soon as he saw us he asked for our name and said he would be right up to check us in. Check is was quick, with lots of additional amenities located in the front office.
He walked us to our room, introduced us to Patty, and took the time to show us around, and give dinner recommendations.
The rooms were clean and the bed spreads were homemade- a very nice touch.
We are already planning our next trip to Yellowstone, and hope to have the pleasure of staying here again. We've been telling all our family and friends about Yellowstone and this motel - it is all part of the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinfamily2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The owner deserves good marks for service, but be warned that two of the rooms are literally within an arm's reach of the main strip sidewalk, so forget privacy, and be prepared for lots of noise. The rooms themselves were small but clean, and the rustic woodwork is nice. Most likely, if you have a non-sidewalk room, you'll think this a really great budget motel, so if you just make your booking contingent on a non-sidewalk room, then you should be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a three day stay at the Alpine Motel. The owners, Patty and Brian, were extremely friendly and made us feel like part of the family. Patty showed us to our room and walked us through how to operate the air conditioning, the Direct TV, refrigerator, etc. Not only are your standard toiletries provided (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.) in the room, but additional toiletries are available in the lobby. There is also coffee, tea, granola bars, and candy provided in the lobby throughout the day. After a day of hiking, I asked Brian if he had a rag that I could use to clean our shoes. He gave me several and showed me where the hose was located so that I could thoroughly clean our boots. The motel is very centrally located and within walking distance to two supermarkets, restaurants, ice cream shops, and stores. Patty was able to give us some great restaurant recommendations and the individual attention really enhanced our three days there. If we ever return to West Yellowstone, we will definitely stay at the Alpine Motel again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sethch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay one night near Yellowstone NP and found the Alpine. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of toiletries and snacks in the office in case you forgot something. Clean, quiet room and a short walk to bars, restaurants, shops and ice cream. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a week at Alpine Motel with our family and found everything just perfect. We were in one of the standard rooms and the rest of our family were in the 2 bedded one with the kitchen. Everything was spotlessly clean with a generous supply of toiletries. The owners, Brian and Patty, were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, they were always ready with suggestions for eating out and local information etc. Tea and coffee is available in the reception area whenever you need it, together with a generous supply of snacks, sweets and chocolates etc.

The Alpine Motel couldn't be more convenient for visiting Yellowstone NP, about 5 minutes to the West Entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a nice surprise! We were so pleased with the motel accommodations, the location, the friendliness of the staff and the price. The motel was so clean, updated, and right in the middle of town so we could walk to dinner and shopping. Our only warning is the bathroom size--very small--but considering all else, not a problem unless you are a large person. Ask about this before you book.

Room Tip: Call and talk to Brian. He is so friendly and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing