We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find in west Yellowstone”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Found this hotel on trip advisor. The owner welcomed us as if we had been there before. We mentioned in the email that our anniversary was during our trip and we found fresh flowers and a card. The room is great and his recommendations for everything have been awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottscud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 683 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were on a three week trip to the northern Rockies recently and spent two nights at the Alpine in West Yellowstone. A fabulous stay with a place that is lovingly cared for by the resident owners. We wish we would have been able to stay longer. The rustic motel rooms are arranged around a drive-in courtyard reminding us of the 1930's and 1940's, while the rooms inside are cozy, comfortable, and charmingly appointed. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the office has a coffee pot and snacks. Very comfortable beds and wonderful smelling towels. And the location near restaurants and shop browsing is handy. In spite of seemingly full occupancy, the place was quiet and we could park near the room. And each morning when we left for the day's activities, there were the owners caring for the place. We'd stay here again in a minute. Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When I booked the accommodation nearly six months ago there was only one room left - which speaks volumes for Tripadvisor!!. This room was the smallest, Room 5, and on the roadside so were were a bit apprehensive about the noise and getting a good night's sleep. The street was busy until about 10pm with diners but after that it calmed down a lot and we were fine. As everyone else says, Brian the owner goes out of his way to welcome you. Dinner and breakfast options are a few doors away and you're in the Park in minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Alpine's #1 rating is well deserved. We spent three nights in the cabin. It was delightful. Brian and Patty go overboard to make sure their guests have everything we need. In addition to the fluffy towels and comfy bed, they have all kinds of samples of things in the room and in the lobby - including chocolate. They are within walking distance to most everything in town, which is a bonus in this busy area.

My only "complaint", is no microwave in the room. There is a nice one available for use in the lobby, but by the time we got back to the room in the chilly evening, the food had cooled considerably. But everything else more than makes up for it.

If we ever get the chance to come back to Yellowstone, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else but the Alpine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the place to stay in West Yellowstone! Brian and Patty, the owners, take such pride in their motel and it shows! They work so hard to ensure that their guests are happy. The rooms are spotlessly clean and you could not ask for anything more! We HIGHLY recommend it! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailyGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pros- Fluffy pillows, comfy mattress, soft sheets, clean, soft towels, soft toilet paper, plenty of hot water and firm water pressure, roomy, good air, hair dryer, tv, phone, fridge, in walking distance to gift shops and pizza and QUIET!

Cons- No coffee pot.

We stay two weeks in and around Yellowstone, including the Western Cabins at Canyon, and out of all our accommodations Alpine was our favorite! At first we were reluctant because it is located in the heart of town and we feared it would be noisy. Alpine is great for people who like a night stroll into town. We walked to the candy shop for fudge and to the pizzeria for dinner. We also thought we would have a problem with parking, but the owners walked us out, like they do everyone at check-in, and directed us the best way to park and we were fine after that. At Canyon and Gardiner, we really had to fight for parking.
The owners were terrific. They run this place like every business owner should. They really treat you like a guest instead of a temporary visitor. They gave us a tour of the room, showed us where to park, and even took the time to make sure we knew how to operate Direct TV since we have Dish at home.
The rooms were well decor and clean. Our room (we booked room 11) had two queens and we did not have any problem with space. The mattress was comfortable with the beds having four big fluffy pillows per bed! The linen was clean and the room had a fresh scent. Each room had an excellent selection of name brand travel toiletry (see my pictures) and soft towels. The toilet paper and Kleenex were soft, not cheap and rough like most hotels. We had a roomy up to date fridge, but no coffee pot which is my only complaint. However the lobby opened at 7:30am with coffee, apple cider, tea, and coffee until 10pm. They also have little candies and granola bars all day. We had just came from a cabin in Gardiner with VERY limited water pressure which NEVER grew hot, so we REALLY enjoyed the hot water with perfect pressure. The air and heat worked fine and we had no trouble with thin walls or noise. We slept like kittens.
My son had a great time playing with the owner’s two adorable kitties that patrolled the area routinely and at night; he would borrow board games from the lobby. The place is family oriented and we did noticed a few accommodations in town with drinkers outside and we were very thankful that Alpine was not one of them. Some people on the Tripadvisor forum complain about staying outside the park because of the driving distance, which is only about 20 minutes. We enjoyed the drive as we saw an abundance of wildlife on our way to West Yellowstone and the Grizzle Discovery Center located in West is something everyone will love.
I noticed that some reviewers said the Alpine was outdated and I think they are confusing outdated with rustic and everything in and near Yellowstone is rustic which only adds to the wilderness atmosphere. There is nothing “outdated” about Alpine. Our TV, air conditioner, and fridge were all modern. The price we paid was reasonable, rooms tidy, owners friendly, and we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street for quietness.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaSunSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July while on a 4 week road trip, it was one of the best accomodations we had, Have to thank Brian for the fresh coffee he was always brewing and the chocolates that were always on the counter. And Patty for the wonderfull white and fluffy towels l dont know how she kept them that white and soft!!! the cabins were very clean and the bedspreads were lovely as were all the free goodies in the bathroom and sweets left on the bedside table every day. I would not hesitate to recommend the Alpine to anybody good location near all the shops and supermarket just over the room.
If we are ever in the area l would definately book this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing