We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little motel”
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Alpine Motel for two nights, on the second stop of our two week US road trip. We booked several months in advance - a king bed room for $105 a night incl tax. I talked to Brian on the phone at that time and he was super friendly and personable, which made me look forward to staying there.

After a long day of driving and visiting part of Yellowstone Park, we checked in in the early evening. Brian was there to help us out and was again super friendly and explained everything they had to offer. He told us about the coffee and tea in the lobby, as well as the sweet free samples and the little candies and gum. He walked us to our room and showed us how to use the AC, tv, etc.

Normally you don't know what to expect when you stay in these types of motel/cabins, so I was pleased to see that the room was modern, the bedspread was cute and it was very clean. Everything worked. It is slightly odd that the bathroom only has the shower and toilet in it, and then the sink and mirror are on the complete opposite side of the room, but not bothersome. The shampoo, soap, etc were of better quality than I expected, too.

The location is great, just off of the main street. There are many restaurants and shops in less than 5 minutes walking distance. If you're lucky you'll be able to park your car right outside of your unit and leave it there while checking out the town. I would definitely recommend the Alpine Motel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here 3 days while on a two week trip and by far it was the most pleasant, and cleanest motel of all we stayed in during our trip. We were treated like family the moment we arrived, and Brian showed us everything about the room and where we might find everything. The room was very nicely decorated to compliment the local wildlife and so quaint. they had all kinds of complimentary hygiene items, including razors! Far more than we saw at any Hampton Inn. For the price, it was the best for the most! It is conveniently located right outside the entrance to Yellowstone, and within walking distance of all the local shops. Once we arrived at the motel, we didn't have to move our car to get to anything. There are several really good restaurants close by including one a few doors down and one across the street that had excellent food. Even a laundromat a few blocks down the street. Above all, you will enjoy your stay at the Alpine Inn!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Kayece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very cute and quaint little motel with all the right touches. Seems they thought of everything. Upon checking in, we felt super welcome and Brian pointed out all the amenities available to us in the lobby (they have multiple sample-sized hygiene products, candy, coffee & tea, etc. for the taking) before walking us to our room and giving us a tour of how to operate the satellite TV and air conditioning. Every detail was thought out and designed for our comfort. Room was compact but super clean and decorated pleasantly to match the forest theme of the area. I can think of nothing negative to say. The only change I'd make would be to add screen doors for extra ventilation. We could have easily skipped the noisy window A/C if we'd been able to leave the front door and windows open in the evening as the temperature dropped.
Overall, an excellent stay in a very good, central location!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventuritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

First off all the excellent reviews are 100% true, Brian and Patty always go the extra mile to provide superior customer service to their guests. Early check out is easy as well, if you need to depart before office opens at 7:30am.

Rooms are super clean, and nice decorated, it is obvious they take this business seriously and take the time to make it perfect each and every time. They have coffee, tea and sometimes cider available in the lobby, as well as a microwave for guest usage, as the rooms do not have individual ones. No breakfast but is next to a restaurant, but the better place for morning meal is down the road, just ask Brian, he will point you right to it.

I've stayed here a couple of times, and they remembered me from the last trip, which was a nice touch. I wish I could have stayed longer like I had initially had planned, but when I finally was ready to make reservation limited times and rooms were available, and Brian suggested other options for the other days, when they were booked. We enjoyed the 1 night we did stay there, and had a great time in Yellowstone National Park, as well as West Yellowstone itself.

There are 2 Grocery stores nearby, as well as many places to eat. Brian is very open about his suggestions and will tell you the places he will personally go to, just ask! Lots of tourist related shops in town as well, but it is just fun to walk around town itself, and it won't take too long to see the majority of town.

It's nice that they take the time to explain all the details of the room and enjoy everything is order, and to show you how to work it all. They recently upgraded all rooms to HD tv service, where before it was only in 1 room.

Moral of the story, book early, book early, BOOK EARLY!!!!! You won't be sorry, I WILL be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJ9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in the Alpine Motel for 2 nights, a family of 5. The owner, Brian, was very friendly from the reservation through the whole stay. It's a family run business, and you feel the personal touch. The room was nice and clean. The location is right in the center. The best is the price - way below anything else (we paid 115$ a night which is great in West Yellowstone).
The only complaint is the shower which is small and the curtain keeps sticking to your body.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Let me begin by saying that Brian and Patty, the owners, are fantastic and know how to treat their guests right. They were super friendly, helpful and always had time to ask how our day was and answered any questions that had. Whatever we needed, they brought it to us quickly and with a smile. For 4 nights, we stayed in the large unit with a full-size kitchen and separate sleeping room. It was PERFECT for our family of 4, which included two teens. One teen slept on the queen bed, the other teen slept on the futon and my husband and I had the queen bed in the separate bedroom. The full kitchen was great for making eggs and pancakes, putting together lunches and making dinner (on occasion). The Alpine Motel is in a great location. It's near Woodside bakery ~ yum, lots of restaurants and shops and near the entrance to Yellowstone. It is also right across the street from a market that had just about everything we needed for meals, at fairly reasonable prices. (At least reasonable for West Yellowstone.) The rooms were VERY clean and the towels were bright white, soft and fluffy. Brian and Patty do everything themselves, including checking in guests and cleaning the rooms and you can tell they take great pride in their establishment. It's not a fancy hotel like a Four Seasons, but who wants that when you're visiting Yellowstone! Thank you, Patty and Brian for a perfect stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very helpful and kind owners. Location is perfect. Room was spotless. It was a nuisance where the sink was located but we got used to it after awhile. Not much parking space. Lots of nice toiletries. 2 ply toilet paper was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 120 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing