We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M Nice place to stay when visiting Yellowstone.”
Review of One Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Horse Motel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the room, the decor and the amenities. It was also very helpful to have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room.
While it isn't luxurious, it is perfect for visiting Yellowstone and is in a quiet location in West Yellowstone. I would stay there again. Much better than a chain motel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneramsey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 370 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

This motel is a clean and comfortable place to crash near the west entrance to Yellowstone Park. It's overpriced for the barebones it offers, though most places in this town are also. The staff are rarely present but helpful when they are. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Nice big clean bathroom too. Wifi was excruciatingly slow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Owner at One Horse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

I am not sure why he would consider our rooms bare bones. Each room has a microwave,refrigerator , full bathroom, 32 inch flat screen t.v. with Americas top 120 ,hbo,starz and espn. We have laundry facilities,coke machine and offer coffee,tea,oatmeal and breakfast snacks each morning from 7:00 to 10:00 a.m..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose it for being close to Yellowstone and having a room available on somewhat short notice. On the plus side, we had a biggish room, a fridge, and a microwave and made use of all of those things. The owners/staff are super nice and helpful. On-site laundry came in handy too. On the minus, the room had a faint musty smell (not too bad). The bed I slept on was pretty uncomfortable with the springs very easy to feel (I think some of the other beds in the room might have been better). The price is a bit steep for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akuvikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Clean, nicely painted and great value. Don't let the outside send you away. This is a pleasant place with rooms that have nice extra touches like extra outlets for phone chargers and such. Free coffee and snacks in the office. Friendly staff. We also brought a twin blow up mattress that fit between the two double beds easily.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at One Horse Motel. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but you must give this place a try. Sparkling clean, fridge, microwave, nice tv, nice towels, comfy bed. Owners provide coffee in the morning, with basic snacks and instant oatmeal. Also, free ice and they encourage you to fill your cooler. Paper towel dispensers are located outside for cleaning equipment and car windows. Helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a good stay at the One Horse Motel. The lady at the reception was very welcoming and our room, although small, was very clean. It is in a great location, within walking distance of the town. The breakfast wasn't great, but we didn't expect to get breakfast (doesn't mention on the website) so it was a nice bonus to grab a few things to keep us going.

It is true, the rooms are a bit outdated and could do with new carpets and quieter fridges, but you can see what it looks like by checking out pictures on the website before booking so I we knew what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrian_sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My adult daughter and I spent 2 nights in Room #14 which has 2 queen beds. The motel is an old style motor court in a horseshoe shape. You drive up in front of your door, assuming no one else has take that spot. For an older property it is maintained fairly well and reasonably clean. My daughter complained about a few stray hairs in the shower. The beds are new but are economy mattresses. We could both feel the springs due to a lack of padding on the top of the mattress. The bedspreads were clean and in good condition but seem outdated. We needed neither heat nor A/C, but the room had both. The A/C unit is a freestanding portable unit. The Dish satellite TV worked well. Breakfast was included but quite meager. There is a counter next to the office which features coffee, tea, hot chocolate, all in styrofoam cups. You could also make oatmeal in one of those cups from an individually packaged pouch. There were some store bought packaged pastries and crackers. No seating...you took what you want and left the area.

The location is almost walking distance to the park entrance and only 1-2 blocks from shopping and dining. There are newer looking properties but they are further from the downtown area.

Staff were all friendly and varied in knowledge of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenox862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Horse Motel

Address: 216 Dunraven St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $62 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our clean, quiet and refurbished rooms you’ll find air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV and movie channels, fluffy pillows, fridge for your cold stuff and a microwave to heat things that need to be heated. Complimentary WIFI for your computer, tubs and showers, laundry facility on site and an ice machine that actually invites you to take an extra scoop or two for your cooler. All rooms are non-smoking and no pets to ensure that rooms are always clean and fresh. Come stay with us and enjoy your Yellowstone vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
One Horse Hotel West Yellowstone
1 Horse Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing