We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but overpriced for what you get”
Review of One Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Horse Motel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in early September 2012 in a room with 2 double beds for about $125. The room was clean but basic and on the small side with an old tv but had a fridge & micro. We always choose the mom & pop type motels with parking at the door, and they have that here. But the parking is limited & cramped and you may have to park on the street. We had stayed here 2 years ago and there are new owners now who have kept the motel pretty much the same. No real negatives, but no real positives either. It was just okay. Not as reasonably priced as others motels with higher ratings. Would stay again, but only if we weren't able to reserve one of the other higher rated motels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertaroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well with a name like the "One Horse Motel" you don't know what to expect. We found the motel to be like so many of the motels in West Yellowstone, "been in town for awhile." The "One Horse" however looked to have had some recent renovations and improvements. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I noted that was abit distracting was that sound carried from the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank af32251p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ive stayed here 3 times for multiple nights each time. It's clean, safe, quiet and the help has always been friendly. It's not fancy, just a place to shower and sleep. I believe the ownership might have changed, but I noticed no differences.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We are a couple of cyclists doing the Trans America ride. We stayed for one next as a treat and we weren't disappointed. The room was a little small but perfect. From the comfy bed to complimentary toiletries we had a great nights stay. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was just what a couple of hungry cyclists needed before their trip into the Park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty_G80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a motel that was rundown and has made a comeback. Imaginative decoration, comfortable though small. The room was very clean and the paint was new and much of the woodwork was in new condition. The non smoking room smelled sweet and pristine. It was quiet and we slept well and late. Mike the manager/owner made it easy though we got there after 1am. As they say the light was left on for us. Also he recommended the Running Bear restaurant which was also very good. Wished we could have stayed another night but the motel was full and we had to go to a lesser motel for the same money. The One Horse was the great start of a great August day in Yellowstone Park. This was one of the more memorable motels on a cross continental road trip.
If we visit Yellowstone again we will try to stay at the One Horse Motel. Loved the cowboy motif.

Room Tip: Park on the street outside the lot as the lot is a bit crowded. The street has lots of parking. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were visiting Yellowstone and stayed here for 3 nights. It was just perfect. Room was clean, check-in was accompanied by a warm welcome, mattress comfortable and area quiet after 10pm. They offer a small breakfast in the morning, washer & dryer are on the premises, supermarket is only a block away, a most accommodating place! We would definitely recommend to friends and family. We also liked the fact it is locally owned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmirelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the place if you're looking for a friendly, clean, comfortable, family-owned motel. Rooms were not large, but adequate, clean, and comfortable. Price was right for the area. Location was right off the main drag with plenty of eating and shopping within walking distance. No complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Horse Motel

Address: 216 Dunraven St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $62 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our clean, quiet and refurbished rooms you’ll find air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV and movie channels, fluffy pillows, fridge for your cold stuff and a microwave to heat things that need to be heated. Complimentary WIFI for your computer, tubs and showers, laundry facility on site and an ice machine that actually invites you to take an extra scoop or two for your cooler. All rooms are non-smoking and no pets to ensure that rooms are always clean and fresh. Come stay with us and enjoy your Yellowstone vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
One Horse Hotel West Yellowstone
1 Horse Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing