We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City
1 review
“Good value”
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed in the YPH for 4 nights in early May, when it was still off-season. We found a king bed-jacuzzi room for $99, which is a steal. Making the reservation was a little difficult, because they are not staffed in the winter months. However, once we got past that snag, their customer service was just fine (we found emailing works best when it's off-season).

The hotel itself is pretty unremarkable, but as other reviewers have said, West is just a kitschy tourist town and none of the hotels are going to be fantastic. It's comfortable, quiet, and a basic place to sleep when you're visiting the park. I would definitely stay there again, as it seems to be one of the better, cleaner, and more "up to date" options available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnienBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    237
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
220
243
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

This hotel is similar to a basic hotel, with a few pluses and some minuses. Rooms are quite large, clean, comfortable, ok bathroom, slightly old-looking overall. Anyway, when you're in Yellowstone, you're not staying inside the room, so that's not too big a deal. Pool looks really nice, but it's also full of kids the whole day (not so much a problem when you have a bunch yourself...).

Location is ok: you definitely have to have a car (free parking, by the way), and the city is pretty small, so everything's close.

Big minus for me was the breakfast, which was pretty confusing: few tables, self-service style, with less than average food. Actually, usual "free continental breakfast included in small motel" selection: muffins, bagels with cream cheese, belgian waffle machine, coffee, milk and some cereals (didn't dare to try, though). Pretty basic, but fine if you're not too picky; I actually wouldn't bother the trouble of going down, waiting for a seat and eating it - there's a McDonald's right in front of the Yellowstone Park entrance and you can just stop by the drive-thru on the way.

  • Liked — Rooms and free parking
  • Disliked — Breakfast - wouldn't even bother
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cris04NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We planed a last minute getaway to Yellowstone and found most hotels book because of a conference in town. After doing some research on trip advisor found the Yellowstone Park hotel had rooms for both nights we wanted. We found the room very clean, the pool nice for the kids and the continentals breakfast very adequate. Found the staff very professional from very first phone call to the time we left. Location was great, a short drive to eat and to the park. Early October is one of the best times to see the park, we do it every few years and love it. No crowds, many animals and oh no crowds.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Towerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We were traveling the West and decided to stay in West Yellowstone one night. We tried 4 other hotels that were full and pulled into this one and they had a room. The rate was $149/night for a King Suite. Not too bad considering the Super 8 wanted $235 for the night. Hotel still looks new and was clean in the room and lobby area. We didnt use the pool, but it looked very inviting. They have a computer in the lobby for you to use that was handy. We werent up for breakfast so cant comment on that. The room was clean although it felt a little cramped with all the furniture in the sitting room. We were just there for the night and there was only 2 of us so it worked. If we had had more than 2 we would have had to call to get more pillows because there were just the 3 on the bed (nothing extra in the closet). Wouldnt have been a problem thought, just a heads up if you stay there. Had a fridge and microwave/sink that came in handy. Bath was huge with lots of hot water and it was clean. If we went back to Yellowstone I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. On checkout though the bill rang up at $169. I advised the clerk and she checked the checkin slip and saw that I had been quoted $149 and credited me the $20. Just be sure to check your bill before you leave. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

After researching many accommodation options for West Yellowstone we eventually settled for the YPH for 1 night Tue 26 Aug and had no problems.

The room was large - with King bed, sofa, kitchenette area with microwave and fridge, aircon and good breakfast including waffles - yum yum !

Everything was clean - although with all motel type accommodation the furnishings were of lower standard and although new looking they were certain areas lacking - like the previously mentioned bed skirts (or valance as we would call them) - basis bathroom, carpets very static - but we had no problems and knew before our stay not to expect the Ritz !

The rooms shown on their website accurately picture how the room appeared and maybe some of the previous reviewers were expecting more. We have to say it wasn't the usual type of hotel we would stay in, however we didn't expect it to be either and had an enjoyable stay for the night we were there.

It appears to me that the accommodation just outside most of the Yellowstone entrances is high priced and of lower standard, but if you understand that before you arrive then you should have no problems. We would stay here again as our stay did not encounter any issues.

For food in West Yellowstone, we had take out from Pete's as recommended. The staff were excellent and helped us with our order as we were unable to get a seat inside the restaurant. We also bought some provisions from the food store close by ready for a day in the park. Other than that West Yellowstone appears to be a tourist town with nothing much more than souvenir shop after souvenir shop. Not something I like but with easy access to YNP never the less.

  • Liked — Good size rooms
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The room was clean and beds comfortable, however, there were no bed skirts on the beds, a light bulb was out in a lamp and had to request a new bulb twice. The breakfast room had no attendants when we were there and people were left to their own devices to find more silverware, napkins, etc. The coffee machine was out of coffee more than not. People were standing around waiting for it to be available with no one there to monitor it.
The garbage can was overflowing. As I said no staff around.


The staff seemed to be just going through the motions. I felt like they didn't much care if we were comfortable with our stay or not.

I would stay there again only as a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dennis28Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodetripper
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My first day, after breakfast was over, the male desk clerk, wearing a wrinkled white undershirt, joined his buddies in the breakfast room, where they discussed their female conquests of the night before, as they ate leftover breakfast food, and vandalized the milk machine so it would work. Yes, they used the f verb. I was there because the literature in the room says breakfast ends at 10, but it ends at 9. The room clerk told me they had told me the times at check in (they hadn't). And I didn't think that was an appropriate response. But the front desk was like that. Every time I approached they watched warily, like I might open fire. (I'm a surburban mom in her 50's, overweight, etc. I smile a lot) The last morning, as I checked out I mentioned that most hotels slipped the bill under the door the last night. Goodness! The clerk took huge umbrage at this, lamenting that she was alone at the desk and couldn't leave and how would she have time to print them all up and people always argued about the rates so what about that, etc. But the guy in the torn and dirty yellow T shirt behind the desk went one better. He loftily announced to me that he had stayed in MANY hotels all over the west and none of them had ever done that. Ever. He was unwilling to acknowledge that possibly some do (like the one I stayed in that very night in Boise). Not only was the customer not right, but the customer was....lying? Hallucinating? I did not think it was polite to point out that perhaps we did not stay in the same type of hotels, but then here I was at a hotel where someone behind the desk in a torn and dirty T shirt would argue with a guest about their experiences.

Owner of this hotel, the trick is that the front desk may despise the guests, but they must conceal this at all costs. and even pretend they like us!

So don't argue about the rates, folks, and there won't be a bill under the door.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rodetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.0 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing