We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tub leaked, Carpet was wet” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tub leaked, Carpet was wet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I'll try not to be too negative but ir will be difficult. In room 116 the tub leaked (the plumbing in wall) and carpet in the closet and front entrance was constantly wet. The rug had a wet mouldy smell. When I told the front desk twice both times they acted surprised. I don't buy it - this had been leaking for a while. Also, the shampoo smells like lemon pledge, the bathroom fan was off-balance and extremely loud and the fridge had to unplugged because it was so loud. Also the a/c was unplugged when we arrived. When I plugged it in I noticed that the outlet was black - a sign of a short or a surge of some sort. Complete disaster - avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T2Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    227
    72
    32
    13
See reviews for
212
229
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Got an upgrade to a junior suite...the room was very clean with a mimi fridge and microwave...it was a 2 room suite ..very nice...staff was very friendly and helpfull with our tour of yellowstone N.P.
Breakfast staff was very nice and did a very good job...offerings were pretty much the usual but it was sufficient..would stay here again for sure

Room Tip: very nice place and seems to be a good choice for the busy summer season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Upon arrival the desk clerk was very friendly and suggested several restaurants around the area. Our room was a nice size, with nice decor, except the closet was behind a hinged door mirror, so it just looked like a wall mirror. I could hear people walking upstairs, but not much noise from our neighbors on 2nd floor. Average breakfast, although they had a pancake machine for fresh pancakes, but it stacked up the breakfast line while people were waiting for pancakes.
My daughter is deaf, so when the TV is on we like to have closed captioning, but to have CC we had to mute the TV, which was weird, usually we have CC and sound.
Now to the dishonesty--My daughter had a special Winnie the Pooh beach towel that she hung in the closet to dry, since there wasn't enough space in the bathroom. We forgot to check in the closet before we left so the towel was left behind. I called a couple of hours later, before check-in time, and asked to have her towel mailed to us. The motel is right next to the Post Office and I said I would pay for shipping. I was told that nobody had turned in the towel yet, but they would check for it. I called again when we got home, and was told they hadn't found it. It was hanging on a hanger in the closet, and since it wasn't check-in time yet when I first called, obviously only the cleaning staff would have been in the room.

Room Tip: Top floor would probably be quieter. I frequently heard people moving about upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we_drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yell_Park, Revenue Manager at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We would like to thank the reviewer for taking the time to write this very candid review. We would also like to take the opportunity to address the lost beach towel. Management has followed up with the entire staff and there is no recollection of the towel in the room. As this is such a small property, we have a very tight knit staff, them to impeccable standards and have no reason to question their integrity and honesty. That said, we would like to make this right in the reviewer's eyes and will gladly replace the towel. While we acknowledge that the sentimental value of such an item to a child cannot be measured, we hope this gesture will leave the reviewer with a better memory of their stay. We ask this reviewer to please contact Hotel Manager at their earliest convenience so we may repair this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel has a simple, but nice lobby that's clean with ample room to lounge around in. Front desk staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and personable. The pool facilities were excellent. Very nice size tool. I understand that its cold a good portion of the year but it would be nice if the hotel had an outdoor spce connected to the indoor pool where guests can lounge outside in the sun or just sit. Such a shame not to take advantage and have outdoor space since that's why so many people come to Yellowstone area. Rooms are a good size and clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom is a good size.

Room Tip: Stayed on a bottom floor and its quite in and around the hotel parking lots so no big deal. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were in the middle of an eight day trip from Mt. Rushmore to Salt Lake City. Our three days in West Yellowstone were great. This hotel was clean and the service was wonderful. And as a veteran of continental breakfasts, I can report that this hotel's is first rate. And everything in town is within walking distance.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid first floor rooms by the breakfast area if you sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our July visit to Yellowstone. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a regular room and a “jr. Suite” which was a regular room with a small side room that had a twin bed in it. The jr st room felt very large but we had to but the roll away bed in the smaller room- seemed strange- they said it was a fire hazard-no big deal.

The light coming in from under the door is bright and annoying- we fixed that by using rolled up towels in front of the door. The AC in our room worked fine- however the AC in the second room didn’t work well- it was always a bit hotter than our room- the front desk kept giving the same answer- “it needs to cut on and off” . They were very nice about it…but it didn’t make it cooler- Yes, there was a heat wave when we were there. Eventually we were able to keep the AC on by opening the window a little bit- weird but it worked. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was great. It was big, clean and the shower was excellent. Good water pressure.

We liked being on the end b/c it was quiet…of course by the end of a day in the park everyone is tired and going to bed.

We used the pool and the laundry while there and both were a nice amenity after several days in cabins. The continental breakfast was below average. The selection was extremely limited- and didn’t seem to be more than what we already had in our car cooler. Although you could make pancakes- but the machine was out of order the day we were there. Apparently there’s a restaurant – but somehow we never found it-

Front desk was really friendly. They gave the kids little souvenirs that said Yellowstone. and coffee and hot chocolate are available all day. It’s an ok base for the geysers- although it’s still a long drive. If we did it over again- I’d either just stay in the park or only stay one day to see the old faithful area. Not the Hotel’s fault- it was fine- it just took forever to get in and out of the park.

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and friendly. Our family is at odds whether it was too far of a drive or not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
278 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

First, there are numerous new, non-descript hotels in West Yellowstone. They are all plunked in one area, so that the parking lot for one is next to the rooms of another. The heater didn't work, there were lights from the parking lot next door shining in the window all night (nothing at the top of the curtains to stop this), and light shining under the door. It was clean, presumably because it's new, the clerks were unprofessional and recommended a restaurant that......sucked. We brought back the news of this, to feigned surprise. Oh, and the faucet was the spray type that makes it hard to get a gulp of water unless you're wearing goggles!

Room Tip: Stay in a small hotel near the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Property: Yellowstone Park Hotel
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#3 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing