We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We certainly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Moose Creek Cabins. First, and most important, the owners, Dan and Brenna are very cheerful, helpful people, eager to have your stay be a good one. They recommended restaurants--and all were good--and let us look at other unoccupied rooms for future reference. We stayed in the Wolf Room this time. It was very clean and cozy, and, yes, small, but that was not a negative in our view. It is within walking distance to several restaurants, the IMAX theater which has a good movie about Yellowstone National Park, and to the little shops in West Yellowstone. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to YNP.

  • Liked — Good natured owners
  • Disliked — Nothing-all was good!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    68
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
68
116
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We just spent a few nights at this property and were very pleased. Although, the rooms at the Inn were a little small, they were very well cared for and decorated. The location is wonderful, just a few blocks from the entrance to Yellowstone Park. The staff was very nice and helpful. Since most of the day was spent enjoying Yellowstone, having a smaller size room for a great price is a reasonable trade off. We will return to this property the next time we visit Yellowstone.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawdbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

For our trip to Yellowstone NP we chose this place and had a wonderful stay there. We stayed in one of the rooms. Wonderful decoration, very clean and very pleasant. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful wherever possible.
The room was not large, the bathroom even quite small. This was compensated by the great atmosphere.
The cabins seem a lot larger, but also more expensive.
Price / quality = excellent.

  • Liked — Great little room
  • Disliked — Room was rather small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Felisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin,MA
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2008

After reading some of the other reviews I was a little sceptical of Moose Creek Cabins. But when we arrived after a long day at Yellowstone, we were pleasantly suprised! The staff of this family run business was quite friendly and accomodating. The rooms were freshly painted. There were new bed linens and towels. The rooms were small but VERY clean. If we ever go that way again would definitely stay at Moose Creek Cabins!

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeannetteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Nestled in the heart of motel village, this comfortable cabin is not what we expected. The West Yellowstone village apparently has no actual rustic cabins per the local management. We disagree as we found some just outside the city, but if you to stay directly in the village of West Yellowstone, then there are more reasonable and better described locations.

Don't get me wrong, the cabins actually are very nice. They are clean, very comfortable, and surprisingly spacious. We stayed in one of actual cabins and not the lodge, and it would comfortably sleep 6 with a small kitchen. The cabin itself is very well decorated and if you don't open the windows or go outside, youi'll think you're in the mountains, right up until you hear the cars on the street which is about 5' from your front door. The parking lot literrally is your walkway and you are in concrete jungle hell.

To summarize, we loved the cabin, the staff was friendly and our bill was accurate, however, the location is pitiful and absolutely NOT what was described on their website.

We drove out to Bar-N for dinner and found it to be a much more relaxing environment, but they had no availability and room rates were twice as much. So if costs and proximity to the grocery store are more important than peace and quiet than this is a very nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Very Nice Rooms and very spacious
  • Disliked — Its In A Freakin Parking Lot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cold_Steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

After reading the reviews, I was excited to stay at the Moose Creek Cabins & Inn. However, the whole experience was a complete disappointment. Although the price may be cheap, spend the money and stay elsewhere. We stayed in Room 101 at the inn, and our room was likened to a "prison cell." (The walls are made out of cement blocks, then painted.) There are only about a half dozen parking spots out front, and the room was horrendously small and cramped. The beds are also very close together (maybe 18" between them), and both touch the walls on either side. At best, the room is 10 feet x 12 feet. Perhaps the cabins are better, but do not stay at the inn.

On the positive side, the office had coffee and mini muffins in the morning, and free toiletries such as razors and toothpaste.

  • Liked — Mini muffins, coffee & toiletries
  • Disliked — The room was in poor condition and unreasonably small-- a total DUMP!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank USCtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at Moose Creek Cabins for 3 nights in August 2008. I stayed in the Loft, which is located above the lobby, with my husband, son (15), and daughter (12).

There were two separate rooms so that my husband and I could separate from the kids to sleep.

There were two beds in the room where my kids slept. One of the beds was in its own little "cubby hole" which my daughter loved!. They were either queen or double beds. I am not sure.

There was also room at the bottom of the stairs on the landing. One of the kids would go down there to separate from their sibling. They either logged onto the internet or played guitar.

There were two TVs.

The bathroom was very large!

The loft was very clean and homey. The bedding was more like home than a hotel.

The location was a block from the downtown stores and the hosts were very friendly.

  • Liked — Layout of the loft; Loved the large bathroom; location
  • Disliked — Couldn't get the TV station that the Olympics were on
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Cabins and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Cabins and Inn

Property: Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
Address: 220 Firehole Avenue, 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to West Yellowstone's Moose Creek Cabins and Moose Creek Inn. West Yellowstone lodging at its best. All our cabins and rooms are no smoking and no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moose Creek Cabins and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Cabins Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing