We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground, Good Location, Good Value”
Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were a little worried when drove through a large burned area in the forest just before arriving at Madison Arm Resort, but the forest fire spared this beautiful little campground on the shores of Hebgen Lake.

The owners were always available, and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, many of the staff appeared to be previous longtime campers that return here every summer like the swallows to Capistrano.

All facilities were modern and clean, and the only possible drawback was the small back-in spots that could be difficult maneuvering for larger RVs. We have a 19-foot Airstream, so we had no difficulties getting situated. However, we couldn't leave our pickup connected to the trailer, because we had to back in through part of a neighbors camp spot. If we had parked our truck in front of the trailer, it would have been sitting on about 1/4 of their area. There was convenient parking on our lot for our tow vehicle; it just wasn't directly in front of where the trailer had to be dropped to reach the hookups. This was not a big concern, though, as we needed to disconnect so that we could drive into Yellowstone everyday.

Even though the spots were a little close together, we had far more room than in the other campgrounds in town that looked like a Safeway parking lot on Saturday morning. We were camped right in the trees, and had our own picnic table, fire pot and enough room for our granddaughters and dog to run around. Also, the resort's proximity to the lake shore and availability of several types of watercraft and water toys really made the vacation for our two granddaughters. Please note that although we were cautioned about bears, we saw none in the campground; and this should not be a big concern for campers that aren't familiar with camping in bear country. However, common sense precautions should be followed for food storage and trash disposal, etc.

We discovered how to avoid the crowds in Yellowstone. We stayed around the campground until lunchtime, enjoying the swimming beach, paddle boats, kayaks, etc. in the morning. Then, we went into West Yellowstone for lunch and to see the tourist attractions (like the Grizzly and Wolf Center, etc.) and headed into park every afternoon around 3-4 PM. By that time, most of the Yellowstone visitors were headed OUT of the park for dinner and evening activities; and there were absolutely no crowds in the parking areas or at the geyser features. Since sunset was around 9:30 PM in July, that gave us plenty of time to see everything; and the best wildlife sitings are at dusk.

What you hear about mosquitos being thick is true due to the amount of snow melt and rain in this area, but they are easily avoided by using Deet or just wearing long pants and a hooded sweatshirt to minimize exposed skin. We had no problems with the mosquitos, but we saw other unprepared visitors in Yellowstone that were getting eaten up!

We had a great time, and we will definitely be back to Yellowstone and Madison Arm Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixAirstreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2009

Pros: not far from the park, clean, nice laundry, clean bathrooms, very close to the beach area, friendly campers
Cons: expensive (55 a night due to our family size), very close spots, not easy to park and we have a 27 foot dutchman travel trailer with a full size pick up, small campground not lots to see, long dusty dirt road (was nice and smooth)

we have five children, 13,9,5,3 and 4 months old, and i felt safe letting them explore due to the small size of the campground i could see them all the time, the full hook ups were nice, the water is YELLOW though so bring drinking water or a filter, the store in West Yellowstone is severly expensive with a loaf of OFF brand bread is $3.69 AND IT WAS STALE!!!! the beach needed some help though!! weeds all over the place would take less then an hour for them to clean it up! there are fire pits (old washer tubs LOL) they worked though, however hopefully you wont have a gigantic motor home parked in a spot behind you so you dont worry about starting their camper on fire!
over all it was a nice spot, but im not sure i would stay again, the older lady in the office claimed my husband only gave her a 5 dollar bill when he gave her a $20 and she was huffy puffy about it the office staff was also rude to our children when they went to mail postcards, or buy something we sent them to buy, and our children are not rude or disrespectful of adults. They claim to have WIFI, but beware it is very spotty and seldom worked.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof7southdakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobosbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmrreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KIP1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jfishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.9 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,008 reviews
6.7 mi away
Brandin' Iron Inn
Brandin' Iron Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing