We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, nice place, recommended! 日本語可” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
1 review
“Nice people, nice place, recommended! 日本語可”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only camped one night, but really appreciated the kindness of the owner/operator. We misjudged how cold it would be at night ( it was summer!) and didnt bring warm enough sleeping bags. They gave us extra blankets to use without any charge or hassle. On top of this we left one of our cell phones and they mailed it back to us at their own cost. We had our phone back in two days!

The location is very convenient to the west entrance of Yellowstone and the facilities are nice.

Highly recommended!

日本語可

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
71
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a campground that is well worth the effort. If the road is too bumpy, you have to drive faster! 35mph in our RV was like driving on the freeway. Upon arrival our family of 7 was welcome with a warm heart and a high quality of service and commitment. Upon meeting the proprietor you understand why the campground is so clean and well kept. Its very clearly maintained to a high quality with preservation and comfort harmoniously executed. When you drive through, other campers are very welcoming and wave. You actually TALK to your neighbor here. This place is a well kept secret! My family didn't even want to go back to Yellowstone. Instead they wanted to ride their bicycles around, swim in the lake, and have a campfire going. Its just that kind of place where you CAN unwind. There was not one Airplane to hear, no freeway or road near by that you an hear all night, no loud people, no dirt bikes, no loud boats on the lake, no annoyances. The showers are clean, the bathrooms are clean. Its just a great place. If the road traveled is too much for you, then that's good because for the people that make it here, love it here. Follow the rules for your sake as well and more importantly for natures sake. You ARE in bear country and at night, you might just here them grunting around. You are also in Wolf country. You will hear them howl at night. Your in the wilderness, not the Montage. Happy travels~

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Madison Arms Resort for about 5 years now. Very nice and quite with things to do, even with our six year old daughter.. She loves it up there. The folks know us and greet us everytime we arrive. I would recommend this place instead of the town or even camping in Yellowstone. It's a great place to unwind after all the hustle and bustle of visiting the town and Yellowstone Park. We will be there again and again....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We camped here back in July for 6 nights with 6 other friends of ours in either pop-ups, a rented cabin, or a hardshell camper. The sites were rather small and very pricey considering you are 20 minutes outside of the gate to Yellowstone. The campground was clean, the bathroom showers always had hot water, although there were only 2 in each bathroom. The stalls in the bathroom were built for midgets! The only real issue we had was with the management who would confiscate your items if they were ever left outside of your camper. Empty coolers, clothes you had out to dry on your camper, and 2 empty ceramic coffee cups. They state it was because of bears. We also were reprimanded for bringing in our own firewood that we got down the road in West Yellowstone. They are very strict about making sure you buy their and only theirs. I would recommend the Madison Arms Campground for a few days, but 5 days there was too long and too much "big brother".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwazlayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

When looking for a tent camping site, I choose this resort over others, as it was only about 8 miles from the town of Yellowstone, the gateway to the national park. About 5 miles of this distance is the winding road that gets you into the campground from the main highway. It takes a few minutes, and a little dusty, but not a bad trip. The folks there are nice and helpful, and there is WiFi and a shared internet computer at the office. There is a laundry room to wash and dry your clothes, and the shower stalls and bathrooms are clean. For all the people using the services, I hardly ever had a wait to use any facilities. If I'd had time, would have rented a boat to take out on the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Digster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Campground itself is nice but a lot of dirt at the sites. Road that leads to campground is 5 miles of washboard and dust! Nearly an impassible road! Had a flat tire and camper and vehicle were full of dirt by the time we arrived. Would not recommend staying at this campground due to this!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Madison Arm. Our daughter and grandsons joined us the last two nights. We love this place. The staff is super friendly and anxious to please. The fishing was good. It was quiet and our grandsons had a wonderful time. Of course, we had campfires and roasted marshmallows. Where else than Madison Arm are you invited to evening gatherings by the guests who come for long periods of time and know each other.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
16.4 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.9 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
#20 of 36 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Parade Rest Ranch
Parade Rest Ranch
#15 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Property: Madison Arm Resort
Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing