We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate Campground, Horrible Road getting to it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adequate Campground, Horrible Road getting to it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We camped here back in July for 6 nights with 6 other friends of ours in either pop-ups, a rented cabin, or a hardshell camper. The sites were rather small and very pricey considering you are 20 minutes outside of the gate to Yellowstone. The campground was clean, the bathroom showers always had hot water, although there were only 2 in each bathroom. The stalls in the bathroom were built for midgets! The only real issue we had was with the management who would confiscate your items if they were ever left outside of your camper. Empty coolers, clothes you had out to dry on your camper, and 2 empty ceramic coffee cups. They state it was because of bears. We also were reprimanded for bringing in our own firewood that we got down the road in West Yellowstone. They are very strict about making sure you buy their and only theirs. I would recommend the Madison Arms Campground for a few days, but 5 days there was too long and too much "big brother".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwazlayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
71
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

When looking for a tent camping site, I choose this resort over others, as it was only about 8 miles from the town of Yellowstone, the gateway to the national park. About 5 miles of this distance is the winding road that gets you into the campground from the main highway. It takes a few minutes, and a little dusty, but not a bad trip. The folks there are nice and helpful, and there is WiFi and a shared internet computer at the office. There is a laundry room to wash and dry your clothes, and the shower stalls and bathrooms are clean. For all the people using the services, I hardly ever had a wait to use any facilities. If I'd had time, would have rented a boat to take out on the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Campground itself is nice but a lot of dirt at the sites. Road that leads to campground is 5 miles of washboard and dust! Nearly an impassible road! Had a flat tire and camper and vehicle were full of dirt by the time we arrived. Would not recommend staying at this campground due to this!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Madison Arm. Our daughter and grandsons joined us the last two nights. We love this place. The staff is super friendly and anxious to please. The fishing was good. It was quiet and our grandsons had a wonderful time. Of course, we had campfires and roasted marshmallows. Where else than Madison Arm are you invited to evening gatherings by the guests who come for long periods of time and know each other.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Arrived early to our destination. KOA could not fit us in. Found Madison arm and was the best find of our vacation. Canceled the KOA circus and stayed 3 nights. Road in was rough but worth the journey. 4 times in and out but last time we saw more animal then in Yellowstone up close.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tdvidpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My teenage sons and I spent an incredible week at Madison Arm Resort this June with my sister and her family! Waking up to such breathtaking sights each morning was just amazing... The kids and I loved our time on Lake Hebgen boating, kayaking and canoeing, just as much as we loved our nightly camp fires with friends . My sister raved about the beauty of Madison Arm for almost 20 years and our recent visit there just proved her right!

The accommodations and amenities were fantastic! The cleanliness of the cottage, facilities and camp grounds were beyond my expectations. The Wi-fi on the back patio of the General Store and laundry room by the office were great! The resort is beautifully tucked away in a quiet spot in West Yellowstone for that peaceful tranquility feeling and yet just minutes away from town for those moments when we just felt like dinning out. The only thing that topped the beauty of Madison Arm are the people of Madison Arm. The sheer friendliness and camaraderie of all the staff members was just astonishing. My deep-felt thanks to Shigeko, Jim, Ed, Terry and the rest of the crew for making this trip so memorable for me and my boys!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ( me, my wife and three daughters) spent 5 days at Madison Arm Resort the last week of June. We had tent site 15 and it was perfect. It was situated in the forest and there was nobody next to us. We were playing cards one night and a bison walked right by us. That was a neat experience. The staff was very friendly and helped us blow up our air matresses and were very helpful if we needed anything. The lake is beautiful! We rented the 4 person paddle boat and had a blast. It is nice because it is 5 and half miles of the main road that goes into West Yellowstone. It is very peaceful. The road is a dirt road and a little washboardy but worth it. The shower facilities and bathrooms were always kept clean! They are small but what do you expect when you are camping. We did our own cooking with a camp stove and they have nice dish washing stations to wash your dishes. For a great family camping experience, this is the place to stay while visting Yellowstone. It was nice to be away from the crowds but still be close enough to visit Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincoparasempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
16.3 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.8 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
#25 of 36 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parade Rest Ranch
Parade Rest Ranch
#15 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bar-N-Ranch
Bar-N-Ranch
#14 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Drift Lodge
The Drift Lodge
#10 of 13 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Property: Madison Arm Resort
Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing