We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but average accomodations”
Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but average accomodations”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our family stayed at Madison Resort for five days this summer. We came with attitude that not everything would go smoothly and we were prepared to be flexible.The sewer backed up for two days, thus showers and laundromat weren't available. The bathrooms especially those for women could use more frequent cleaning.Some of the guests at the camp site were disruptive well past midnight . The store was pricey, so my advice for camping families - you might be better off shopping for food in West Yellowstone. Staff tried to be accommodating and helpful .Overall I would probably not stay here again if given a choice due to above reasons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
71
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at the resort. Very friendly and helpful staff. (I can't say enough about the helpful staff) Close to Yellowstone but a feel of far enough away that we were still camping. A few miles from West Yellowstone so if you want to go into town and shop or have dinner, it's very convenient. We canoed and kayaked on the lake. There is a swimming beach for the kids (ours are 12 and 10 yrs) that they really enjoyed. After driving in Yellowstone for several days, our kids asked to just stay at the campground, relax and swim for a day - that was one of the best days of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

First let me start out with the postive of this resort. The only one is its location. Tent camp sites are right on the lake.

However, upon check in we were given a list of over 15 rules. Yes, this is bear country and some rules are needed. However, they have a rule for everything! You are not allwoeed to pull your kayak on the shore, walk your dog along the lake (even on a leash with a doggy bag in hand), even skipping rocks into the water is against the rules! I kid you not. My child's grandpa was teaching my son the art of skipping rocks and we were told we would be kicked out if we didn't stop. Mind you no one was going to get hurt. We were 200 yards from the swimming area. Which is another rule. Only can swim in the designated beach area. My son broke a rule by wading in the lake in front of our tent site. Did they forget that families come here to have fun. Yes, because the owner came over to tell us to keep it down (at 2:00 in the afternoon). We were having to much fun. She wasn't kidding! What were we doing you might ask?, Yup, you guest it. Making crafts at the picnic tables with our children!

The other negative is the shower/bathrooms. The ladies have only two shower stalls that were not very clean. The two toilets have a sign to "Please hold down to flush for 20 seconds." Not once was the toilet flushed upon entering. You can imagine the smell.Since there were only two showers we had to shower at odd times of the day in order to shower at all. You think they would have a rule about cleaning the bathrooms!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gretchen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a small resort about a 20 minute drive from West Yellowstone. We stayed in Cabin 2 and chose the resort due to the location on the edge of the lake with the opportunity to walk, canoe, fish and cycle at the resort itself. We were not disappointed and the site has fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. There are enjoyable walks around the resort and we also canoed which was great fun.
Our cabin was well equipped and we had a gas barbeque, picnic bench and a fire pit outside which was great. It is a traditional log cabin and if you want everything brand new, stay in a hotel in town. We loved the location as it provided a far more natural and relaxing environment for our vacation. We spent most of our time in Yellowstone Park and whilst being out of town added a 20 minute journey to the park entrance we felt it was well worth it. We saw our first Bald Eagle on our way back home one evening along the road to the resort!
The staff were really helpful and overall we had a wonderful holiday and would thoroughly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is our 3rd year coming to the resort and it, again, has been an awesome experience. The staff has gone out of their way to find us another RV space since our month reservation is up and we wanted to stay longer. The park is very well kept, including the docks, bathrooms, laundry room, store and camp sites. Everyone here is exceptionally friendly. This resort has the ambiance of a quaint old fishing camp while providing wonderfully modern RV/tent facilities. The fishing has been fantastic and everyone shares their secrets so that even a novice can catch fish. A big thanks to the owners and their staff for making our summer vacation the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Pros- We stayed in Cabin #2 at Madison Arm Resort. It was a quaint little cabin, with a refrigerator and a cute loft for the kids to stay. The cabin faced beautiful Hebegen Lake that was very beautiful. Good place for RV's and people who like to fish and relax next to some beautiful scenery. If you like isolation and away from the crowds this would be for you. The owners were nice and we had no complaint there. Also, I could get phone service for my iphone and could text photos back to relatives back home. This was nice because many areas did not have service.
Cons- Our bathroom in Cabin #2 had a floor that looked like it needed to be replaced badly. Primarily because the shower curtain wasn't wide enough and when we took a shower the water went everywhere! This should be an easy fix - get a wider shower curtain. We had to put towels down to absorb all the water. The lighting in the bathroom was pretty bad and also just a small shelf to put my make up on. I had to put my make up on in the bedroom. Also I could fine a plug for my hairdryer in the bathroom either. The road to get to the resort is 5 miles long on a very gravel type road. After driving all day in Yellowstone my husband hated this long drive.
Bottom Line: If you have an RV and don't mind a gravel rd. this place looks like it might be right for you. If you like your bathrooms lighted and not soaked stay in a hotel in town. (This is what we wish we would have done). Also the drive is a bummer after driing in Yellowstone all day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mospeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We are just finishing up on 5 wonderful weeks here at Madison Arm Resort. We love the place, we have been coming here every summer since 2000. We will be back in August and then again in September, we love it so much. From the owners to the help, they make it a wonderful destination and experience. They keep it so clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
16.3 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.8 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
#25 of 36 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parade Rest Ranch
Parade Rest Ranch
#16 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bar-N-Ranch
Bar-N-Ranch
#14 of 36 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Drift Lodge
The Drift Lodge
#10 of 13 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Property: Madison Arm Resort
Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing