We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Madison Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Three Bear Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveler's Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stage Coach Inn(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwood Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
102
113
43
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
113
43
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshostel roomsshared roommain buildingprivate bathgift storehot water for teadiscount couponold westrestaurant next doorwest entrancerental carown bathroomopened the doorrooms are smallthe entire staffenjoyed my stayplace to sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 292 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Clean room, small but adequate. We stayed in the newer part of the motel and the room had been remodeled. Even tho our room was facing the street, we did not hear any noise during the night. Owners of the motel are very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful gift shop in the hotel.

Room Tip: I asked to see the room before we checked in. The outside of the motel looked older but the room had been remodeled.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ulbig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed in the newer motel part, not the main hotel. Room was not clean--carpet was stiff with dirt and there were used Kleenex under one of the beds from a previous tenant. Mattresses were horribly uncomfortable with huge valleys. The shower and bathroom faucet ran at a bare trickle at full blast and the shower stall had mildew in the corners and above eye level. The advertised wifi was non-existent. The only thing this place had going for it was the price. I would definitely recommend any other motel in town, or perhaps your car.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank katrinemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice motel. Clean, comfortable and a good price for the area, especially if you are just there to sleep. I stayed in room 11. Good WiFi. Friendly staff. Walls are thin so I could hear my neighbors snoring at night and discussing their hairstyle plans in the morning. I would stay here again if traveling through the area. It's a good deal!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank mrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fun place to stay. We stayed in the main hotel, our room did have a private bath which was very nice. A small window in the bathroom is what cooled the whole room as the window in the room did not open and no air conditioning. Our 2 kids noticed almost immediately that there was no TV in this room, they were disappointed. Some how they survived our 3 nights there without ever watching television, not even the one downstairs in the common area. The space in the room was cramped with 2 full size beds (I expected this as I had read the reviews), it still had a dresser with mirror (old fashioned) and a chair to sit in. The furnishings were nice. We spent an evening out on the front balcony chatting and cooling off while sipping hot chocolate provided at the front desk. The owner was quite friendly and even took my husband and son out late one evening stargazing. Overall this was a great value, great location many restaurants, shops and sightseeing within a short walk. All 4 of us enjoyed our stay very much at the Madison Hotel summer 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 4HappyVacationers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a great bargain, We didn't observe the hotel part, but stayed in the outer, fairly newer part the motel. It is great to spend less on sleeping when you are traveling through the park and only sleeping there. It is extremely clean. The people are really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews